

Volume 2, No. 2

# Homecoming Is A "Candyland" At A.S.H.S.

This year's Homecoming Game was played against West Stanly. The theme for the 1985 half-time festivity was "Candy Land." The decoration for the theme included two hershey kisses, carried by Bill Duke, Chris Rollins, and JV Cheerleaders. The ASHS Band also added extra pizzaz to the decoration by providing the background music, "Candy Land."

After all the sponsors had been introduced W.K. Morgan then crowned the Homecoming Queens and Court. The 1985 Homecoming Queens are Angie Davis and Tammy Page. Senior Court include Ingrid Russell and Tondra Clark. Junior Court members are Wendy Lewis and Tera Taylor. Escorts for Homecoming were Michael McFarland, Jerry Williams, Paul Gaskins, and Decter Townsend. Assisting Mr. Morgan by carrying roses, sashes, and crownes were Veronica Royer, Daune Floud, Stephanie Beard, Leslie Swanner, Myra Hathcock, and Gregory Hathcock. All Representatives in the 1985 Home-

coming Festivities are as follows: Meshia Ridenhour-Derrick Brown, Melanie Clarck-Kevin Brown, Mary Kay Page-Rob Byrum, Suzie Britt-Jimmy Hays, Stephanie Freeman-Stephen Sellers, Tammy Page-Robbie Scull, Melva Gould-Warren Leak, Angie Davis-Orlando



Mr. Morgan and assistants ready to crown Queens and Court.

Lilly, Ingrid Russell-Cale Bowers, Tondra Clark-Efird Cato, Erinn Tyson-Gary Crump, Felicia Herold-Alvin Currie, Margaret Morgan-Kevin Gardner, Sarah Thomas-Joe Brooks, Shanta Hyatt-Stacy Atkins, Sabrina Brooks-Steve Wall, Pollyanne Russell-Chris Hunter, Melynee Morgan-Jamie Kimery, Lisa Harwood-Kyle Morton, Becky Coley-Billy Lisk, Staci Lambert-Mark Dunn, Michele Dennis-Ben Jolly, Jana Efird-Roge Brafford, Gretchen Ney-Mike McGowen, Tina Leak-JereMichael Steele, Keisha Blackmon-Chris Campbell, Kathy Gauding, Phillip Snuggs, Kipsy Helderman-Guy Harris, Tera Taylor-Tom Hudson, Lisa Smith-David Chester, Tonya Brooks-David Huneycutt, Traci Hatley-Wayne Pickler, Deedi Boger-Ray Surratt, Regina Hamilton-Tony Bemberton, Angie-Roach-Joe Talbert, Pam Rowland-L.C. Robbins, Jennifer Hunsucker-Mike Hogan, Cindy Lorch-Mike Furr, Shannon Blakely-Gregg Parker, Mariel Baucom-John Deere, Latasha Lilly-Dean Smith, Wendy Lewis-Statisticians.

A specil thanks is extended to Gary Moran who was the Homecoming announcer, and Edward Efird who put his time and effort into making the Homecoming decorations.

## **Morehead Nominees Announced**

#### By JULIE COCHRAN

Rob Byrum, Angie Davis, and Mark Elkin were selected as nominees to compete for the Morehead Scholarship at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

The basis of the John Motley Morehead Awards are evidence of moral force of character, capacities to lead and to take an interest in schoolmates, scholastic ability and extra-curricular attainments, and physicial vigor, as shown by participation in sports or in other ways.

Rob Byrum, son of The Reverend and Mrs. Phillip R. Byrum, is treasurer of the National Honor Society. He is also treasurer of the Junior Civitans. Rob is currently a member of the Monogram Club. As a very active member of Christ Episcopal Church, Rob is in the youth group and served as an acolyte for 10 years. Rob is very active in athletics at Albemarle Senior High. He played basketball for 2 years and ran track for 3 years. Rob has also played football for 4 years throughout his high school career. Rob is editor-in-chief for the school newspaper, *The Full Moon*.

Mark Elkin, vice president of the National Honor Society, is the son of Mr. and Mrs. Marvin W. Elkin. He is a member of the Math Contest team and of the History Club and contest team. Mark is a member of the Marching Jazz, and Concert bands. He played Varsity tennis his sophomore year and plans to play again this year. Mark lived and studied in Germany for one year as a Foreign Exchange Student.

Angie Davis, daughter of Mrs. Evelyn J. Davis and the late D.C. Davis, is a member of the Spanish National Honor Society and Foreign Language Club. She is presently the secretary of the National Honor Society. Angie is an active member of Mt. Zion Baptist Church where she is the Church pianist. She is in the youth group and serves as Sunday School secretary. Angie enjoys singing and playing the piano.

### **Elections Take New Form**



MOREHEAD NOMINEES: Angie Davis, Mark Elkin, and Rob Byrum

#### By JENNIFER MAIDEN

This year's Student Council elections were quite different from past years. Students were required to register to vote and used voting booths from the Stanly County Board of Elections. This gave the students a "hands on experience" with voting.

The Student Council officers for the 1985-86 year are President Alvin Currie, Vice-President Shawn Merriman, Secretary Lisa Russell, Treasurer Margaret Morgan.

The Student Council has already sponsored Free Fare, the homecoming dance, and they hope to provide many more entertaining festivities for the student body.

Mr. Blalock, who is the Student Council sponsor, said that the officers hope to have a very busy and successful year. Above: The 1985 S.G.A. Officers – Alvin Currie, Lisa Russell, Margaret Morton, and Shawn Merriman