Greek Life (cont'd from Page 5)



On Friday evening November 17, 1911 three Howard University students and a young professor who had a vision of a creative, idealistic national organization that would unite thousands of young men in aim. thought, and loyalty, organized Omega Psi Phi, the first fraternity founded at a historically Black college campus. Becoming notable achievers, the founders were: Oscar J. Cooper, Edgar A. Love, Frank Coleman, and Dr. Ernest E. Just. The Fraternity was formally incorporated on October 28, 1914 by the United States Congress under the laws governing the District of Columbia.

Today, guided by the four cardinal principles of Manhood, Scholarship, Perseverance, and Uplift, and the Fraternity's motto "Friendship is essential to the soul," Omega Psi Phi Fraternity has progressed from a simple organization composed of four men to more than 150,000 college-trained men working together through their activities, programs, and projects.

Outstanding Omega Psi Phi men include civil rights leaders Jesse Jackson, Roy Wilkins, and Benjamin Hooks; writer Langston Hughes; pianist, composer, and band leader Count Basie; historian Carter G. Woodson; basketball player Michael Jordan; actor/comedian Bill Cosby; scientist Charles Drew, and astronaut Ronald McNair. These are but a few of the many representatives of whom Omega is proud.

Omega is sailing the seas of service and will reach the port of fulfillment aiding thousands across the land.

> Write For The Black Ink



On January 15, 1908 seven college coeds on the campus of Howard University organized a vision of sisterhood, scholastic achievement and service into Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority. Led by Ethel Hedgeman Lyle, the circle was extended to include nine other coeds and this marked the founding of the first Black, Greek-letter organization for women. Since its inception 80 years ago, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc. has maintained its progressive nature in providing service to all mankind. On the national level, through projects such as Cleveland Job Corps, Educational Advancement Fund, Africare, and The Reading Pro-

gram, the Sorority reaches thousands of individuals in need.

The Theta Pi Chapter, chartered on UNC's campus on April 20, 1974 has upheld the vision of scholastic achievement, sisterhood, and service to mankind. Projects such as our annual Hargraves Halloween Party, a Health Update Week, and the annual sponsoring of our African Village-Burkino Fasso, are just a few of the chapter activities which our committed sisterhood effectively programs. Realizing that there is more to be done, Theta Pi will continue to follow the tradition of our great sisterhood, and continue to achieve.



NATIONAL SCIENCE FOUNDATION

GRADUATE RESEARCH FELLOWSHIPS

MINORITY GRADUATE FELLOWSHIPS

Program: Three-year graduate fellowships in science and engineering fields offered by the National Science Foundation. Open to persons who are in the early stages of their graduate study in science or engineering.

Eligibility Requirements:

1. Applicants must be United States citizens or nationals who are members of one of the following ethnic minority groups: American Indian, Black, Hispanic, Native Alaskan (Eskimo or Aleut), or Native Pacific Islander (Polynesian or Micronesian).

2. Fellowships are awarded for study and research in the sciences or in engineering leading to master's or doctoral degrees in the mathematical, physical, biological, engineering, and social sciences, and in the history and philosophy of science. Awards are also made for work toward a research-based Ph.D. in science education that requires a science competence comparable to that for Ph.D. candidates in those disciplines.

3. Applicants must not have completed, by the beginning of the Fall 1988 term, more than 30 semester hours, 45 quarter hours, or equivalent, of study in the science and engineering fields listed above following completion of the last baccalaureate degree. Except for courses toward, and completed while enrolled for an additional baccalaureate degree, this guideline is applied to all course work earned after October 1, 1978 regardless of purpose or whether credit for those hours is available for study toward another degree. Applicants who have earned any medical degrees, such as the MD, DDS, or DVM, are ineligible.

Stipend and Allowances: The stipend is \$12,300 for a twelve-month tenure. In addition, NSF will provide fellowship institutions, on behalf of each Fellow, with a cost-of-education allowance (\$6,000) in lieu of all tuition costs and assessed fees. A \$1,000 Special International Research Travel Allowance is also available under the conditions specified in the Program Announcement.

Application Deadline Date: NOVEMBER 14, 1988

Announcement of Awards: Mid-March 1989

Starting Date: Awardees may begin fellowship tenure in the Summer of 1989, but must enter on tenure no later than the beginning of the 1989 Fall term with certain exceptions

explained in the Program Announcement.

For Information and Application Materials:

Write to:

The Fellowship Office National Research Council 2101 Constitution Avenue Washington, D.C. 20418

OR

Telephone: (202) 334-2872