The Carolina Journal

The Student Newspaper of the University of North Carolina at Charlotte

Volume XIV, Number 43

Charlotte, North Carolina

Students recognized in Awards Program

By Kathy Espin
Thursday night, around 40 students and seven campus organizations received special recoginition at held in McKnight Lecture Hall.

District Court Judge Larry Thomas Black, a part-time criminal justice in-



What a weekend. Students celebrated their last fling before exams at Jam Up '79. Story and photos on page 4.

ew officers installed in legislative meeting

By Bill Peschel

Karen Popp was sworn in as student body president the day after the Student Superor Court lifted the injunction against the installation of all elected officers. The swearing-in took place at a special meeting of the Student Legislature Thursday.

Also installed were legislators, justices of the court, University Program Board Chairperson Kenny Partin and Carolina Journal Editor Kathy Espin.

In her inaugural address, UNCC's first female student body president, declared "a beginning of a new era. She said to be a good president she 'needs everyone's help.'

"I need your input, I need your ideas and I need your constructive criticism. Each of us must work together in harmony. A unity is formed within our Student Association, between the old and new members, working together for the student body. I have a high amount of confidence we can get things done this

She ended her address by naming Kevin Ashley her attorney general and Betsy Cross as student advocate.

Speaking for the last time as student body president, Larry Springs outlined several things he wanted the legislature to get involved in. His first item, and one he says plagued him throughout his administration, was the "imbalance of power" between the three branches of the government. A "more equitable type of balance of power' could be achieved, he said, by letting the president choose the treasurer and the legislature confirm the appointment. Now the body chooses and confirms candidates for treasurer.

Springs also talked about the legislature getting involved in aiding minorities, women, foreign and handicapped students on campus. He wanted the body to become more politically active in cases such as the Wilmington 10 and the Charlotte 3. "The student government has never focused in on this issue," he said. He pointed out three of the 13 are former UNCC students.

Springs promised to work with student government in the future and closed his speech with a quote from Marcus Garvey, "Look for me in a whirlwind.'

Popp agreed with much of what Springs said, but reserved judgement on any possible imbalance between the branches. "I would have to do some research first," she said. She called Springs a "valuable resource" and will probably work with him.

After the speeches, the body got down to some business. Barry Wise was approved by the legislature to be student body treasurer after giving a hazy set of responses as to his qualifications for the job. Despite repeated questions, Wise, who is an accounting major, never went beyond saying he had "prior experience" in bookkeeping. He was approved for the post by the Ways and Means Committee and endorsed by incumbent treasurer, Ward Simmons, during two legislature meetings.

structor, delivered the keynote address on leadership. Chancellor E.K. Fretwell welcomed the recipients and their families and friends.

Frank Joseph, assistant dean of students, served as master of ceremonies, and Vice Chancellor of Student Affairs Douglas M. Orr Jr., along with Dean of Students Chuck Lynch introduced the presenters of the awards.

The Society of 49, a campus honorary society created for the purpose of recognizing outstanding leadership and achievement among junior and senior students, tapped 25 new members. The new members of the society are: Kevin Ashley, Sharon Baker, Matthew Barhydt, Lynne Black, Reginald Blackmon, Sharon Byrams, Mac Cochrane, Judith Collora, Gary Davis, Gregory Eller, Suzanne Fritts, Esther Gunn, David Henderson, Reginald Irby, Yvette Miller, Anne Monk, Alexis Pearce, Karen Popp, Michael Shields, Edwin Simpson, Ray Swagerty, Donald Turbyfill, Susan Wells, Bill Whittaker and Linda Williams.

The Society of 49 also named Sharon Byrams as the recipient of the Cindy Holmes Aufard which honors an outstanding member of the socie-

ty.
The Bill Mitchell Award, given annually to two members of the graduating class who have shown outstanding qualities of scholarship and leadership and maintained an attitude of unselfish interest in the welfare of their fellow students and the university as a whole, was presented to Nancy Davis and Clayton DeCamillis. Mitchell, who attended the awards ceremony, died the

deck. More about its history on page 3.

next morning (see related story).

Student Association awards were given to the following. The individual media award was given to Nancy Davis, while the Carolina Journal won the organizational media award for the second consecutive year. Larry Springs received the Student Government Award and Karen Popp won the Student Legislature Humanitarian Award. The Clubs and Organizations Award was given to two organizations, Sigma Phi Epsilon and Lambda Chi Alpha fraternities.

A new award was added this year to recognize outstanding courage and strength displayed in overcoming physical impairment. The award, the James A. Scott Award, was given to Scott in its initial year.

Sharon Stevenson won the Alpha Kappa Psi Scholarship Award; Karen Popp the Alumni Association Merit Scholarship Award; Mary Ellen Scully the Charlotte Panhellenic Award, and Randy Meisner the Chi Phi Scholarship Award.

Peggy Partin and James Don Carter were presented the Education Award; Thelma Freeze and Robin Yeager received the Francis M. Fitzgerald Award, and the Greek Woman of the Year awards were presented to Lisa Ann Moore (sophomore), Anne Monk (junior), Debbie Horton (senior) and Susan Blair (overall).

The Inter-Fraternity Council Scholarship Award was given to Alpha Sigma Phi; the McEniry Award to Jackie Ogburn; the United Way Award to Delta Zeta (sorority) and Holshouser Hall (general organization), and the Student Service Award to Joel Gilland.

