Awards Presented In Men's Bowling League



LEAGUE CHAMPIONS — Central Warehouse team, left to right, includes Nathan Hicks, captain; Leonard Smith, French Mock, William Wilkerson, Kirkland Artis and Jack Galloway.



RUNNER-UP TEAM — Blanket Mill team, left to right, Ernest Pruitt, Bill Cochran, Marvin Wilson and Charles Frye. Elbridge Marlowe and Oliver Turner were not present for picture.



DIVISION "A" AWARDS — Trophy winners in Division "A" were, from eft, Perry Saunders, Rodney Hook, Bud Mangrum, Dan Squires, Charles Trye and Marvin Wilson.



DIVISION "B" AWARDS — Award winners in Division "B", were, from left, Henry Gover, Tommy Watford, Curtis Cochran, Lewis Stephens and Johnny Hudspeth. Dennis Hylton was not present for the picture.

Awards in the Fieldcrest Men's Evening League at the Eden Bowling Center were resented at the annual bowlers' linner Thursday evening, April 1, at the Bonanza steak house in Danville, Va.

A large number of the bowlers and their wives attended the linner at which the trophies were presented by Dan Squires of the Draper Sheeting Mill, the eague president.

The league champions, the Central Warehouse team, were presented individual trophies, plus two plaques, one from the league and another from the American Bowling Congress. The plaques will be put on display at the mill.

Members of the Blanket Mill eam, the runners-up for the eague championship were presented individual trophies.

Trophies were presented to putstanding bowlers in the eague and in the "A" and "B" divisions, plus several other awards.

For the league, trophies were awarded as follows: high average, Doug Shively, Bedspread Mill team, 184; second high average, Nathan Hicks, Central Warehouse team, 79; high scratch set, Elbridge MONDAY, APRIL 22, 1974



LEAGUE AWARDS — Recipients of league trophies were, left to right, John Bountempo, Ernest Pruitt and Nathan Hicks. Recipients not shown were Doug Shively, Elbridge Marlowe, Leon Wilson, George Kingston, Ed Anderson.

Marlowe, Blanket Mill team, 632; high handicap set, Leon Wilson, Bedspread Finishing Mill team, 702; high scratch game, Ernest Pruitt, Blanket Mill team, 242; high handicap game, John Bountempo, Mechanical Development team, 273.

The sportsmanship trophy went to George Kingston, of the Karastan Weave team who received a 3-1 player vote over his nearest competitor. Ed Anderson of the Accounts

Receivable team won a trophy from the league and a distinctive belt buckle from American Bowling Congress for being the most improved bowler, with a 16-pin improvement. Also, an award was presented to the General Offices team for special contribution to the league.

In the "A" division, awards were awarded as follows: high average, Charles Frye, Blanket Mill team, 177; second high average, Marvin Wilson, Blanket Mill team, 171; high



OFFICERS — League officers who were re-elected for another year, from left, were Sammy Macy, secretarytreasurer; Charles Frye, vice president; and Dan Squires, president.

scratch set, Rodney Hook, Industrial Engineering team, 621; high handicap set, Perry Saunders, Central Warehouse team, 697; high scratch game, Dan Squires, Sheeting Spinning team, 234; and high handicap game, Bud Mangrum, Sheeting Spinning team, 258.

Awards presented in the "B" Division were: high average, Henry Gover, Sheeting Mill team, 174; second high average, Curtis Cochran, Bedspread Mill team, 173; high scratch set,

Dennis Hylton, Bedspread Finishing team, 608; high handicap set, Johnny Hudspeth, Bedspread Mill team, 691; high scratch game, Lewis Stephens, Karastan Shop team, 238; high handicap game, Tommy Watford, Karastan Shop team, 261.

The following officers were unanimously re-elected: Dan Squires, president; Charles Frye, vice president; and Sammy Macy, secretary-treasurer.