And The Winner Is...

WCC held its annual awards reception on April 17, 2008. A list of the winners can be found below. Photos of the winner photos and from the event can be found on page 10. Congratulations to all of this years winners.

Academic Excellence Recipients Lauren Johnson Brandon Underwood

Who's Who Recipients Yessenia Marquez Alvarez Shannon Bradley Bowlin Karen E. Call Anthony James Campbell Michelle Diane Church Jessica Lynn Clark Amy Vanbelt Clutter Naisha Dalton Ashleigh Amanda Douglas Cecilia Hamby Elledge Brittney Faith Frye Julie Alexander Garland Lynne P. Ham Clara Ann Osborne Houck Reba Phillips Jennings Lauren Kay Johnson Jennifer Michelle McClure Loni Hickam Miller Elizabeth Ann Morgan Judy Kay Parsons Rafe Garrett Royal Enrique Antonio Rubio-Reyes Robin Lynn Wilmoth Kerry Michael Wilson

Arts and Sciences Division

Lauren Kay Johnson- Outstanding Student -Associate in Arts Degree Program Certificate of Academic Excellence in Associate in Arts Casey Hunter Swain Sarah Wetter Faw Ondrej Edward Dyck- Outstanding Student -Associate in Science Degree Program Certificate of Academic Excellence in Associate in Science Christopher Allen Steele Renea Stewart Taylor-Outstanding Student -Associate In Fine Arts -Drama

Business and Public Service Technologies Division

Jessica Clark– Outstanding Student - Business Administration – Marketing/Retailing Kerry Wilson- Outstanding Student - Business Administration Amanda Dillard-Outstanding Student

– Marketing/Retailing Cecilia Elledge– Outstanding Student Accounting

Lynne Ham- Outstanding Student Accounting Bryan S. Walker- Outstanding Student - Criminal Justice

Staci Ingram – Outstanding Student -Networking Michelle D Church – Outstanding Student -

Office Systems Technology

Health Sciences Division Deborah Osborne- Outstanding Student -Medical Assisting Program Brittany Wike– Outstanding Student - Dental Assisting Program Ashleigh Douglas– Outstanding Student -Nursing Program Michelle Triplett– Outstanding Student -Human Services Program Amber Clonch – Outstanding Student – Respiratory Therapy

Industrial, Engineering, & Customized Industry Training Division John Howard- Academic Excellence- Heavy Equipment and Transport Technology Matthew Drum- Academic Excellence -Automotive Systems Technology Nathan Borkowski- Academic Excellence-Broadcasting and Production Technology Brandon Underwood-Academic Excellence -Computer Engineering Technology Andrew Bennett- Academic Excellence - Architectural Technology Anthony Campbell- Academic Excellence -Architectural Technology Deborah Billings-Academic Excellence-Building Construction Technology Kerry West-Academic Excellence-Electrical/ Electronics Engineering Technology Matthew Parsons-Academic Excellence-Autobody Repair James "Pete" Horton-Academic Excellence-**Electronics Engineering Technology** Kenneth Hart-Academic Excellence -Welding Technology Michael Stone - Academic Excellence-Industrial Systems Technology William "Matt" Faw - Academic Excellence - Race Car Performance

<u>Alleghany Center</u> Hilda Cochran– Student of the Year

Ashe Campus

Clara Ann Houck- Student of the Year Donna Wilkinson- Student of Excellence

Accounting Club Outstanding Leadership: Naisha Dalton Cecilia Elledge Lynne Ham Lauren Johnson Melissa McGuire Shelia Sheppard Danielle Sherrill Kerry Wilson

Architectural Technology Club Anthony Campbell- Outstanding Service as President Chris Blevins- Outstanding Service as Vice President

Association of Information Technology Professionals Certificate of Outstanding Leadership Staci J. Ingram Barry K. Shepherd

Baptist Student Union Certificate of Outstanding Service and Leadership Justin Johnson Rafe Royal Courtney Wolford Certificate of Outstanding Community Outreach Jessica Waddell

Cougar Cry Newspaper Staff Loni Miller - Outstanding Service as Editor-in-Chief Amanda Molesa- Outstanding Service as Graphic Designer Certificate of Outstanding Service Andrew Bryant Keisha Call Lynne Ham

Dental Assisting Club

Kim Roten-Outstanding Leadership Mai Xiong- Outstanding Club Service Kayla Darnell- Certificate of Outstanding Public Relations Brittany Wike- Certificate of Outstanding Team Spirit Sheena Luna-Certificate of Outstanding Club Fundraising Tiffany Mathis - Certificate of Outstanding Professionalism Meghan Jones- Certificate of Outstanding Creativity Horticulture Club Ruby Whitley- Outstanding Service Human Services Club Julie Garland- Outstanding Leadership Judy Parsons- Outstanding Leadership Michelle Triplett- Outstanding Leadership Robin Wilmoth- Outstanding Leadership Excellence in Leadership -Certificates Jen Bush Leann Church Cynthia Thomas Outstanding Participation Certificate-Dianna Alexander Jennifer Bowman Jeannie Cayton Tony Howell Chastity Kyle Stephanie Ladd Renea Taylor

Industrial Technology & Electronics Club (ITEC) Gerald McCraw - Outstanding Service Ann Houck - Outstanding Service as Secretary/ Trasurer Intercultural Club Certificates of Honor: Lamonte Boddie Juan Garcia Stephen Horton Bee Lee Jennifer Lee Luis Mariano Quinton McAdoo Kendra Smith Jerry Tharpe Grayson Youngquist Certificates of Distinction Troy Duncan Erika Limon-Nunez Sandra Quiroz Theresa Vaughn Mai Xiong Certificates of Excellence:

Naisha Dalton Cristian Frausto Matt Jennings Enrique Antonio Rubio-Reyes Yessenia Alvarez- Most Distinguished President Karliss Binkley- Most Distinguished Officer

<u>Medical Assisting Club</u> Ellen Baldwin– Medical Assistant of the Year

<u>Mr. And Ms. WCC</u> Enrique Antonio Rubio-Reyes Laken Cheek

<u>Mr. and Ms. Cougar</u> Brandon Osborne Kendra Smith

Student Government Association - Wilkes Campus Enrique Antonio Rubio-Reyes- Outstanding Service as President Naisha Dalton- Outstanding Service as Vice President Kendra Smith- Certificate of Outstanding Service as Interim Secretary Certificate of Outstanding Service as Programming Chairperson Matthew Jennings Beth Morgan Certificate of Outstanding Service as Assistant Programming Chairperson Terry Brinegar Julie Garland Rick Surber Certificate of Outstanding Service as Sophomore Senator Josh McGrady Jessica McCard Daniel Wood Certificate of Outstanding Service as Freshman Senator Robyn Pickering Ryan Pope Jonathan Mitchell - Certificate of Outstanding Service as SGA Volunteer Student Government Association - Alleghany Center Suzanne Leon- Outstanding Service as President Sarah McGrady- Outstanding Service as Vice President Jacqueline Bush - Outstanding Service as Secretary

Laticia Sandoval – Outstanding Service as Treasurer Gretchen Stafford- Outstanding Service as Public

Information Officer

Mr. And Ms. Ashe Campus Mr. WCC -Ashe Campus – Michael Graybeal Ms. WCC- Ashe Campus – Cassondra Greer

Student Government Association - Ashe Campus Michael Graybeal- Outstanding Service as President Gerald McCraw- Outstanding Service as Vice President Ann Houck- Outstanding Service as Sec./Treas. Leslie Hardy- Outstanding Service as SGA Member

Cougar Cry