THE COLLECTATE FUBISHED EIWEFFED NUMBER 4 ATTACOM TO THE TAPETLE APPEIL 14, 1981

PHI THETA SIGMA

New Fraternity Chartered

JOHN SPEIGHT

A new social fraternity, Phi Deta Sigma, has recently been canted a charter, bringing to the humber of Greek organimons that are currently represented on campus.

The decision to form a new futerity said Willie Spear, president of the fraternity, came party as a result of eight friends wish to remain together. Several of the group had wanted to join campus fraternities, but there was disareement over which one poin, and doubt that all of the group would be accepted by any one existing fraternity.

Currently the Thetas have eight members. They are Ernie Brame. Tim Britton, Mike George. Tom Issacs, Darwin McCaffity. Willie Spear, Kurt Spitzner, and Mac Wethering-

New brothers are; Floyd Conner. Robert Flournoy, Greg Myslinski, and Chris Warren. The Thetas also have three little sisters. They are Lee Ann Bowman, Sue Leary, and Joyce Mountney. In appreciation of all their help, Ernie Brame noted, "Our little sisters were always there when we needed



The Phi Theta Sigmas; [clock wise from top center] Floyd Conner, Bob Poole, Willie Spear, Mike George, Ernie Brame, Darwin McCaffity, Tim Britton, Tom Issaes, Mac Weatherington, Chris Warren, Robert Flournoy, Kurt Spitzner and Greg Myslinski. Little sisters are [1 to r] Joyce Mountney, Lee Ann Bowman and Sue Leary.

Photo by C. O. Little.

According to the organization's constitution, the purpose of the fraternity is to "promote a true spirit of brotherhood," while encouraging individual advancement and academic maturity.

In order to pledge to the fraternity, a person must be voted on "by the entire fraternity, must have a grade point average of at least 1.7, and must be submitted a bid through the Dean of Men."

The Thetas have a unique system of pledging. All prospective pledges must answer questions from various topics. Topics range from sheer trivia to in-depth scholastic research which coincides with the pledge's major.

At present the Thetas do not have a house, although according to Spear this has the added advantage of making their fraternity less expensive. Also the Thetas do not have to contribute to a national governing fraternity.

The Thetas hope to be involved in numerous service projects including working with the Special Olympics and building and maintaining good public relations with the city.

Honor Society Inducts New Members

Alpha Chi National Honor Society is an honorary organization to recognize those students who have achieved outstanding academic excellence. This year 34 junior and senior students were inducted at a ceremony held Wednesday, April 8, 1981.

Dean Davis presented a challenging speech and then each member was initiated.

Congratulations are extended to the following new Alpha Chimembers:

Tammy Adams, Gale Ard, Dwight Ausley, Darlene Bas-

night, Jane Batten, Vicky Bell, Patricia Best, Tim Browning, Linda Clark, Timothy Cobb. Denise Davis, Jack Deans, Bobby Gardner, Juanita Gryder, John Henderson, David Hines, Connie Honeycutt, Pamela Johnson, Kathy Koonce, Lynda Lamm, Fran Lancaster, Phyllis Lee, Bethanne Ludeman, Bryan Martin, Trudy Moore, Jackie Phillips, Debra Radford, Rose Marie Rand, Kay Richey Stanley, Lisa Ringelspaugh, Susan Sigman, Evelyn Thompson, Lynn Wells.

Psychology Department Sponsors Motivation Workshop

A workshop, entitled "Motivation and Leadership--Today's Need," will be held from 9-130. Thursday, April 23 in Hardy Alumni Hall on the Atlantic Christian College campus.

An annual event, the workthop is sponsored by the ACC Psychology Department.

Lecturers will include Dr. Ron Anderson of the NC Department of Public Instruction, Dr. David Webb of the Health Education Foundation of Eastern NC, Inc., Dr. Hazel Stapleton, ECU, and Danny Hewett, Jefferson Standard Life Insurance Company.

A panel discussion is scheduled for 11 am and will feature keynote speaker James Hamlet, Assistant Director of Staff Development Services of the NC Department of Community Colleges.

A luncheon will be held in the cafeteria honoring the graduating seniors majors in psychology.

The workshop is free and open to the public.

SHINGLETON AND JOYNER HONORED

Alumni Attend Reunion

A large number of Atlantic Christian College alumni returned to their alma mater for Alumni Day Activities held on the college campus, Saturday, April 4.

Highlights of the day included the presentation of the "1981 Alumnus of the Year" award, three "ACC Alumni Achievement" awards and dedication of the ACC Admissions Office Complex.

Named recipient of the "1981 Alumnus of the Year" award was Dr. William W. Shingleton, director of the Duke Comprehensive Cancer Center, Duke University Medical Center, Durham, NC. A native of Wilson, he is a 1939 graduate of Atlantic Christian College.

Alumni Achievement awards were presented to G. Max Barber of Roxboro, Samuel M. Jones of New Bern and Bethany R. Joyner of Wilson.

Barber, a 1957 graduate of Atlantic Christian, is vice president for community and institutional resource development at Piedmont Technical College. He was honored for outstanding acheivement in the field of education.

Jones is owner of S.M. Jones & Co., Inc., New Bern, a highly successful produce firm. A 1916 graduate of Atlantic Christian, he was honored for outstanding achievement in the field of

husiness

Mrs. Joyner is registrar at Atlantic Christian. A 1947 graduate of the college, she was honored for outstanding achievement in the field of education administration.

Guest speaker for the Alumni Luncheon was Dr. Milton L. Adams, vice president and business manager for the college.

The ACC Admissions Office Complex was dedicated at 11 a.m. Presiding was Dr. Harold C. Doster, president of the college. The complex was named in honor of First Union National Bank of Wilson in recognition of its contribution to the college's "1980's: Decade

of Development Program."

Presentation of the complex was by William M. St. George, vice president and city executive for First Union. Response was by Thomas J. Hackney Jr., chairman of the ACC Board of Trustees.

Alumni were entertained by the ACC Jazz Band held on Center campus during the early afternoon. Award recipients and reunion classes were honored at a reception at the home of President and Mrs. Doster.

Class reunions were held in the evening. Alumni were guests of the ACC Alumni Association at a dance held later in the evening.



Dr. William W. Shingleton, director of the Duke Comprehensive Cancer Center, Duke University, received the "1981 Alumnus of the Year Award."