

Dr. Whitaker crowns the 1982 Queen of Spring.

Yvonne Elliott crowned '82 Queen of Spring

By JENNIFER WICKER

A carnival, a performance by the stage band and choir, and free ice cream in Squirrel Park preceded the crowning of the 1982 Queen of Spring during annual Spring Festival activities held in mid-April.

Yvonne Faith Elliott representing Belk Hall was chosen queen, and Jill Marshall Waring representing Mixon Hall was chosen princess.

They were crowned by Dr. Bruce E. Whitaker, president of Chowan College.

The queen was escorted by Michael Dale Hertzig, and the princess by Tommy Lee Whitehead.

Members of the queen's court were, Cheryl-Lee Denise Hendrix representing Mixon Hall and escorted by Landrick O. Mc-Clain; Felicia Rosett Jones, representing Columns and escorted by Micheal Anthony Scott, and Teresa Cristina Pessoa, representing Jenkins Hall and escorted by Mark F. Sealey.

Members of the princess' court were, Marian Leigh George, representing Parker Hall and escorted by Troy Walker Pouchot; Sherri Lynn Ward, representing Jenkins Hall and escorted by Raymond Howell Ryals, and Mae Josephine Woodard, representing Columns and escorted by Michael Darin Rose.

Gregory T. Muzi was Master of cermonies, and music was provided by the Chowan Stage Band.

Music for the carnival was provided by the "Soundmasters", with booths ranging from the photo stand run by Columns fourth floor to a dunking tank sponsored by West Hall surrounding Squirrel Park.

Outstanding students are recognized

Peery Agee and Mary Parker received the Best All Around Student and Superior Citizenship Awards, respectively, at the annual Honors Assembly April 30 in Helms Center.

Agee starred in football and baseball for two years. Parker is the editor of the 1982 Chowanoka. Both are honor students.

The Merit Award was given Felix Futrell and the Order of the Silver Feather was bestowed on Yvonne Elliott, Rebecca Hinzman, John Odom, William Shelton and Frank Underwood.

Tanin Loytong was presented the International Student Scholarship Award.

Highest Academic Average

In addition to the citizenship award, Parker attained the highest scholarship average among sophomores. Four freshmen, Gail Clyburn, Laura Farrenkopf, Augustas Kefalas and Jill Waring, tied for highest freshman honors.

The National Honors Institute scholarship was awarded to Blake Cromer.

The Department of Graphic Communications awards to outstanding graduates were awarded to Sarah Jarratt and Darrell Steen, printing technology; Randolph Coleman, photography, and Jennifer Wicker, newswriting. Chris Rose was named outstanding sophomore in Art.

The Department of Business academic award went to John Harris. Charles E. Daniels won the Mary E. Wood Science Award. The Mary Pierce Music Scholarship went to David Staudt.

Helen Gardner won the day student scholarship award, and the Alpha Pi Epsilon scholarship award was presented to Mary Lou Drake.

Outstanding in Drama

Drama awards were given to Bernard Ingram for performance and Jeff Smith for technical aspects.

Kevin Banks and Mollie Hopkins were named outstanding male and female athlete.

The Exchange Club athletic scholarship was given to Ellis Woods and the Joseph Lee Parker Scholarship for physical fitness to Anthony Ferebee.

Seventh Floor Parker won the intramural team championship for men and Fourth Floor Columns for women.

Fourth Floor Columns received the President's Cup.

Laura L. Farrenkopf was announced as chief commencement marshal with Wanda Bishop, Gail Clyburn, Augustas Kefalas, Stanley Vaughan and Jill Waring marshals.





Annual Science-Math day observed

Some 450 students and 20 faculty members from 13 area high schools enjoyed the many demonstrations, exhibits, experiments and lectures presented during the annual Mathematics and Science Day in Carrie Savage Camp Hall. High schools with students and teachers in attendance were Murfreesbor Ahoskie, Northeast Academ: Gates County, Gumberry, Camd ounty, Southeast Halifax, Gaston, pemarle, Sutfolk Christian, Sout ampton, and Southampton Academy.