# onors And Awards Day

### The Brevard College Awards Given to Top Sophomores

The following Brevard College Awards were presented this morning during the Honor's Day program. Congratulations to these outstanding students

Presidential Award Achievement. The winner of this award was chosen for his excellence extending beyond the campus.

Jeff D. Wentworth

Presidential Award for Scholarship. A special committee determined these five sophomores to have the highest achievement records.

- 1. Alicia L. Kinard
- 2. Jeffrey A. Loftin
- 3. Donna R. Harriger
- 4. Michael B. McFarland

5. Elana M. Nolte

Presidential Award for Leadership. These students were selected for outstanding leadership qualities.

- 1. Donna R. Harriger
- 2. John D. Little

Presidential Award for Service. These winners were chosen for significant service to Brevard College.

- 1. Big Sisters
- 2. Kimberly R. Hoover

Freshmen Scholar Award. These students were chosen because they were the top 3 freshmen with a 4.0 average.

- 1. Mary K. Brandon
- 2. Amy Y. Garrou
- 3. Timothy L. Merritt

#### Organizations Honor **Outstanding Members**

Student Organizational Awards. Phi Theta Kappa The following students were 1. Misae Tanaka honored today by the organizations in which they have participated.

**Big Sisters** 

- 1. Jenny Holladay
- 2. Tempe White

**Student Ambassadors** 

- 1. Mike Boykin
- 2. Karen Meyer
- 3. Renae Brittain

Delphians

- 1. Nancy Ellis
- 2. Mark Lowdermilk

**Student Association** 

- 1. Scott Singletary 2. John Little
- 3. Bert Bedenbaugh

Nemos Maridee Hawkins

Tornado Club

- 1. Pam Bullock
- 2. Mike Boykin

Masquer's Club

- 1. Steve Collins
- 2. Rodney Currin 3. Anna McCracken.
- 4. Karen Meyer

- 2. Alicia Kinard
- 3. Scott Singletary 4. Donna Harriger

Day Student Club

1. Donna Hooper

2. Bonnie Palmer

- Pertelote
- 1. Scott Singletary
- 2. Donna Harriger
- 3. Lisa Foster

4. Brenda Perkins

Spanish Club Kristiane Olds

The following students and organizations received special recognition today for their individual achievements.

**Outstanding Students** 1. Deborah P. Moseman

2. Misae Tanaka

3. Scott B. Singletary

Cross Country Team and Indoor Track Team

**All American Honors** 

- 1. Jeff Wentworth
- 2. John George
- 3. Ronald Treadway
- 4. Wilbert Carter

**Academic Divisions** Recognize Achievement

The Divisional Awards were given today to the following students for their achievements. They were selected by the faculty.

SOCIAL SCIENCES

- 1. Charlotte Young
- 2. Tim Merritt

3. Randy Haire

- HUMANITIES
- 1. Charlotte Young
- 2. Deborah Moseman
- 3. Joyce Keenum

4. Sandy Nolte 5. Alicia Kinard FINE ARTS

- 1. Cecilia Sutton
- 2. David Bryan

3. Sequin Baker

MATH & SCIENCE

- 1. Mitsuyuki Yamanaka
- 2. Robert Jeffreys
- 3. Jeff Wentworth 4. Susan Cilley
- 5. Joyce Keenum

### Clara Allen Wins Bella Hilands Award

The Bella Hilands Award was presented this morning to Clara K. Allen. This is the first Bella Hilands award given at Brevard College. The qualifications for this award are: 1) an outstanding sophomore with an unusual sense of committment to his/her goals in life, 2) a special interest in Humanities. This \$500 scholarship was given by an anonymous donor inhonor of a former school teacher, Bella Hilands. The faculty nominated sophomores that best exemplify these qualities. The nominees were then interviewed by the special committee and the nominations were narrowed down til one was selected. Congratulations, Clara, for being the first recipient of the Bella Hilands Award.

DEAN'S LIST FALL SEMESTER 1979-1980

Allen, Clara Kay Armstrong, Mark Wesley Barden, Anna Lynn Blalock, Pamela Gay Brandon, Mary Katherine Cilley, Susan Huggins Comish, Tamara Jill Cope, Deborah Lynn Crane, Deborah Kay Davis, Janet Ellen Davis, Kirk Stephen Dill, Cathy Sue Duckett, Ricky David Early, Judith Ann Folger, Grady Worth Garrou, Amy Yvette Guyette, Kenneth Robert Harriger, Donna Renee Hawkins, Maridee Elaine Hayes, Bobby Lee Hilton, Mary Powell Johnson, Clark David Keenum, Joyce Marie Kinard, Alicia Lunnette Kondo, Tamie Loftin, Jeffrey Artus McFarland, Michael Benjamin Merritt, Timothy Lee Moseman, Deborah Lynn Mulford, Donna Marie Nichols, Grady Marshall Nolte, Elana Maurine Parker, Karen Lois Smith, Jaone Marie Stevens, Laura Lee Sutton, Cecelia Larie Swartz, Susan Louise Tedder, Mary Jane Todd, Mikel Kent Watson, Timothy Howard Waynick, Teresa Annette

## Sophomores Move On to Continue Education

**Clemson University** Robert Jeffreys Tanya Salisbury

University of Alabama Joanne Bondy Greg Bare Mike Boykin

University of Florida Debi Fisher Dave Schad Laura Stevens Lori Alsene

Florida State University Sue Schroeder Kathie Kaufman Marriane Williams Erin Gregory

Greensboro College

Paula Cox Glenda Flinchum Lynn Bryson

University of North Carolina Chapel Hill Suzanne Nash

Mike MacFarland University of North Carolina

Charlotte Chris Rudisill Mark Colihee

> University of North Carolina Wilmington

**Becky Thomas** Elizabeth Vance Robin Wilson

Appalachian State University

David Plott Sam Lee **Gary Cole David Anderson** Mike Ledbetter Jim Zimmerman **Berry Clifton** Lynn McManus Nancy Ellis Rodney Currin Mitch McEntire Gary Angel **Robert Weaver** David Wall Dianne Rayfield Pam Bullock Barbara Darden Laura Kirshner Tim Early

Frank Lattimore

**North Carolina State University** 

Dale Smith **Jeff Harris** Ted Benbow John George Kathy Ereth Clara Allen Teresa Waynick

University of South Carolina Brian Blank

University of **North Carolina** Asheville Joe Hord

> University of Georgia

Lisa Miller

Pfieffer College Renae Brittian

**Iowa State University** Sandy Geisewite

Central Wesleyan College Robin Kirby

**Emory and Henry College** Kim Hoover

**Morehead State University Jeff Davis**