

H. A. M.-S. C. I.

Led by their class adviser, Miss Clara Downing, and the class officers, Sonny Boney, president; Horace Potter, vice president, Helen Cox, secretary; Ed Smith, treasurer; Mildred Lee, cheerleader, they sallied forth on their first money-making venture. A ways and means committee composed of Toni Lupton, chairman, Horald Montague, Chase Johnson, Ike Manly, and Miss Downing, adviser, was appointed by the president. The class voted to sponsor the motion picture, "It's Love I'm After," and though they did not become wealthy, they were very proud of the \$10.60 that was cleared.

A class so widely known and so continuously in the lead could not maintain its existence much longer without choosing a class motto, flower, color and song. "No prize without a struggle" was the representative motto, chosen from a group submitted by the motto committee: Sara Jeffreys, chairman, Teeny Mansour, Bill Kemp, Ray Rouse, and Miss Hamer, adviser.

The flower and color committee made up of Sarah Dees, chairman, Sibyl Blalock, Faison Thomson, Herman Perkins, and Mrs. Cox, adviser, helped the class to pick purple and gold as colors and the iris as a flower. These were changed in the junior year to the colors maroon and white with the lily of the valley as the flower.

Jackie Campen, chairman, Shirley Pearsall, Ed Smith, Carrie Helen Best, and Miss Tomlinson, adviser, composed the song committee. "Hail Class of Forty" to the tune of "Anchors Away" was chosen by the class as their spirited anthem.

When the Yulctide season rolled around it was the up-and-coming Sophomore Class

that volunteered to present the annual Christmas program. A committee of Martha Best, chairman, Rena Graham, Bill Cobb, Edna Pelt, and Miss Ezzell, adviser, was appointed. Miss Ezzell directed quite successfully a pageant, "The Dramatization of the Birth of Christ." Characters for the production were: Ike Manly, Joseph; Virginia Lee, Mary; Sonny Boney, Bill Nufer, and Harold Montague, wise men; Robert Denmark, Lamuel Summerlin, Herman Perkins, Noah Bass, and Cliff Spruill, shepherds; and Martha Best, Harriet Kelly, Jennette Garrison, Sara Jeffreys, Edna Pelt, Teeny Mansour, Mildred Lee, and Helen Boyette, angels. Other sophomores on the program were Kala Rosenthal, Catherine Smith, Ann Daniels, Carolyn Evans, Edna Grace Fulghum, Ruth Herring, Chase Johnson, Cora Jane McMillan, Helen Kannan, Toni Lupton, and Grace Alexander. Mr. L. T. New's band and glee club gave several Christmas numbers, and Bill Cobb read the script while the pageant was taking place.

The political interest of the group was growing and the class now had members on five of the SA standing committees. These were: Cafeteria, Rena Graham; Social, Mildred Lee; Bulletin Board, Sarah Dees; Homeroom Organization, Ike Manly; and Handbook, Bill Nufer and Toni Lupton. The following represented the class at Council in the fall: Ike Manly, Bill Nufer, Jimmie Wooters, Ray Rouse, Cora Jane McMillan, and Toni Lupton. Those who served in the spring were: Cora Jane McMillan, Toni Lupton, Bill Nufer, Bill Kemp and George Simpson. The election of class officers in the fall was supervised by the nominating committee:

Virginia Lee, chairman, Ike Manly, and Sonny Boney; the registrars, Ray Rouse, chairman, and Bill Nufer, and the election judge, Victor Hess.

Another noteworthy event of that year was the addition of students to the P.T.A.. forming the P.T.S.A.

Some 1,000 North Carolina teachers gathered in GHS for the annual convention of the North Central District Teachers' Association on November 5 and 6. Members of '40 serving as guides at this convention were: Jean Arment, Noah Bass, Carrie Helen Best, Martha Best, Kala Rosenthal, George Simpson, Eleanor Smith, Sonny Boney, Helen Boyette, Eliza Cox, Hugh Daughtry, Sarah Glisson, Virginia Lee, Helen McClenny, Martha Mansour, and Bill Nufer.

Journalistic qualities were prevalent among these students at an early age. The Scribblers' Club having been organized, the twenty members and their adviser, Miss Janet Sanborn, mimeographed three copies of a capital paper, the Scribblers' Scoop, and also obtained and wrote the information appearing in the first GHS handbook. These diligent journalists, were: Ed Smith, Herman Perkins, Jimmie Whitaker, Sonny Boney, Rena Graham, Teeny Mansour, Mildred Lee, Sara Jeffreys, Harold Montague, Martha Best, Jackie Campen, John Grant, Bill Cobb, Faison Thomson, Robert Denmark, Grace Alexander, Virginia Worley, Ann Daniels, Helen Cox, and James Kennedy.

As each sport came into season the sophomores readily volunteered for service. Two lettermen, Bill Nufer and James Kennedy, returned to the boys' swimming team and (Continued on page 12)