

Vol. XXVII

DECEMBER 15, 1923 Entered as second class matter at the post office at RICHMOND, VA. Subscription, \$2.00 per year. Number 2

and Dunphy with 68-69-70-71-

278. Then followed French

and Parson, George Fothering-

ham and M. D. Stevenson, and

Joe Capello and Francis T.

Keating, all of whom wound

After the first round and

with the exception of Johnny

Farrell and Harry Block, who

scored a brilliant 69 on their

first outing, the race was al-

ways between the above named

pairs. Farrell and Block

slumped to a 72 on the second round and were practically

eliminated from contention.

Capello and Keating, and Diegel and Dunphy were the

outstanding lights of the first

18 holes, each of these teams

scoring 68, but this was over-

up in a triple tie, at 281.

Amateur-Professional Best-Ball Tournament

HE fourth annual Amateur - Professional Best-Ball tournament, played on Thursday and Friday, November 15-16, and won by Cyril Walker and his amateur partner, H. K. B. Davis, brought togeher a strong and well balanced field of golters from all parts of the country. Among the well-known amateurs taking part in the event, besides Davis, were F. C Newton, holder of the North and South title; C. J. Dunphy, of Washington; C. W. Deibel of Youngstown; F. M. Laxton, of Charlotte, winner of the North and South Carolina championship the past two years, and Donald Parson, John D. Chapman, Francis T.



High Lights in the Amateur-Pro Event. They are: Leo Diegel, Harry Hampton, C. W. Deibel and C. J. Dunphy. Cyril Walker and his partner, the winners, were a trifle shy and succeeded in evading the camera lense.

Keating and Howard G. Phillips, a quartet of Pinehurst regulars who have been taking pot shots at he President's trophy in Pinehurst tournaments for a number of years.

The thirty-odd professionals included a number who have figured prominently in recent national tournaments. Among these were Emmet French, of Youngstown and Southern Pines who chalked up a world's record of 274 for 72 holes in the Ohio Open a year ago; Harry Hampton, winner of the event last season; Pat Doyle, Leo Diegel, Johnny Farrell, Tom Boyd, Cyril Walker and a number of others of the first flight.

The interest taken in the Club Trophy contest, limited to pairs entered from the same club, was evidenced by the number and quality of the teams that had a try for a leg on the trophy. Four clubs now hold a leg on this coveted prize, and the club that eventually annexes a third and deciding leg on it will have won something to be proud of.

Douglas Edgar and Perry Adair, of the Druid Hills Club, won the first leg in 1920, the year this tournament was inaugurated. Fred McLeod and Guy M. Standifer, of the Columbia Club, won the club race the second year, and last year it was won by Johnny Farrell and Harold Block, of the Quaker Ridge Club. This year the trophy passed into the temporary possession of the Friendship Golf Club as a result of the united efforts of Leo Diegel and Chris. J. Dunphy, who incidentally finished third in the tournament proper.

Walker and Davis led the field by a margin of two strokes and won a well deserved victory, plus \$500 to Walker and the handsome major trophy to Davis, with a total of 69-65-71-68-273 for the 72 holes. Following close on the heels of the leaders were Hampton and Deibel with 70-67-71-67-275, three strokes ahead of Diegel shadowed somewhat and gave Walker and Davis, the ultimate winners, a commanding lead when they breezed over the Number 3 course in 65 on their second trip around. Hampton and Deibel chalked up a 67 on this trip; Diegel and Dunphy 69; French and Parson 72, and Capello and Keating 70, and at the end of the first 36 holes the leaders stood as follows:

CO MOTO THE TERRETE CLOCK NO CONSTITUT
Walker and Davis
Hampton and Deibel
Diegel and Dunphy
Capello and Keating
Farrell and Block 69-72-138

Diegel and Dunphy crawled a stroke nearer the leaders on the third round, and a snappy 68 by French and Parson put that team very much in the running again, but with the exception of Hampton and Deibel, who wound up with a 67, all of the contenders slumped in the fourth and deciding round while Walker and Davis held tenaciously to their remarkable early game and finished the last 18 holes in 68 for a total of 273 and the first money and trophy. The field finished as follows:

Professionals named first

roressionars named first.		
Cyril Walker and H. K. B. Davis	69-65-71-68-273	
Harry Hampton and C. W. Deibel		
Leo Diegel and C. J. Dunphy		
Emmet French and Donald Parson		
George Fotheringham and M. D. Stevenson	72-69-69-71-281	
Joe Cappello and Francis T. Keating		
Johnny Farrell and H. Block	. 69-72-72-70-283	
Tom Boyd and H. G. Phillips	.71-72-72-72-287	
C. L. Mothersele and John D. Chapman		