

nterecom ouke university medical center

VOLUME 19, NUMBER 2

JANUARY 14, 1972

DURHAM, NORTH CAROLINA



DAYS AS STUDENTS ARE OVER——Thirteen men and women make up the 1972 graduating class of the Duke School of Anesthesia. Posing with the class in the foreground are Dr. Merel H. Harmel, professor and chairman of the Department of Anesthesiology, and Mary Campbell, director of the school. The graduates, from left to right, first row, are Loretta Umbarger, Fran Shuba, Janet Lancaster, Daisy Hope, Carolyn Fleming, Sarah Jinwright, and Mary Baratier. Second row: Joe Williams, Bert Davis, Jose Pell, Paul Ward, Tom Diamond, and Ray Moore. Six of the new nurse anesthetists will remain at Duke. (photo by Lewis Parrish)

Disability Insurance: New Employe Benefit

Effective January 1, the University has added a long-term disability insurance plan to its list of fringe benefits for employes.

Beginning 180 days after an employe is disabled, the carrier will pay that employe 50 per cent of the base salary he was earning just prior to his disability. These payments will continue until the employe returns to work, reaches age 65, or dies, whichever comes first.

All full-time faculty, staff members and other employes who have completed three years of continuous service with the University will be covered by this plan automatically without any contribution on the employes' part.

Announcement of the establishment of this new benefit came as the second phase of the national wage-price guidelines eased the restriction on increasing employe benefits.

Duke Anesthesia School Graduates 13 From Program

The nurse anesthesia profession added 13 new members earlier this week when seven women and six men completed Duke's two-year School of Anesthesia.

The new graduates received their certificates from Dr. Merel H. Harmel, professor and chairman of the Department of Anesthesiology, at special ceremonies in the amphitheater Tuesday.

Janet Louise Lancaster of Colonial Heights, Va. and Joe Rue Williams of Mt. Pleasant, Tex. were selected as winners of the second annual Sara J. Dent Award for outstanding achievement. Dr. Dent is a professor of anesthesiology and former chairman of the department. The award is sponsored by the Medical Gas Products Division of National Welders Supply Co., Inc.

The Rev. P. Wesley Aitken, Medical Center chaplain, gave the address for the graduation program. Also on the list of speakers was Annie Mae Truitt, president of the Duke School of Anesthesia Alumni Association, who presented membership cards to the new graduates.

Duke's 24-month anesthesia curriculum, open only to graduate registered nurses, includes both classroom and clinical work, with special emphasis on anatomy, physiology, and the pharmacology of anesthetic drugs. Students also receive instruction in the pre- and post-operative care of their patients. Director of the school is Mary Campbell, a certified registered nurse anesthetist.

After completion of the two-year course, graduates are eligible to take the qualifying examination for membership in the American Association for Nurse Anesthetists.

(continued on page two)