Honors & Awards

BC honors students for academics & leadership

From BC News Service

Brevard College held its annual Honors and Awards Ceremony April 24 to honor student, faculty and staff achievement in academics and leadership.

In addition to the campus-wide honors and awards ceremony, students were also recognized during special events hosted by each of the College's academic divisions.

This year's awards recipients are listed below.

Campus Life

Outstanding Student Awards were presented to freshman Jordan Box, sophomore Lauren Wise, junior Brandon Rawls and senior Jamie Isserman.

The Outstanding Presidential Circle Member of the Year Award was presented to senior Steven Acker for his student recruitment efforts as part of the College's Presidential Circle.

The Mary Elizabeth and G. Scott Francis Community Service Award was presented to sophomore Crystal Troughton for her volunteer work on and off campus.

The Community Impact Student Award was presented to senior Chad Campbell for his passion in working with environmental issues and sustainability.

Student Government Association

The Brevard College Student Government Association (SGA) presented awards to outstanding staff and faculty. Award winners were:

Outstanding Administrative Assistant: Pat Shores, secretary to the divisions of Humanities and Social Sciences;

Outstanding Staff Member: Dean of Students Christopher Holland;

Outstanding Coach: Men's and Women's Tennis Coach Paul Thompson;

Fine Arts Faculty Member of the Year: Associate Professor of Music Laura Franklin.

Humanities Faculty Member of the Year: Associate Professor of Political Communications Ralph Hamlett:

Social Sciences Faculty Member of the Year: Associate Professor of Wilderness Leadership and Experiential Education Jennifer Kafksy;

Math and Science Faculty Member of the Year: Associate Professor of Chemistry Anita Bryant; and

Overall Outstanding Faculty Member of the Year: Associate Professor of Geology James Reynolds.

Fine Arts Division

Earning individual recognition in the Fine Arts Division were junior Maranda Ashe, Outstanding Art Major; senior Kati Adams, Outstanding Music Major; and sophomore Katherine Parnell, Outstanding Theatre Major.

Pi Kappa Lambda music honor society recognitions were presented to senior Kati Adams, graduate Wesley Arnold, senior Laurie Cuffney, senior Jason DeCristobaro, junior Marguerite McRae, senior Lisa Runion and senior Ashlee Sluder.

Outstanding Art Awards were presented to junior Jennifer Gift, graphic design; junior Maranda Ashe, painting; senior Jonathan Shannon, photography; and senior Zachary Porch, sculpture.

Junior Laura Barr was recognized for her outstanding contributions to the College's Art Department.

Scholarship recipients were senior Jocelyn Ashworth, who received the Caroline A. Sweeney Scholarship, and freshman Madeleine Brodsky, who received the Col. and Mrs. Dale O. Wiener Scholarship.

Highest Grade Point Average in Art honors were presented to freshmen Katherine McKittrick and Victoria Thompson; sophomore Elizabeth Cole; junior Jennifer Gift; and senior Rachel Montgomery.

Music

Earning individual recognition in the Music Department were senior Jason DeCristofaro, Outstanding Music Performer and Instrumental Ensemble Award; junior Robert Forbes, Music Theory Achievement Award; freshman Craig Brinker and junior Marguerite McRae, Music Literature Achievement Award; senior Kati Adams, Music History Achievement Award; senior Lisa Runion, Choral Ensemble Award; and senior Kelly Bone, Vocal/Theatrical Repertory and Production Award.

Scholarship recipients were freshman Elaine Sebring, L. Virginia Tillotson Award in Wind Instruments; junior Jennifer Baxter, Harvey H. Miller Award in Voice; senior Megan Murph, M. Thomas Cousins Award in Music Education; senior Kati Adams, Johneen Roth Epstein Scholarship; sophomore Jessica Ames, Transylvania Choral Society Scholarship; and senior Faye Moser and sophomore Jerard Sloan, Paul Barber Music Scholarship by the Brevard Community Band.

Highest Grade Point Average in Music honors were presented to freshman Craig Brinker, sophomore Andrew Johnson, junior Marguerite McRae and senior Kati Adams.

Theatre Studies

Earning individual recognition in the Theatre Studies Department were freshman Christina Nelson, Newcomers Award; junior Kara Ontiveros, Achievement in Performance; and junior Erin O'Rourke, Achievement in Design/Tech.

Scholarship recipients were freshman Christina Nelson, junior Kara Ontiveros and freshman Kelli Tysinger, Dott Ingram Cofer Theatre Scholarship; and sophomore Katherine Parnell, Robert Allwyn White Endowed Scholarship for Theatre Studies.

Highest Grade Point Average in Theatre Studies honors were presented to freshman Keli Tysinger, sophomore Katherine Parnell, junior Erin O'Rourke and senior Kelly Bone.

Humanities Division

Earning individual recognition in the Humanities Division were senior Joseph Chilton, Outstanding English Major; senior Jason Martin, Outstanding History Major; and senior Elizabeth Walker, Outstanding Religious Studies Major.

Academic Excellence Awards were presented to freshman Christie Bethard and sophomore Lucy Matthews in Honors English; junior Michelle Norris and junior Allie Mathews in Shakespeare; sophomore Elana Baumann-Carbrey in American Literature; freshman Chelsea Freeman in Firstyear Composition; junior Michelle Norris in Language Studies; and senior Elizabeth Walker and senior Joseph Chilton in World Religions. The Horton Award in Ethics was presented to sophomore Brooke Sturgill, sophomore Daniel Heyman, sophomore Jeremy Grimes and senior Blaire Breedlove. Senior Kristin Ginther, senior Emily Barrick, junior Allie Mathews, junior Josie Guinn and junior Jenna Pace were recognized with Undergraduate Research Awards.

Scholarship recipients were sophomore Jeremy Grimes, freshman Marcus Roberson and senior Elizabeth Walker, Woodruff Scholarships; junior Allie Mathews, Clara Gift Scholarship; junior Jenna Pace, Ralph Gray Creative Writing Scholarships; sophomore Kathryn Powell and junior Julia Tellman, History Scholarships; and junior Mosisah Mavity, junior Michelle Norris and sophomore Elana Baumann-Carbrey, English Scholarships.

Outstanding Service Awards were presented to senior Radosav Babíc, senior Emily Clark, senior Dabney Farmer, senior John Lange, senior Travis Wireback, The Clarion; senior Jamie Isserman, Debate Society; senior Emily Barrick and sophomore Karen Love, Pastimes; and junior Allie Mathews and junior Josie Guinn, Writing Lab.

Science and Mathematics Division

Earning individual recognition in the Science and Mathematics Division were senior Nakisha Fouch, Outstanding Graduate in Ecology; senior Chad Campbell; Outstanding Graduate in Environmental Science; senior Kristen Zerressen Outstanding Graduate in Exercise Science; senior Carrilea Potter, Outstanding Graduate in Health Science Studies; and senior Laurie Cuffney, Outstanding Graduate in Mathematics.

Scholarship recipients were junior Jessica Guadagno, W. Edgar Gift Scholarship; freshman Jessica Villm and sophomore Brooke Sturgill, Mary Louise Jones Scholarship; junior Katie Kelleher, Leo and Eleanor Brevard Scholarship; junior Chelsea Shew and senior Spencer Linn, John H. Dellinger Scholarship; freshman Bence Bays, Rachel Cathey Daniels Scholarship; and sophomore Nina Willis and junior Matt St. Marie, Science and Mathematics Faculty Scholarship.

Science and Math Merit Scholarships were presented to sophomore Shane Apps, freshman Bence Bays, freshman Alyssa Caracena, sophomore Jarred Fisher, junior Jessica Guadagno, freshman Caitlin Hubbard, junior Katie Kelleher, senior Spencer Linn, sophomore Karen Love, freshman Joseph Lovenshimer, sophomore Scott Schuurman, freshman Jennifer Nyman, sophomore Rachelle

See Awards, page 3