

Coming down the opening stretch, BC runners, left to right, Mike McClaran, Jeff Campbell, Craig Goodroe, Carlos Gibbs and John Massie stay in a pack. (Clarion photos by Jock Lauterer)

BC wins national title: how sweet it is

by Scott Grubbs Brevard College Sports Writer

The Brevard College men's cross country team won the 1990 National Junior College Athletic Association team championship Saturday, Nov. 17, at DuPont's Guion Farm outside Brevard, N.C.

Barton County Community College of Kansas won the women's team title.

For the Tornadoes of Brevard, entering the five-mile national cross country meet ranked only 7th, it was a come-from-behind victory. But it was to be a day of surprises, as BC's third man, John Massie, ran the best race of his career.

All-American Massie placed 7th with a time of 26:11.6, followed by Craig Goodroe in 11th with 26:30.9, Jeff Campbell in 12th with 26:35.0, Carlos Gibbs finished 14th with 26:38.9, Mike McClaran in 18th 26:54.8, Chris Griggs finished 22nd with 27:01.4 and Merrill Hausenfluck finished in 64th place with 28:17.1.

BC's Goodroe, Campbell, Carlos Gibbs, McClaran made All American, and Chris Griggs was named to the honorable mention list.

Brevard College Coach Dave Rinker was named NJCAA Men's Coach of the Year. Phillimon Hanneck from South Plains College of Texas was the individual men's champion with a time of 24:44.7.

Following Brevard's winning low score of 53 came Blinn College of Texas finishing in second place with a total of 107 points, Northern Idaho in third with 111 points and South Plains of Texas in fourth with 118 points.

For the BC men, it was the fifth national championship in 11 years, and the second time BC's Coach Rinker has been named Coach of the Year.

"The group ran great," said BC's

Coach Rinker, "They stuck together. The keys were to get out great, to relax, run through the middle and then race the last two miles."

BC's top finisher, sophomore John

It was a great day to

be a Tornado XC fan

From page 10

Craig Goodroe, BC's second finisher and 11th place runner overall, said, "I'm so excited, I'm so proud of the team and the effort that they gave to make all of this possible. We worked so hard for this opportunity and we got the job done. We all worked together and stuck to the plan and we won."

BC's third man, Jeff Campbell, who finished 12th overall, said, "I'm glad we won the championship. I personally did not run a good race, but that goes to show you that cross country is a team sport. It took a solid race from everyone, and we came through it like champions."

Freshman Carlos Gibbs, BC's next finisher and 14th overall, said, "Nothing can compare to this. We stuck together and communicated during the race and we won. The feeling I have is indescribable."

BC's critical fifth man, freshman Mike McClaran, said he felt the same, "This is the best feeling in the world. We are the National Champions."

Chris Griggs, who finished as BC's sixth man and whose 22nd place finish was also important, said, "This is the best feeling in the world. I can't describe it. I ran so much better than I

thought I could coming off bronchitis. I guess I got caught up with all the emotion of the event. I'm very happy." Freshman Merril Hasenfluck commented, "I'm so happy for the team. I didn't run as well as I thought I could but the victory is still sweet."

Massie of Newport News, Va., said, "It was great. We all ran great. I'm excited and surprised."

It was the first time Brevard College has ever hosted a national championship. A total of 144 runners from 25 colleges completed in the event.

WOMEN'S RACE

Barton County Community College of Kansas won the women's title with a total of 37 points, dominating the 5k race the whole way and placing 1st, 2nd and 4th at the tape.

Brevard's top finisher was Allyson Cottrell in 28th with a 20:36.5. The BC women finished 13th.

A total of 136 runners from 41 schools competed in the women's race.



BC President Dr. Billy Greer, right, congratulates Dave Rinker, center, as the Tornado mentor receives the NJCAA Men's Coach of the Year trophy. The victorious team looks on in pride.