The Arts Women Glorified In Interim Production

by jeannie denman

Waylinda Royal was featured in the Methodist College Non-traditional Coffee House production of *The Year of the Woman*, held in the Alumni Dining Room from January 18-21, 1993.

The show was composed of selections from Lysistrata, Saint Joan, A Doll's House, and The Heidi Chronicles. In the first piece, Lysistrata and her female comrades banded together in abstaining from sex in order to stop war.

In the next selection, Joan of Arc denied then reaffirms her faith in God and "her voices". In the scene after intermission, Nora realized her marriage to Torvald Helmer wasn't what she wanted as a person. To top off the evening, Heidi and her friend Peter discussed lost love and his newly open homosexuality. Former Vice-President J. Danforth Quayle and T.V. personality Murphy Brown made special guest appearances and discussed "Family Values".

The coffee house production was conceived by Head of the Theatre Department Dr. Jack Peyrouse, and was directed by senior Communications major Caroline Kearns. Student performers included Camisha Bell, Rachel Juren, Shannon Rygalski, Michael Thrash, and Lane Wray, as well as former student Nicole DeKoning and December graduate Michael Richardson. Community performers and technicians included Angela and Agi Pascuali, William Keller, and Jamie Whitney. On-campus techies included Sarah "Sam" Tutt, Jay Ohlmacher, Brian Drake, and David Teague.



Scenes From The



Coffee

European Revelers Invade Reeves Auditorium

"Year Of

The

Woman"

by jeannie denman

On March 4-7, 1993, the Methodist College Theatre Department will present *Carnival*, a musical based on the movie *LILI*, with music and lyrics by Bob Merrill and book by Michael Stewart. The original production was directed by Gower Champion and produced by David Merrick.

The Methodist College production of *Carnival* will be directed and designed by Theatre Professor Paul F. Wilson, with musical direction by Music Professor Alan Porter and Choreography by B. J. Mines and features Lane Wray as a disgruntled puppeteer, Michael Thrash as his assistant, and Bethany Surridge as the young woman whose innocence makes the company remember what it is to have fun again. Other student, faculty, staff, and community performers who are part of the *Carnival* include Michael Cookson, Theresa Carlevaro, Rebecca Wilson, Alice Simmons, William Keller, Gesa Wellenstein, Brian Drake, Leslie B. Craig, Heather Lani, Holly Butler, David Teague, Tony Butler, Scotti McDougal, Susan Pulsipher (Head Librarian), Dr. Tony DeLapa (Head of Education Department), and Gayle Anderson.

The show opens Thursday, March 4, at 10:00 a.m., with shows Friday, March 5, at 10:00 a.m. and 8:00 p.m., Saturday, March 6, at 8:00 p.m., and Sunday, March 7, at 3:00 p.m. Come and celebrate life at Methodist College's Carnival.

'93 Playwrights Announced

by jeannie denman

On Thursday night, January 21, the winners of the third annual Methodist College Playwriting Contest were announced. Winners were selected from seven one-act plays submitted by five student playwrights. The winners were, in alphabetical order, jeannie denman for *Ever a Trooper: a story of Harriet Tubman*, Caroline Kearns for *The Trial of Thomas Morton*, and Chris Laning for Look Who's Here.

Playwrights were to choose student directors for their works, which will be presented On-Stage Backstage on April 14 and 15. As of this writing, each playwright is directing his/her own work. The award for the best written play will be announced on Friday, April 23, 1993, at the Methodist College Award Ceremony.