

OUDON 544 McPherson Church Road Hours Fayetteville, N.C. 28303 KPIRES Mon.: Sat. 10 AM :: 10 PM /30/85 Sun. 1 PM :: 6 PM Phone: 864-4747	
25% STUDENT AND FACULTY DISCOUNT with this coupon	
Convocation Weekend	
May 10-12, 1985	
Sheraton-Fayetteville SHERATCN HOTELS & INNS, WORLDWIDE 301 BRAGG BOULEVARD, FAYETTEVILLE, NORTH CAROLINA 919/323-0220	

the reflect considering and

The Voice

Institution was changed to State

Normal School for the Negro

1926 - The name of the

1927 - The title "Principal" was

changed to "President." The title

"Vice-Principal" was changed to

1929 - All High School work was

discontinued at the State Normal

Institution was changed to State

Race.

"Dean."

School.

Normal School.

May 17, 18	Friday, Saturday	Registration: Weekend & Evening College & Graduate Classes
May 20, 21	Monday, Tuesday	Registration For Summer Session I
May 22	Wednesday	Late Registration & Drop/Add Periods Beg
		First Class Meeting For All Classes
		For Summer Session I
May 24	Friday	Drop/Add Period Ends For Summer Session
May 25	Saturday	Drop/Add & Late Registration Periods End
		For Weekend & Evening College
July 1	Monday	Registration For Summer Session II
-		& Graduate Classes
July 2	Tuesday	First Class Meeting For Summer Session II
		Drop/Add Period Begins
July 5	Friday	Drop/Add Period Ends For Summer Session

Did You Know That... Continued from page 3

acres) was purchased on Murchison Road as the permanent

site for the institution. 1908 - The first brick building, Aycock Hall, was completed on

the Murchison Road site. 1908 - The name of the Institution was changed to State Normal and Industrial School.

1933 - Dr. E.E. Smith retired on 1921 - The name of the June 30

AFROTC

Air Force ROTC can help you climb the ladder to success. You can compete for a 2, 3, or 4 year scholarship that pays \$100 a month plus tuition, fees and book costs. And you'll be ready to accept a commission when you graduate. Check it out today with an AFROTC representative.

CONTACT FAYETTEVILLE STATE UNIVERSITY 486-1464/1465 AIR FORCE ROTC Gete

AM/FM STEREO CASSETTE & 2 SPEAKERS Installed In Any Car

ONLY \$139.99 TRI-M SOUNDS

Car Stereo & Alarms Sales & **Professional Installation** 831 Bragg Blvd. Fayetteville, N.C. 28301 (919) 485-6034



Dr. James Ward Seabrook was elected President of State Normal School.

Dr. E.E. Smith was elected President Emeritus.

December 1933, Dr. E.E. Smith passed, at the age of eighty.

1939 - The name of the Institution was changed to Fayetteville State Teachers College, moving from a two-year curriculum to a four-year curriculum.

1947 - Fayetteville State Teachers College was granted an accredited status by the Southern Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools.

1955 - A General Education program was initiated for all students in the lower level division. 1956 - Dr. J.W. Seabrook retired.

Dr. Rudolph Jones was elected President.

1960 - Fayetteville State Teachers College became a member of the Southern Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools. Majors in Secondary Education began in 1960.

1963 - The name of the Institution was changed to Fayetteville State College.

1969 - Dr. Rudolph Jones resigned effective July 31.

Fayetteville State College became Fayetteville State University.

Dr. Charles "A" Lyons, Jr. was elected as President of Fayetteville State University.

1972 - Fayetteville State University became a constituent institution of The University of North Carolina.

Dr. Charles "A" Lyons, Jr. became Chancellor of the University.

1980 - A graduate program in Elementary Education was implemented.

1982 - The University conferred its first Members Degrees at Spring Commencement Exercises.

1984 - A Master of Business Administration Degree program was initiated.

Puzzle Answer

