1978 Commencement **Activities Announced**

Brevard, N.C. - A weekend of graduation activities have been scheduled for Brevard College on May 13 and 14.

Commencement speakers will be Dr. Waights G. Henry, Jr., President of LaGrange College, LaGrange, Ga. and the Reverend A. Mitchell Faulkner, Executive Director, Council for Higher Education, Western North Carolina Conference, The United Methodist Church.

Dr. Henry will address the graduating class of 1978 at 2:00 p.m. on Sunday, May 14, in Boshamer Gymnasium. As in recent years, a capacity attendance of parents and friends is expected to share in the highlight and culmination of the academic year, when some 160 students will be awarded

Dr. Henry has been president of LaGrange College since 1948 and will become Chancellor on July 1, 1978. His preparation originally was for the Methodist ministry. He attended Emory University, Birminghan Southern College, the Chandler School of Theology, Yale Divinity School and Yale Graduate School. He served three pastorates in North Georgia. For four years prior to going to LaGrange he was Executive Secretary of The Board of Education of the North Georgia Conference of The Methodist

He has served his local community as past president of LaGrange Concert Association; on the executive committee of LaGrange Chamber of Commerce; past chairman of LaGrange United Fund; past president of LaGrange Rotary Club; past chairman of Troup County Red Cross; board of directors of Chattahoochee Valley Art Association and chairman of LaGrange Bicentennial Celebration Commission. On the state level he is past president of Georgia Association of Colleges; past president of Georgia Foundation for Independence Colleges) the board of directors of Georgia Higher Educaion Facilities Commission; on the planning committee of the Governor's Conference on Education; past president of the Association of Private Colleges and Universities in Ga. He serves on the Franklin D. Roosevelt Warm Springs Memorial Commission and the President's Advisory Commission of the Medical College of Ga.

Dr. Henry is listed in Who's Who in America, Who's Who in

the South and Southwest and minister in the Western North Who's Who in Methodism.

He is married to the former Mamie Lark and has two sons, one daughter, and eight granchildren.

On Saturday, May 13, the Alumni Lunchoen will be held at 1:00 p.m. in A. G. Myers Dining Hall. The Reverend Mitchell Faulkner, Executive Director, Council for Higher Education, Western North Carolina Conference, the United Methodist Church, will be the speaker.

He graduated from Brevard College in 1937 and continued his education at Wofford College, Candler School of Theology, Emory University, and High Point College.

He has served as parish parents.

Carolina Conference of The United Methodist Church in Charlotte, Lexington, Shelby, Eden, Concord, Pineville and Union County, N. C. He also served as Chaplain in the U.S.A.F. in the South Pacific theater for twenty eight months.

He is married to the former Eunice L. Arnold of Lexington and they have three children.

The Baccalaureate Sermon will be in the First United Methodist Church on Sunday, May 14, at 11:00 a.m.

The Fine Arts Division will present a concert in Dunham Auditorium Saturday night at 7:30 p.m., followed by a reception honoring the graduates and their



Nancy Gottron receives Presidential Award from President Jacob

Ninety Students Honored At Awards Day

Sisters were "tapped" to replace Keith Carroll. the present Sophonore members who will be advancing to a new may be.

Fillmore, "Americans We," Honor." The processional of the school's faculty followed as ths teachers and professors entered the room resplendent in their to have the best school spirit. academic regalia. The band, at this instant, struck up "The Kenneth Whitcomb.

After a welcoming oration by Mrs. Sarah Beard, the invocation ningham, who served as the Master of Ceremonies. Mr. Cunningham explained the procedure of the awards and then began the task of presenting the scholarly prizes.

Nancy Gottron gave the awards to Social Board members Beth Bostic and Joan Wynn, for deserved participation, and one to Peggy Mudd who, although not on the Board, was instrumental throughout the year. Dean of Admissions, Robert McClendon, honored Walter Munroe, Matt Gilson, and Freta Idol for serving as Student Ambassadors.

ninety awards were presented to organization recognized Matt Dare Gaither and Cleve Reese. various students of Brevard Gilson and Pat Maney "for College at this year's edition of strong support." Kathy Goodling the Honors and Awards Day. In was awarded for leadership and addition, twenty-three new Big the service distinction went to

Intramural sports bestowed stage in their lives, whatever that Marsha West and Dan Hodges for awards management of the womens' and To begin the program in mens' teams, respectively. In-Dunham auditorium, the Concert divisual trophies were presented Band of Brevard College played to Melanie Gochnauer and Mike three marches by Henry Ellis For the most points scored by a team, the honors went to "The Footlifter," and "His Upper Jones and Lower Greene dormitories. Patti Bumgarner, Mark Fairman, and David Snead were judged by the Tornado Club

Dean Margaret Houk Sheffordshire Regiment," by represented the SUL as she presented the award for the most valuable member to Chip Tate. Robert Auslander was the most dependable member, it was Roy, followed by Mr. Ed Cun- who did the most for the school Power. were Keith Carroll, Julie Cromer, and Blake Martinson.

> and Freta Idol. Sandra Monteith received the Editor's award.

Sam Cope presented the Masquer's Club plaques to Luke Osteen and Melanie Johnson for their outstanding contributions to

Chemistry prize to Jeffrey Taylor, and the recognitions for

On Wednesday, April 19, 1978, The Phi Theta Kappa academic excellence to Clyda

In the Humanities division, Clyda Dare Gaither won the Intermediate French award, while Robin Kilgo and Sally Groover earned the Spanish language prizes. Other honors went to Tom Lail in American Literature, Cathy Varner in British Literature, Cleve Reese and Melanie Gochnauer in English Literature, and Wes Denton for his creative abilities in the Chiaroscuro. Cathy Varner received the award for Journalism, while Linda Cain caught the "newcomer's" honor in that field.

Dr. John Upchurch presented the Fine Arts division awards. In art, Carla Snell won, while in music the following students were recognized: Tim Adams, Woody Cowan, Dowell Idol, Kim Jones, Mike Wallace, David Williamson, Rod Lowery, Steve Barefoot, Tim Gunter, Mark was given by Chaplin C. Edward determined. The non-members Hatley, Joan Meadows, and Terri

> Gene Lovely served as presentor of the award for highest average in three The staff awards for the semesters to Jan Busse for Pertelote went to Ann Burgess Economics and Accounting. The American History award went to Gordon Bostic.

> After the Chamber Singers performed three beautiful songs ("Never My Love," "Hummingbird," and "Evergreen"), Dean Morris Wray recognized the Big Sisters, the Honor Roll, The Physics award went to the Dean's List students, Phi Claude Davis, the (organic) Theta Kappa, and those in Who's

(continued to page 3)



Dr. Waights Henry, Jr.



Reverend A. Mitchell Faulkner

