

King, Higginsen, Walker and Smith

Sidney Poitier Lifelong Achievement Award Woodie King Jr. – Producer, director and founding director of the New Federal Theater in New York.

Larry Leon Hamlin Producer Award

Vy Higginsen – Trailblazer for black female stage producers and those in the broadcasting industry.

August Wilson Playwright Award

Celeste Bedford Walker – Playwright of shows like "Reunion in Bartersville" and "Once in a Wifetime." Lloyd Richards Director Award Ed Smith – Artistic Director of the Fort Worth, Texas-based Jubilee Theatre.



Living Legend Award André De Shields – actor, singer, dancer in productions like "The Full Monty" and "The Wiz."

Fatima Dike – Award winning South African playwright whose works include "The Return."

Paul Carter Harrison – Playwright and educator who wrote the Obie-winning "The Great MacDaddy."

Joan Lewis - Noted theater educator.

Robert Macbeth – Veteran stage and screen performer.

Barbara Montgomery – Actress best known for her role as Casseita Hetebrink on "Amen."

Juanita Moore – Screen legend who received an Oscar nomination for "Imitation of Life."



Melba Moore – Popular singer and Tony-winning actress.

Clarance (C.Lee) Turner – Acclaimed director and educator who elevated Prairie View A&M University's theater program to new heights.



Melba Moore

The 2009 National Black Theatre Festival officially starts at 5:30 p.m. on Monday, Aug. 3 with the Opening Night Gala at the Benton Convention Center. The occasion includes a star-studded awards banquet; a performance of "Don't Bother Me, I Can't Cope;" and a late-night Celebrity Reception at the Marriott Hotel. Tickets are \$251 per person. Tables of 10 are \$2,510.



Juanita Moore



hanze



Julie Dash

Outstanding Achievement In Film Julie Dash – Trailblazer for black female film directors with her debut movie, "Daughters of the Dust."

Outstanding Achievement In

Costume Design Reggie Ray – Noted designer and stylist who has worked with theater companies around the nation.

Outstanding Achievement In Lighting Design

Shirley Prendergast – In the history books as the first black woman to design lighting for a major Broadway production – 1973's "The River Niger."

Outstanding Achievement In Scenic Design

Felix Cochren – Striking designs include those for "Home," "Amen Corner" and "Inacent Black."

Theatre Longevity Award Berkeley Black Repertory Group – Founded in 1964 by Nora Vaughn as part of a church's drama department.

Special Recognition Award LaChanze – Actress/ singer best known for her Tony-winning role as Celie in Broadway's "The Color Purple."

Marvtastic Philanthropy Award Hanesbrands, Inc. - Winston-Salembased corporation whose brands include L'eggs, Bali, Hanes and Champion.

LaChanze

