





RUNNERS-UP — General Office Dames team members, runners-up for the league championship, shown from left to right, are Joye Wade, Ellen Moore, Debbie Dyer, Judy Benton, captain; and Carolyn Dance.

Awards Presented To Lady Bowlers

Members of the Fieldcrest Ladies Bowling League, Eden, held their annual awards banquet Wednesday evening, April 24, at the El Bethel Community Center.

Awards were presented to members of the championship team, the runners-up and to a number of outstanding players.

The Kara Loc team won the first half of the season's play and tied with the General Office Dames in the second half. In the second half roll-off, the General Office Dames won. Then, in the roll-off to determine the season's champions, the Kara Loc team defeated the General Office

Individual awards were presented to the players on the first-place and runner-up teams. In addition, the Kara Loc bowlers received championship patches from the Women's International Bowling Congress.

Outstanding bowler awards were presented as follows:

Ruth Shropshire, General Office Dames, high average, 166; Hilda Martin, Karastan Office team, second high average, 152; Judy Benton, General Office Dames, high game scratch, 232; Louella Hagood, Karastan Office team, high game handicap, 257; Valerie Smith, Kara Loc team, high set scratch, 572; and Delsie Hopkins, Kara Loc team, high set handicap, 656.

Ruth Maynor of the Karastan Office team, received a plaque as the most improved bowler, 22 pins. Louella Hagood, of the Karastan Office team, was awarded the sportsmanship

The awards were presented by three 1973-74 officers of the league, Clara Blackstock, president; Judy Henriques, vice president; and Lou Stophel, treasurer. Other officers in 1973-74 were Ruth Maynor, secretary; and Louella Hagood,

sergeant-at-arms. New officers elected for the coming season were: Judy Henriques, president; Lou Stophel, vice president; Jo Reid, secretary; and Judy Benton, treasurer.

In addition to the Kara Loc team and the General Office the following Dames, participated in the league:

Challengers - Nancy Chilton,

Peggy Justice, Patsy Kennon, Kathy Smathers, Carol Via, team captain, and Carolyn Austin.

Karastan Office — Beverly Law, Louella Hagood, sergeantat-arms of the league, Jo Reid, Hilda Martin, and Ruth Maynor, team captain and secretary of the league.

Liberators — Joye Hicks, Brenda Hampton, Marcel Hicks, Judy Lyons, Larnetta Garland, and Clara Blackstock, team captain and president of the league.

Razzle Dazzles - Iris Gravely, Judy Henriques, vice president of the league, Lou Stophel, treasurer of the league, Lois Lea, and Barbara Manns, team captain.



AWARD WINNERS - Recipients of trophies as outstanding bowlers in Various categories, shown left to right, are Judy Benton, Ruth Shropshire, at-arms; Lou Stophel, vice president; Clara Blackstock, outgoing presidents Valerie Smith, Louella Hagood, Delsie Hopkins and Hilda Martin.



OFFICERS - Judy Benton, treasurer; Louella Hagood, outgoing sergeantdent; Judy Henriques, president; Jo Reid, secretary.