

VOLUME 19, NUMBER 14

APRIL 14, 1972

DURHAM, NORTH CAROLINA

## National Honor Society Nurses Inducted into Sigma Theta Tau



MAKING IT OFFICIAL—– Ruth Hepler, national president of Sigma Theta Tau, presents a pin to Joan Stanley Bombard, a Duke junior nursing student. In the background at left is Dean Ruby Wilson of the School of Nursing. (photo by Thad Sparks)



INSTALL NURSING HONORARY---Here are some of the key figures in the installation of Duke's chapter of Sigma Theta Tau, national nursing honor society, last Friday. From left to right are Frances J. Thomas, a member of the Steering Committee; Ruth Hepler, national president; Frances Blackwell, also a Steering Committee member; JoAnn Dalton, new vice president of the organization; Pat Conklin, treasurer; and Barbara Bain, the group's first president. (photo by Thad Sparks)

One hundred charter members were inducted into Sigma Theta Tau, national collegiate honor society for nursing, last Friday at ceremonies in Duke Chapel.

The event marked the establishment of a Sigma Theta Tau chapter at Duke following months of preparation to meet stringent national requirements. Duke becomes only the second nursing school in North Carolina to be granted a charter.

Miss Ruth Hepler, national president of the organization, presided at the 1:30 p.m. installation ceremonies. A reception followed from 3 to 5 p.m. in the Union Ballroom.

The charter members include Duke School of Nursing faculty, alumni, and both graduate and undergraduate students. Many of the faculty members are transferring from other Sigma Theta Tau chapters.

Sigma Theta Tau, founded in 1922, is designed to recognize the achievement of scholarship of superior quality, foster high professional standards, encourage creative work, recognize leadership qualities, and strengthen individual commitment to the ideals and goals of the nursing profession.

Members of the steering committee which has done the background work to bring a chapter of Sigma Theta Tau to Duke include Frances Blackwell, chairman; Frances J. Thomas, faculty advisor; JoAnn Dalton, treasurer; Erica Caruso, secretary; Ann M. Jacobansky, former dean; and Edythe Persing and Juanita Long, faculty representatives. Student committee members included Marsha Dubbé, Winona Griggs, Kathy Gracely, and Peggy Page.

Eligibility for membership in Sigma Theta Tau is based on scholastic achievement, leadership qualities, capacity for professional growth, and desirable personal traits.

(continued on page four)