

Awards Day held in The Helms Center

MURFREESBORO -- Chowan College students received awards for citizenship, service academic and athletic achievements during Awards Day Apr. 28 in the Helms Center.

The Chowan annual, THE CHOWANOKA, was dedicated to Chowan President Bruce E. Whitaker, and Mrs. Esther Whitaker, professor of religion, who are retiring after serving the college 32 years.

the college 32 years.

Dr. Whitaker presented the awards by Dr. B. Frankin Lowe, Jr., dean of the

college.

Gary Duane Campbell of Norge, Va. was named Best All Around Student. Karen Anne Davis of Hampton, Va. received Superior Citizenship. The Merit Award was presented to two sophomores, Jennifer Lynn Grooters of Mechanicsville, Va. and Kevin Scott Matheson of Lenoir.

Davis and Matheson were triple winners, while Campbell, Grooters and Edna Anne Ruffin of Ahoskie each won two awards

Davis also received Oustanding Student in Computer Information Systems and Order of the Silver Feather.

Matheson also received the Mary E. Wood Science Award and Outstanding Sophomore in English.

Campbell also received the Marylou Jones Armstrong Business Award. Grooters also captured the Drama Award in performance. Ruffin won the Highest Scholastic Average for a sophomore and was selected to the Order of the Silver Feather.

Other students named to the Order of the Silver Feather were Donna Jo Phillips of Murfreesboro, Richard Jeffery Seymour of Elizabeth City, and Sonja Carol Woods of Hurdle Mills.

Sean Douglas Mullally fo Goshen, N.Y. received the Highest Scholastic Average for a freshman. Robert Thomas Bazemore of Cofield was named Outstanding Freshman in English.

The Fine Arts Department presented drama, music and art awards. Michelle

Dawn Turner of Virginia Beach won the Drama Award -- Technical. The Mary Pierce Music Award was presented to James Earl Green of Creedmoor and Chieko Ukita of Osaka, Japan. Leslie Jill Simpson of Princess Anne, Md. was named Outstanding Student in Choir and Holly Yvonne Gailey was selected Outstanding Student in Band. Elizabeth Dawn Cutchin of Littleton was selected the Outstanding Sophomore in Art.

The Department of Graphic Communications presented Most Outstanding Graduate awards to Jay Alan Wasowski of Pt. Pleasant Beach, N.J. in photography and Jodie Raymond Cobb of Merry Hill in printing technology

technology.

The Raymond Memorial Scholarship, a science award for a deserving returning freshman, was presented to Jonathan Harris Taylor of Vanceboro, who was also named chief marshal. Other marshals are Janice M. Askew of Eure; Caron D. Bailey of Clayton, DE; Lori Denyse Nold of Snow Camp; Jerrod James Rose of Seaboard; and Jennifer Louise Towell of Springfield, Va.

Day Student and International Student awards were captured by Polly Denise Babb of Roanoke Rapids and Janerose Wanjiku Kinyanjui of Nairobi respectively. Carla Ruth Osborne of Creston received the Most Outstanding Resident Assistant Award.

Athletic awards included: Joseph Lee Parker Award for Physical Fitness -- Robert T. Funderburk of Blackstone, Va.; Exchange Club Athletic Award -- Peter Francis Gale, IV of Virginia Beach; Most Outstanding Female Athlete -- Christy Lynn Hill of Hampton, Va.; Most Outstanding Male Athlete -- George Earl Koonce, Jr. of New Bern.

The President's Cup for overall competition among the residence halls was won by Mixon Hall and McDowell Columns. Intramural Team Championships were taken by First Floor West Hall for men and Third Floor Belk Hall for women.



