## Professional News

## **Appointed**

Dr. Carl Eisdorfer, professor of psychiatry and medical psychology, has been named chief of the division of medical psychology on a temporary basis.

Dr. Eisdorfer replaces Dr. Robert Carson, who resigned from the administrative position but will remain on the medical psychology staff.



## In Russia

Dr. D. Bernard Amos, James B. Duke Professor of Immunology, headed a six-man scientific delegation to Russia last month to discuss organ transplantation, transplantation immunology, and related subjects.

They visited research institutions, hospitals, and medical schools in Moscow, Rostov-on-Don, and Leningrad.

INTERCOM is published weekly for Duke University Medical Center employes, faculty, staff, students, and friends by the Medical Center Public Relations Office, Joe H. Sigler, director, and Vance B. Whitfield, assistant director.

MRS. SUE CHILDS
PR Associate and Intercom Editor

MRS. KATHIE REISING PR Assistant

MISS BARBARA RAY
PR Secretary

Editorial Committee: Sam A. Agnello, director of the division of audiovisual education; James L. Bennett, Jr., administrative assistant to the vice-president for health affairs; Willard McKiver, assistant in the Medical Center Personnel Office; Mrs. H. Shelton Smith, publicity chairman for the Duke Hospital Auxiliary; and S. Douglas Smith, assistant director of the hospital.



## FRIDAY, SEPTEMBER 25

"The Hypothalamus-Pituitary-Ovarian System: Some Unsettled Questions"

Speaker: Dr. J. W. Everett, Professor of Anatomy

Room M-204 4 p.m. to 5 p.m.

Coffee will be served at 3:30 in the Anatomy Library

**Trent Society Meeting** 

Dr. Gert Brieger, newly appointed associate professor in the history of medicine, will speak.

4006 Dover Road 8 p.m.

R.S.V.P. to extension 3505 if you plan to attend.



NUCLEAR MEDICINE TECHNOLOGISTS—These seven men and women recently graduated from Duke's training program in nuclear medicine technology. The 12-month paramedical course teaches techniques for the use of radioactive materials in diagnosing diseases. Larry A. Jordan of Auburndale, Florida, second from left in the back row, won the Mallinckrodt Award for "demonstrating the highest degree of skill and professionalism" in his class. Other graduates are, first row left to right, Miss Ann Marie Tehan of Pasadena, Maryland, Miss Lynda Russell of Plant City, Florida, and Miss Sandra Caldwell of Rock Hill, South Carolina. Back row, Donald Simpkins of Racine, Wisconsin, Jordan, Miss Sandra Moore of Florence, South Carolina, and Michael G. Alexander of McComb, Mississippi. Miss Caldwell and Alexander have remained on the Duke staff. (staff photo)