Student Leaders Honored

by Jean WIlliams

The Salem College Leadership Awards Banquet was held last Tuesday, April 25, 1990 at six o'clock in the evening in the Corrin Refectory. President Litzenburg presided and Kim Mims Schroeder (1976) was the guest the guest speaker. Her speech entitled "Just Do It" was an inspiration not only to those who received awards but also to those who will strive to receive them next year.

The recipients were as follows:

For outstanding work in *The Salemite*, Amy Cass, April Edmondson, and Paige Parker.

The Team Captains awards went to Jill Starling (Cross Country), Laura Morrison and Joan Pierce (Equestrian), Casey Horner and Heather Inge (Field Hockey), Jennifer Callahan and Gaither Smoot (Soccer), Sally Lemmon and Kristy Royal (swimming), Leigh Cubitt, Katherine Livermon and Galen Miller (Tennis), and Heather Lewisohn (Volleyball).

The Jess Byrd Scholar Athlete Award was received by Strat Newitt

Alpha Psi Omega, the national honor drama society, selected the following for membership: Cathy Bowers, Greta Cassidy, Juliet Dyal, Susie Murphy, Nell Nordin, Christi Phillips, and Lummy Powell.

For her performance in Godspell, Heather Inge received the Perrot award.

Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges: BJ Buckland, Barbara Burby, Susan Chesire, Diane Davis, Susan Ekmekci, Susanne Estes, Heather Glasscock, Mary Alston Glenn, Stephanie Hines, Melissa Kirk, Donna May, Ashley Pruitt, Melissa Robinson, Wendi

Schweiger, Jill Starling, Mary Kathryn White, and Robin Wray.

Mortar Board recognized the following: Sonya Cobb, Tracy Coltrane, Karen Elsey, Susanne Estes, Heather Inge, Donna May, Joanna May, Wendy Nace, Norma Rhea, Mary Kathryn White, Jennifer Wood, and Susan Yu.

The Spirit Awards were given to freshman Spaz Thomas, sophomore Angie Shotts, junior Camille Flippin, and senior Amy Cass.

The new Omicron Delta Kappa society members are Anne Bumgardner, Sonya Cobb, Karen Elsey, Anna Harris, Deborah Laskey, Donna May, Joanna May, Wendy Nace, Kathy White, Valerie Wickersham, and Jennifer Wood.

The Clark Thompson Community Service award was established for a Salem student who has made a substantial commitment to volunteer community service was given to Tara Newton.

Steffan Hambright was this year's recipient of the Freshman Leadership Award.

To recognize an upperclass student displaying qualities of leadership, the Sarah Covington Fulcher Leadership Award was established. The award this year was presented to Sally Lemmon.

Heather Glasscock, president of ODK, presented the outstanding teacher award to Sydma Hatzopoulos, which concluded the banquet's awards.

On Founder's Day Senior Convocation on Thursday, April 26, 1990 the final award, the Elizabeth Oesterlein Award, was presented to Mathilde Dumond, the Senior Class President.

Congratulations to all of this year's recipients!

A Very Special Tree

adapted by Patricia Earnhardt

A very special tree was planted in the May Dell on April 27. The tree is a sapling from an English Elm planted almost 250 years ago by Moravian settlers in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania.

The president of Moravian College, Dr. Roger H. Martin, helped plant the sapling which had been growing outside his house in Pennsylvania. According to Dr. Martin, the tree is a symbol of the close relationship between Salem and Bethlehem. The tree is most likely the only English Elm in the area.

New Dean Announced

by Patricia Earnhardt

Shortly before the class of 1994 arrives on campus, another new member of the community will be moving in, Dr. Annette Allen. Dr. Allen will be filling the position of Dean of the College.

Dr. Allen is presently Associate Dean of Instruction at Rutgers University, Newark. She has held many other positions at Rutgers including; Associate Dean for Educational Development, Assistant Dean for Continuing Education and Advisement, and Director of University of College Admissions.

Dr. Allen holds a Ph.D. in Comparative Literature from the University of Texas at Dallas, an M.A. in English from Southern Methodist University, and of Instruction at Rutgers University, Newark.

She is a published poet and has taught language and literature at Rutgers University, Southern Methodist University, Bloomfield College and Achimota College, Ghana, West Africa.

Dr. Allen will be on campus by July 1, 1990.

Visitation Proposal Passed

by Mindy Worrell

A milestone was accomplished in Salem's social history on Friday, April 27, 1990. The Board of Trustees passed the overnight male visitation proposal for the three dance weekends. Mindy Worrell, Strat Newitt and Paige Goza presented the proposal to the board and addressed their questions. After approximately forty-five minutes; the presenters left the room so the vote could be counted.

Every Salem student was granted the option and the privilege of overnight visitation. The students must show they are mature and responsible women. The Board will evaluate overnight visitation after the dance weekends. They agreed to the following stipulations:

* Overnight visitation will be on a trial basis.

* The Board has the authority to discontinue overnight visitation at any time.

The original visitation committee should be commended for all of their time and effort. Members included: Debbie Bruce, Michelle Duffie, Katy Glenn, Anna Harris, Sally Lemmon, Joanna May, Mindy McLarty, Melanie McRae and Liz Smith. Visitation proves that students can make a difference. The struggle is over, and we succeeded!

Writer's Note: Before a formal decision was announced I spotted a Board member, from the steps of my dorm, who gave me the "thumbs up" sign. At the time I was not sure if that meant 'you did a good job' or that the proposal had passed. Later, I heard the official word. Though it sounds corny, chills ran through my body as I thought of how two years of hard work had finally paid off. I am thankful that Salem's Trustees are responsive to the student's needs and desires. I think they trust and believe in the students.

*Salem T-shirts & Sweats

*Film Developing
*Helium Balloons
*Cards

YOUR
COLLEGE
STORE

