## **Honors & Awards**

# BC honors students for academics, leadership

from BC News Service

Brevard College held its annual Honors and Awards Ceremony April 21 to honor student, faculty and staff achievement in academics and leadership.

In addition to the campus-wide honors and awards ceremony, students were also recognized during special events hosted by each of the College's academic divisions.

This year's awards recipients are listed below.

#### Campus Life

Outstanding Student Awards were presented to freshman Willie Jones, sophomore Caroline Pope, junior Chris Dixon and senior Kayley Duval.

Meagan Crowson, Caitlin Kennedy, Katie Kelleher and Jana Eilermann were recognized for their participation in the North Carolina Activating Citizenship Through Service program, which requires students to complete 300 hours of community service in one year in return for a \$1,000 education award.

The Richard A. Adams Outstanding Ambassador Award was presented to Caroline Pope for her student recruitment efforts on behalf of the College's Admissions Office. The Mary Elizabeth and G. Scott Francis Community Service Award was presented to Jana Eilermann for her volunteer efforts on and off campus. The Community Impact Student Award was presented to Katie Kelleher for her passion for community and campus service.

#### **Student Government Association**

The Brevard College Student Government Association (SGA) presented awards to outstanding staff and faculty. Award winners were:

Outstanding Staff Member: Laboratory Instructor Ralphene Rathbone;

Outstanding Coach: Men's Basketball Coach Mike Jones;

Fine Arts Faculty Member of the Year: Associate Professor of Art History and Archaeology Anne Chapin;

Humanities Faculty Member of the Year: Assistant Professor of Religious Studies and Coordinator of the Religious Studies Major Ben Zeller;

Social Sciences Faculty Member of the Year: Associate Professor of Psychology Steve Martin;

Math and Science Faculty Member of the Year: Associate Professor of Mathematics Charles Wallis.

#### **Fine Arts Division**

Earning individual recognition in the Fine Arts Division were Andrew Davis, Outstanding Art Major; Jason DeCristofaro, Outstanding Music Major; and Christina Nelson, Outstanding Theatre Major.

Pi Kappa Lambda music honor society recognitions were presented to Jennifer Baxter, Jared Cotter and Jessica Villm.

#### Art

Outstanding Art Awards were presented to Rachel Montgomery, Graphic Design; Jenny Hall, Art History; Dean Mobley, Ceramics; Maranda Ashe, Painting; Marcus Newton, Photography; and Andrew Davis, Sculpture.

Laura Barr was recognized for her outstanding contributions to the College's Art Department.

Scholarship recipients were Ariel Muiselaar, who received the Caroline A. Sweeney Scholarship, and Madeleine Brodsky, who received the Col. and Mrs. Dale O. Wiener Scholarship.

Highest Grade Point Average in Art honors were presented to freshman Rachel Coates; sophomore Katherine McKittrick; junior Elizabeth Cole; and senior Jennifer Gift.

#### Music

Earning individual recognition in the Music Department were Jason DeCristofaro, Outstanding Music Performer; Craig Brinker, Music Theory Achievement Award; Katherine Adams, Choral Ensemble Award; and Jared Cotter, Instrumentalist in Ensemble Award.

Scholarship recipients were Joshua Hutchins, L. Virginia Tillotson Award in Wind Instruments; Blake Ellege, Harvey H. Miller Award in Voice; Lisa Runion, M. Thomas Cousins Award in Music Education; Jessica Ames, Johneen Roth Epstein Scholarship; and Jennifer Baxter, Cherie Roth Nate Scholarship.

Highest Grade Point Average in Music honors were presented to freshman Joshua Hutchins, sophomore Craig Brinker, junior Jamison Adams and senior Katherine Adams.

#### **Theatre Studies**

Earning individual recognition in the Theatre Studies Department were Tommie Bush, Newcomers Award; Christie Bethard and Lisa Runion, Achievement in Performance; Craig Brinker, Achievement in Design/Tech; and Kelli Tysinger, Achievement in Stage Management.

Scholarship recipients were Elizabeth Ramsey, Dott Ingram Cofer Theatre Scholarship; and Marcie Antoinette Hall, Ina Stutts Scholarship.

Highest Grade Point Average in Theatre Studies honors were presented to freshman Elizabeth Ramsay, sophomore Christina Nelson, junior Bethany Tebo and senior Katherine Parnell.

### **Humanities Division**

Earning individual recognition in the Humanities Division were Alexandria Mathews, Outstanding English Major and Julia Tellman, Outstanding History Major.

Academic Excellence Awards were presented to Sarah Elizabeth Alexander in Honors English; Deanna Klingel, Michelle Norris and Heather Crawford in Young Adult Literature; Mosisah Mavity and Jordan Martin in Language Studies and Literary Criticism; Bryan Koffman in American Literature; Stephanie McGuire and William Swords in Contemporary Poetry and History; Erin Epperson, Chris Dixon, Stephen McKee and Patrick Veilleux in History; Jarred Fisher in World Religions; and Sydney Douglas and Layne Sanders in Spanish.

The Horton Award in Ethics was presented to Janet Basinger and Ryane Ledington. Bryan Koffman received the Master Logi-