MAROON & GOLD

Supplement to Issue No. 17

SMALL VOTER TURNOUT IN SGA ELECTIONS

By Ernie Wilkinson

There were approximately 650 votes cast Tuesday in the Student Government Association elections.

Lee Loy, though unopposed, received 454 votes for the Presidency. There were 81 write-in votes for Randy Davis and 14 other write-in votes. Alex Vardavas won by 64 votes over York Poole in the race for Vice President. Vardavas received 322 votes against 258 for Poole. There were 8 write-in votes. Dean McBrayer won unopposed in the Treasurer spot, but there were 8 write-in votes. President Loy, in describing his new administration, said that it would be an administration to promote unity of the students and progress and efficiency in the S.G.A.

The new Senior Class officers are Terry Rice, president; Bob Lane, vice president; and Al Blom, secretary-treasurer.

Bill Dressel is the new President of the Junior Class. Gene Pointer is the Vice President and Kathy Lawson is the new Secretary-Treasurer.

The presidency of the Sophomore Class is in some question. There was a tie (100-100) between Perry Crouch and Terry Harker for president; however, Harker may be ineligible for the position. Kathy O'Conner took the Vice Presidency and Carolyn Deluca was elected Secretary-Treasurer.