

The Cougar Cry

THE VOICE OF WILKES COMMUNITY COLLEGE



VOLUME 11 - NO. 4

WILKESBORO, NORTH CAROLINA

JANUARY 29, 1982

HOMECOMING 1982



Who's Who Selected for WCC



By: Janet Lael

On Tuesday, January 12, 1982, at 12:20 p.m., Dr. Bob Thompson, along with Dr. Josephine Hendrix, and Ms. Brenda Jolly, announced this year's recipients of the Who's Who Among Junior College Students awards. Eighteen people were chosen to represent Wilkes Community College in receiving this presitgious national honor. Who's Who students are selected from the sophomore class. The nominees are considered on a basis of citizenship, leadership, scholarship, participation in college and community activities, and upon future usefulness to society.

These people were chosen to represent WCC: Carlton Absher, Cindy Beshears, Sandra Burchette, Cathy Ballou, Lana Chambers, Edward Crowell, Harold Foster, Danny Howell, Janet Lael, Harold McManus, Paul Newton, Eugene Rash, Linda Shepherd, Johnny Spicer, Robert Waddell, Deke Wade, Bob Watts, and Cricket Whitaker.



STEVE NEAL WITH DR. DANIEL

Steve Neal Visits Campus

Wednesday, January 20, WCC was visited by Congressman Stephen Neal. Congressman Neal was met by Dr. Daniel, and after a short talk, Dr. Daniel took Mr. Neal on a tour of some of the areas of the college. After the tour the group adjourned to the Tory Oak Room for a meal prepared by the hotel and restaurant management class. Following the meal, the group continued visiting some of the offices and then returned to Dr. Daniel's office before leaving. Congressman Neal was planning to visit some of the local high schools in the area, but due to the closing of the schools, he did not have the chance.

By: Matt Sidden

College Homecoming will be on Saturday, January 30. The basketball game with Asheville-Buncombe begins at 2:00 p.m. During halftime, the Homecoming Court will be presented and the following honors will be awarded: Freshman Attendant, Sophomore Attendant, Maid of Honor, and the 1982 Homecoming Queen. The girls nominated were: Freshman Class - Kelia Dowell, Lena Johnson, Krystal Kennedy, Pam Lindsay, Pennie Self, Tammy Souther, and Kathy Williams; Sophomore Class -Lana Chambers, Patricia Higgins, Janet Lael, Kim Mecimore, Tammy Puckett, Denise Rhodes.

Naomi Smith, Michelle Watts, and Wendy Westmoreland.

This, however, will not end the festivities. At 8:00 p.m. in the WCC gym, the semi-formal Homecoming dance begins. All WCC faculty, staff, students, alumni, and one guest each are admitted free. Continental Divide will be the band. There will be a professional photographer to take pictures from 8:00 until 9:30 p.m. The cost is \$5 for two 5 x 7's and four billfolds.

All Wilkes Community College students are urged to come and help make the 1982 Homecoming the best yet.

By: Lana Chambers



Students Chosen to Represent WCC

By: Bob Watts

Each year Wilkes Community College picks five people to be honored as the students who most represent the qualities of WCC students. They are awarded the titles of Mr. and Ms. WCC, Ms. Cougar, Ms. College Transfer, and Ms. Technical. The voting was held on December 20 and 21,

1981, and the winners were announced on January 4, 1982. This years recipients are:

Mr. WCC — Len Broyhill
Ms. WCC — Denise Rhodes
Ms. Cougar — Kelia Dowell
Ms. College Transfer Patricia Higgins

Ms. Technical — Lana Cham-



MS. COLLEGE TRANSFER
PATRICIA HIGGINS



MS. WCC DENISE RHODES



MS. TECHNICAL LANA CHAMBERS



MS. COUGAR KELIA DOWELL





MR. WCC LEN BROYHILL