GOP Sheriff

Davie County Republicans chose Joe Smith of Mocksville as their candidate for Sheriff of Davie County in the November elections.

They also elected their two incumbent county com-missioners.....John Bailey and Jerry Swicegood as candidates to the county's governing board.

Joe Smith, a former deputy, carried 11 of 12 precincts as he amassed 1313 votes to 826 for George Smith. Clarksville, his home precinct gave George Smith 214 votes to 70 for Joe Smith. However, it was a different story in the precincts:

Farmington went over-whelmingly for Joe Smith, 171 to 39, as did Fulton 116 to 47.

Jerry Swicegood led the ticket with 1095 votes in the G. O. P. commissioner race. John Bailey was a close second with 1071 votes.

Charlie Brown, Jr., had 796 votes; William H. Blackwelder, 481; Norman T. Smith, 425; ard Abner Steele 138.

Democratic Sheriff

Davie County Democrats nominated Grimes Hancock for sheriff in a close vote Saturday. Hancock received 892 votes to 730 for Robert O. Kiger.

Local Democrats nominated Lester Blackwelder and James A. Eaton as candidates for county com-missioner. Blackwelder received 1098 votes and Eaton, 964. Edgar Cartner received 591

For the court of appeals, Davie favored Fred Hedrick of Statesville over Harry C. Martin of Asheville. In Davie Hedrick received 831 votes to 700 for Martin. Hedrick was also tops in the state wide voting.

Bd. Of Education

Mrs. Victor L. Andrews was re-elected to her second sixyear term on the Davie County Board of Education last Saturday.

Davie voters also chose Joe Murphy of Mocksville for the other six-year term.

Mrs. Lib Anderson of Fork was elected to the four-year term.

Mrs. Andrews polled 2351 votes to lead the voting for the board of education. Murphy polled 1291 votes; Bill Bo ven polled 1177 votes; Bennie Boger, 963; and william R. Gales, 961.

Mrs. Anderson polled 1755 votes for the four year term; Daniel L. Smith polled 893 votes, and Calvin L. Jones

polled 683. Mrs. Anderson will take office immediately filling out the unexpired term of the late Claude Hicks. This seat on the board has been vacant for the past three months following the resignation of John M. Barber who assumed the post of county

Mr. Murphy will take office on April 1, 1970, following the expiration of the term now being served by George Shutt.

District 22 Judge

John Brock of Davie County was the leading vote getter last Saturday as he was nominated by the Republicans of the 22nd Judicial District to seek one of the four district judgeships. Brock polled 4168 votes to 3275 for Arthur Beckham, who was

second. In addition to Brock and

Beckham, W. Lindsay Stafford had 2903 votes, followed by Robert Bryant with 2874. The low man was Paul Swanson with 2702 votes.

The Republican nominee will face the following Democratic nominees for the four district judgeship offices this fall:

Hubert Olive, Jr., and Robert E. Hughes of Davidson County; C. H. Dearman and Preston Cornelius of Iredell County.

The county by county vote was as follows:

Brock, 1896; Davie: Beckham, 1,014; Bryant, 1,057; Stafford, 895; Swanson, 897.

Davidson: Brock, 1479; Beckham, 1410; Bryant, 1166; Stafford, 1367; Swanson, 1232. Alexander: Brock, 312; Beckham, 261; Bryant, 287;

Stafford, 313; Swanson, 265. Brock, 481; Iredell: Beckham, 590; Bryant, 364; Stafford, 330; Swanson, 308.

State Senate

Donald Bingham of Davie County was nominated in the Republican Primary last Saturday to the State Senate by the 25th District.

Bingham received 6000 votes to 2172 for Murray H. Coffey, Jr., of Blowing Rock. Bingham carried every county with the exception of Watauga, the home county of Coffey, which he lost by a narrow margin.

The vote county by county for this office is as follows:

12 precircts; Davie: Bingham, 1857; Murray Co.fey,

Watauga: 18 precincts; Bingham, 626; Coffey, 716. 31 precircts; Wilkes:

Bingham, 1984; Coffey, 771. Yadkin: 13 precincts; Bingham, 1533; Coffey, 526.

74 precincts; Totals: Bingham, 6000; Coffey, 2172.

THANK

ol. Wednesday, May 6, 1970-7

Fellow citizens of **Davie County for your** confidence and support.

COCA-

I will strive at all times to carry out your wishes and work with the other board members to provide our children with one of the best educational systems in the state.

MRS. VICTOR L. ANDREWS, JR.



LUX LIQUID

SWAN LIQUID

52°