Page 6

WCC Holds Annual Student Awards Reception

On Thursday, April 19, Wilkes Community College held its annual Student Awards Reception. The program was hosted in the Walker Center and a variety of academic, club & leadership awards were presented to students. WCC is proud of the many accomplishments of its students and congratulates everyone listed below on their well earned recognition.

Academic Excellence Recipients Lindsay Stewart Lesley VanHoy

Who's Who Recipients Jennifer L. Canine Patricia Lynn Greer Tina Hart Ham Jennifer Lynn Harris Jessica Nicole Hayes Jeanine Roxana Herman Brittany Lee Hostetter Anna Marie Lewis Philip Marshall Loni Hickman Miller Kathy Martin Parker Cazel Shayne Pruitt Rachael Anne Reash Mary Ann E. Reisinger Alvin Rayvon Sales Megan Elizabeth Smith April Suzanne Stephens Lindsay Joy Stewart Vivian Irene Swaenepoel Brandon Scott Underwood Kathy K. Williams Tara Elizabeth Wolford

Arts and Sciences Division

Brittany Lee Hostetter- Outstanding Student - Associate in Arts Degree Program Sarah Elizabeth Adams- Outstanding Student - Associate in Science Degree Program Jessica Nicole Hayes - Outstanding Student -Associate In Fine Arts - Drama Zachary Shepherd-Outstanding Student -Associate In Fine Arts - Drama Certificate of Academic Excellence in Associate in Arts Lynn Marie Powers Barber Rodney Julius Graham Rachel Lee Strombeck David G. Wedderburn Stewart

Business and Public Service Technologies Division Melissa Call- Outstanding Student - Business Administration Delilah Wiles- Outstanding Student - Business Administration Melissa Call- Outstanding Student Accounting Loni Miller- Most Improved -Advertising and Graphic Design Amber Arnder-Best All Around- Advertising and Graphic Design Chad Patrick-Best Illustrator- Advertising and Graphic Design Adam Minton- Best Photographer- Advertising and Graphic Design Chris Smith- Best Designer- Advertising and Graphic Design

Shannon Bowlin– Outstanding Student - Business Administration – Marketing/Retailing Burton Adams- Outstanding Student - Criminal Justice

Teddy Wilcox- Outstanding Student -Networking Keith Handy- Outstanding Student - Networking Michael Miller - CCNA Certification -Networking

Kathy K. Williams– Outstanding Student - Office Systems Technology Courtney N. Eastridge – Outstanding Student - Office Systems Technology

Health Sciences Division

Wanda Lewis- Outstanding Student - Medical Assisting Program Brittany Harris- Outstanding Student - Dental Assisting Program Ashleigh Douglas- Outstanding Student - Nursing Program - 1" Year Brittany Byrd- Outstanding Student - Nursing Program - 2nd Year Kathy Parker- Outstanding Student - Human Services Program

Industrial and Engineering Technologies Division

Bill T. Auton- Academic Excellence- Heavy Equipment and Transport Technology Chase A. Smith- Academic Excellence- Heavy Equipment and Transport Technology Douglas R. Hayes- Academic Excellence -Automotive Systems Technology Rebecca Jane Duvall- Academic Excellence-Broadcasting and Production Technology Jeffery Dean Wilmoth-Academic Excellence -Computer Engineering Technology Lindsay Stewart- Academic Excellence -Architectural Technology Nick Adams-Academic Excellence-Building Construction Technology Kevin Lookabill-Academic Excellence-Electrical/ Electronics Engineering Technology Jonathan Trivette-Academic Excellence-Autobody Repair Aaron Minton-Academic Excellence-Electronics Engineering Technology Joshua Eller-Academic Excellence -Welding Technology Terry Tucker-Academic Excellence-Industrial Systems Technology Kim Cashatt- Academic Excellence - Horticulture Technology Sue Gilley- Academic Excellence - Horticulture Technology Tina Jensen- Academic Excellence - Horticulture Technology

Alleghany Center

Claire Halsey- Student of the Year Ben Kimrey- Accounting Student of the Year Aaronita Alford- Business Student of the Year

Ashe Campus

Betty C. Stanley - Student of the Year Shayne Pruitt - Student of the Year Beverly Hamby - Persistence Award

Accounting Club Outstanding Leadership Certificates: Teresa Barlow Erica Holliday Bonney Widner Whitney Wineberg *Outstanding Service Award:* Shelia Foster Naisha Dalton Shannon Bowlin

Association of Information Technology Professionals Lesley Rae VanHoy- President Steven Wesley Douglas- Vice President Certificate of Membership Victoria Lowe- AITP Member Christy Jarman- AITP Member

Baptist Student Union Rafe Royal– Outstanding Service and Dedication Tara Wolford-Outstanding Christian Leadership

Dental Assisting Club Thea Gilbert- Outstanding Leadership Brittany Harris-Outstanding Top Academic Mindy Bowers- Outstanding Public Relations Stephanie Roe- Outstanding Club Service Sheena Miller- Outstanding Club Spirit Carla Pinkerton- Outstanding Club Communication

Human Services Club Kathy Parker- Outstanding Leadership Judy Parsons- Outstanding Leadership Leadership Recognition Certificate-Angy Bryant Ashley Roten Meagan Greene Outstanding Participation Certificate-Reba Jennings Samantha Nickens Margaret Lynda Taylor Karen Call

Industrial Technology & Electronics Club (ITEC) Gerald K. McCraw- Outstanding Service as President Greg Baldwin- Outstanding Service as Vice President Certificate of Service - Member ITEC Ann Houck Melissa Dancy Jeffery A. Wellington Ryan Eastridge Roger C. Hill Donna R. Rash Jack E. Neal Marty R. Main David A. Taylor Jettie Bouchelle Thomas Marsh Michael Triplett Earnest Greer Travis Cornett

Medical Assisting Club Wanda Lewis- Medical Assistant of the Year

Vergie Matkins

Mr. and Ms. Cougar Billy Brewer - Mr. Cougar Kayla Adams- Mrs. Cougar

Mr. And Ms. WCC Rafe Royal - Mr. WCC Jennifer Canine - Ms. WCC

Newspaper Staff Loni Miller- Outstanding Service as Desktop Editor/Graphic Designer Amber Arnder - Outstanding Service as Desktop Editor/Graphic Designer

Student Government Association – Wilkes Campus Philip Marshall– Outstanding Service as President Joseph Falco– Outstanding Service as Vice President Kimberley Jordan - Outstanding Service as Sec./ Treas. Tara Wolford– Outstanding Service as Programming Chair Brittany Hostetter– Outstanding Service as Programming Chair Peggy McCard– Outstanding Service as Asst. Programming Chair Alisha Perry– Outstanding Service as Asst. Programming Chair

Mr. And Ms. Alleghany Center

Cody Woodie- Mr. WCC- Alleghany Center Christine Evans- Ms. WCC- Alleghany Center

Student Government Association – Alleghany Center

Shelley Williams- Outstanding Service as President Ryan Rodriquez- Outstanding Service as Vice President Sarah McGrady- Outstanding SGA Activities

Mr. And Ms. Ashe Campus Mr. WCC - Ashe Campus - Gerald McGraw Ms. WCC- Ashe Campus – Rachael Reash

Student Government Association – Ashe Center Megan Gerth– Outstanding Service as President Heather Campbell– Outstanding Service as Vice President Kelli Blowers– Outstanding Service as Sec./Treas. Gerald McCraw- Outstanding Service as Programming Chair Cazel Shayne Pruitt- Outstanding Service as Programming Assistant

Phi Theta Kappa Brittany Hostetter – Service Award- Vice President Kathy Parker– Service Award- Treasurer

Rotaract Club

Michael Triplett- Outstanding Leadership Jennifer Bauguss- Outstanding Leadership

Student Nurses Association Tina Ham-President - 2nd Year Class Kim Carter-Vice President - 2nd Year Class Katie Andrews-Secretary/Treasurer - 2nd Year Class Mechelle Hawkins- President - 1st Year Class