

HAVING SUMMER FUN-The National Summer Youth Sports Program at Fayetteville State University (N.C.) is in its fifth year and Counselor John Barrows (center) of Hemstead, New York, shows the kids his specialty "basketball". Barrows, a leading candidate for All-CIAA honors this year and a senior English major, led the Bronco basketball team last season and is considered one of the best "all-around" players in the league. (FSU Photo by John Henderson)

## SUPPORT THE BONCOS ALL THE WAY!

## Fayetteville State University Reaches 100-Year Plateau In 1977

State Colored Normal School was its name when founded in 1877. Now, almost 100 years later, it is Fayetteville State University and the transition has been one of astounding growth and development.

The chief administrator presently is Dr. Charles "A" Lyons, Jr., who is the seventh head of the Southeastern, North Carolina-based institution.

Chancellor Lyons came to Fayetteville State University in 1969, a few years before the consolidated University concept evolved. FSU is now one of the 16 campuses in the University of North Carolina system. It is also the second-oldest state supported institution of higher learning in the Tar Heel State.

Seven administrators have served as head of FSU since the founding in 1877. They are Charles W. Chestnutt (1880-1883); Dr. Ezekiel Ezra Smith (1883-1888); George Williams (1888-1895); Dr. Ezekiel Ezra Smith (1895-1898); Reverend Robert E.

Fairley (1898-1899); Dr. Ezekiel Ezra Smith (1899-1933); Dr. James Ward Seabrook (1933-1956); Dr. Rudolph Jones (1956-1969); and Dr. Charles "A" Lyons, Jr., (1969-1972).

In 1972, Dr. Lyons became the first chancellor of Fayetteville State University as FSU came under the umbrella of the 16 campus concept and became a constituent of the University of North Carolina System.

FSU was established by Senate Bill Number 472 which was ratified by the General Assembly of North Carolina on March 8, 1877. The bill was introduced in the Senate by Thomas Nicholson from Iredell County and was known as the "Act to establish Normal schools."

The University has been known by the following names: State Colored Normal School, 1877; State Colored Normal and Industrial School, 1916; State Normal School for the Negro Race, 1921; State

(Continued on Page 6)



BUTLER LEARNING CENTER