Honors & Awards

'Awards'

continued from page 3

Business and Organizational Leadership

Earning individual recognition in Business and Organizational Leadership were Emily Clark; Christopher Maness, Cody Siniard and Ian Eric Townson for Exceptional Academic Performance; Kayley Duval, Robert Forbes, Miro Janne Mustonen, Brian O'Hara and Rebecca Schoonover for Outstanding Academic Performance; and Renato Barbosa, Mark Van Crook, Ronald Patterson and Jared Stuckey for Meritorious Academic Performance.

Outstanding Academic Achievement honors were also presented to first year Business and Organizational Leadership students Francois J. Gaudreault and Allie Nicole Hovis as well as second year Business and Organizational Leadership students Benjamin D. Pacey and Anna Gloria Schlobohm.

Scholarship recipients were Renato Barbosa; Caitlin Barron; Eleanor Bartholomew; Sarah Carlos; James Chaput; Henri Erti; Robert Forbes; David Kaplan; Alisiya Klochkova; Miro J. Mustonen; Ronald Patterson; Rebecca Schoonover; and Jacob White.

Sigma Beta Delta national business, management and administration honor society recognitions were presented to Catlin Bishop; Emily Clark; Mark Crook; Kayley Duval; Henry Erti; Kasey Fagan; Mavis Figueroa; Robert Forbes; Christopher Maness; Miro Mustonen; Brian O'Hara; Rebecca Schoonover; Cody Siniard; Jarrett Stuckey; Ian Townson; Sarah Willix; and Samantha Winn.

Athletic Academic Recognitions

Women's Soccer team members Sydney Douglas and Kayla Yingst were recognized for receiving Honorable Mention on the All-South Scholar Region Team chosen by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America. The student-athletes were two of only three players from the College's athletic conference to receive such honors.

The Women's Softball Team was recognized for posting the highest team GPA in the College's conference, the third highest team GPA in the College's region, and the 23rd highest team GPA in all of NCAA Division II. This outstanding achievement was led by four members of the team who were named NFCA Academic All-Americans: Jennifer Gift, Elizabeth Houser, Rachel Montgomery and Maddie Fletcher.

Women's Volleyball team member Cori Emory was recognized at the conference tournament as a recipient of a South Atlantic Conference Academic Award, recognizing her 3.73 GPA.

Campus-wide Recognitions

Elana Baumann-Carbrey was recognized for her service to the campus literary magazine, The Chiaroscuro. Travis Wireback was honored for his work as editor in chief of The Clarion student newspaper.

Campus-wide honorary recognitions were extended to Sara Alexander; Jordan Bookhart; John Dorner; Marcie Hall; Mackenzie Hines; Emily Larisch; Liz Ramsay; Josh Ross; Sarah Royster; Zach Taylor; and Lauryn Whittler for their BCE 111: First Year Seminar presentations.

The Environmental Stewardship Award was presented to Joe Lovenshimer for his work to improve the College's recycling program.

Alpha Chi national honorary society for outstanding academic achievement recognitions were presented to Elana Baumann-Carbrey; Jennifer Baxter; Emily Clark; Jared Cotter; Jason De-Cristofaro; Whitney Gruber; Christopher Maness; Jason Martin; Alexandria Mathews; Faye Moser; Michelle Norris; Brian O'Hara; Jami Perry; Lisa Runion; Monica Sees; Cody Siniard; and David Zimmer.

Omicron Delta Kappa national leadership society honors were presented to Nicole Anderson; Shane Apps; Jennifer Baxter; Joshua Carter; Emily Clark; Sara Douglas; Sydney Douglas; Jennifer Gift; Spencer Linn; Sara McDorman; Christopher Maness; Jason Martin; Alexandria Mathews; Rachel Montgomery; Faye Moser; Michelle Norris; Kara Ontiveros; Jenna Pace; Katherine Parnell; Jami Perry; Kathryn Powell; Amber Roberts; Lisa Runion; Rebecca Schoonover; Monica Sees; Brooke Sturgill; Tiffen Tapia-Lovler; Elizabeth Walker; Millacent Wharton; Nina Willis; Travis Wireback; Lauren Wise; and Kayla Yingst.

Who's Who Among Students in American Universities & Colleges honors were presented to Nicole Anderson; Elana Baumann-Carbrey; Jennifer Baxter; Jennifer Gift; Jessica Guadagno; Josephine Guinn; Karen Love; Sara McDorman; Alexandria Mathews; Jason Martin; Michelle Norris; Kara Ontiveros; Brian Randall; Lisa Runion; Matt St. Marie; Chelsea Shew; Julia Tellman; Ian Townson; Nina Willis; and David Zimmer.

Faculty Recognitions

Four Brevard College faculty members were recognized for receiving promotions. Resa Chandler, Kristina Holland and John Padgett were promoted to associate professor with tenure. Amie Scheidegger, who already holds the rank of associate professor, was also granted tenure.

Retiring faculty members Patricia Clow and Ron Kiviniemi were recognized for their service to the Teacher Education Program and to the College.

Assistant Professor of Music Kathryn Gresham was named the 2009-2010 Brevard College recipient of the United Methodist Exemplary Teacher Award. Gresham, who received a certificate and a \$500 check provided by the United Methodist Church's General Board of Higher Education and Ministry, was recognized for her excellence in teaching; civility and concern for students and colleagues; commitment to value-centered education; and outstanding service to students, the institution and the community.

'Get the job'

continued from page 1

spondence. This is essential to keeping your process organized and productive.

10. Resume. It's the last on the list, but still indispensable. And, it has to be GREAT. Be sure your final resume is carefully edited and succinct (no more than two pages) with a layout that is easy for the eye to follow.

"It may take some time to produce these documents and to learn how to use them effectively," Myers says, "but it will be worth it. Building a satisfying career is much easier when you have the right tools."

For more information and other useful tips to help college grads achieve career success, visit www.getthejobbook.com.