Area honor rolls released by schools-

William E. Byrum, principal of Perquimans County High School, has announced the following list of students as having made the honor roll for the third six-weeks grading period.

A-Honor Roll: Lori Ann Gard, Tammy Lane Brock Winslow, David Winslow, Andrea Spivey, Elmer boyce, Jarrod Baccus, Brad Hurdle, Maria Trent, Karen Boyce, David Cain, Sonny Larabee, Teresa

Schallock, Thomissa Winslow and Alice White.

A-B Honor Roll: Deanne Ashley, Scott Dizon, Marlo Howell, Keith Wood, Tim Phthisic, Marshall Copeland, Lisa Schultheiss, Sheila Harrel, Jill Sims, Brian Williamson, Bonnie Harris, Belinda Winslow. Misty Kuno, Sharla Tilley, Chad Winslow, Demtria Felton and Eddie Lassiter.

Valerie Vaughn, Kenneth Perry,

Melissa Corprew, Katie White, Tim Bryant, Sheri Lane, Dannie Gray, Janice Baker, Lisa Copeland, Ivie Elliott, Kathy Smith, Edward Forbes, Karen Tice, Marisa Stevenson, Barbara Nixon and Suzanne Winslow.

James Winslow, Anglea Spivey, Katie Peal, Jeff Cain, Cindy Pierce, Bruce White, Tami Dizon, Patricia Jennings, Michelle Rue, Kathy

Wood, Mary Margaret White, Carol Thomas Danelle Gregory, Ben Durant, Cindy Lovell and Gina Stevenson.

Union School principal Gary Stubbins has announced the honor roll students for the third six weeks marking period.

Students earning all "A's" are: Mary Cardwell, Chip Chappell, Lee Cooper, James Gard, Casey Keyser,

Jennifer Lewis, Matt Matthews, Traci Mitchell, Derrick Rogers,

Paula Stallings, Wendy Stallings, Christy Waters and Sarah Winslow.

"A-B honor roll students are: Dianna Baccus, Terri Baker, Dawn

Benton, Shirley Besso, Traci Brown, Damion Burke, Tim Byrum, Lisa Carter, Lori Carter, Scott Chappell, Tracy Chappell, Helen Cohee, Deborah Coston, Jacki Dail and Kristie Dail.

Jimmy Darnell, Shelton Davenport, Georgette Drozdowski, Jennifer Drozdowski, Jermaine Farrow, Stacey Ferrell, Donna Harrell, Joanna Haskett, Calvin Hobbs, Danny Hollowell, Tanya Howell, Shellie Hurdle and Amanda Kornegay

Jennifer Kraft, Steven Langley, Amy Lavezzo, Janette Lawson, Floyd Layden, Yvette Leigh, Cornelius Mack, Eddie Midgett, Tony Miller, Chad Nixon, Ryan Overton, Bert Palis, Bret Palis, Kendall Pierce and Becky Rayburn.

Lisa Rennie, Valerie Rogerson, Jeff Rohrer, Billy Sadler, Aaron

Saunders, Derek Scaff, Brian Seay, Tara Skinner, Mary Stallings, Tanya Trueblood, Letitia Turner, Tisha

Turner, Stephanie Wall, Sharon Whidbee, Anita White, Lori White, Rose White, Travis White and Tammie Willetts.

Jason Williamson, Josie Wills, Rob Winslow, Catina Wood and Keith Wood. Chris Evans also made the AB honor roll for the second six weeks.

Perquimans to host quiz bowl The Pettigrew Regional 1984 Quiz

bowl has been set for Thursday, February 16, at 10:00 a.m. in Hertford at Perquimans High School Auditorium.

This is the 3rd year that the Pettigrew Rgion has participated.

Quiz bowl began in 1978 as an academic competition involving high schools in North Carolina. In the Quiz Bowl, local high schools, both public and private, compete for local, district and state championships.

Local and district bowls are run by local public library systems under the guidance of the N.C. State Library. Finals are administered by the State Library Quiz Bowl Committee which is made up of public librarians.

Quiz Bowl competition pits teams of four members each against each other in three rounds of questioning. In rounds one and two, each person on a team has five seconds to answer the questions which are put to him/her by the moderator.

In round three where consultation is allowed, the team has ten seconds to respond

Quiz Bowl gives the local public library system a chance to interact with the community's students and teachers; cooperation between the public library and schools is fostered.

It also gives the academic achievers in our schools recognition that is often only accorded to student athletes.

It is exciting and challenging for these teams to have an opportunity to become the State Champions of North Carolina.

Creswell High School, Columbia High School, John A. Holmes, Plymouth High School and Perquimans High School have already chosen their teams and are preparing for the matches.

The public is invited; come out and support your local school. Root for the "Quiz Kids."

Local residents participate in C.O.A. volunteer program

A new approach to the problem of increasing the number of Adult Basic Education (ABE) students will be made by College of The Albemarle. The college will conduct a day-long workshop, beginning at 9 a.m. Saturday, February 4, to train a core group of 43 volunteer recruiters from the seven counties it serves.

"This is the first time that volunteers have been trained to assist with the problem of adult illiteracy," college ABE director Douglas Sawyer said. "Our project will serve as a model for other community and technical colleges in the state to use in establishing ABE

There are approximately 26,000 grade education, Sawyer said.

Sawyer explained that recruiting

STARTS FRIDAY! UNCOMMON Rated I VALOR 7:10 Show Times 9:15

However, the director believes that creating the volunteer network will provide the solution to the problem. As it is intended, core volunteers who receive their training Saturday will recruit both students and other volunteers in their home counties.

He said it is expected that new recruiters will be developed from the ranks of the ABE students, themselves, to constantly enlarge the volunteer network.

The state department of community colleges has endorsed the concept, Sawyer said, and several DCC officials and other community college adminstrators will help conduct the weekend training program. Participants include: Dr. J. Parker Chesson Jr., COA president; Nancy Gay, DCC professional development institute coordinator; Clair Reese-Glore. Sandhills Community College public information officer and ABE instructor; Cynthia Lewis, ABE recruiter counselor at Guilford Technical Community College; and Dr. Austin Conners, assistant director of the Governor's Office for Citizens' Affairs

Volunteers participating from Perquimans County include Gladys Hall, Teri Copeland, Joyce Felton, Henry Felton, Mary Bryant, Estelle



Riddick wins National Award

The United States Achievement Academy announced today that Lynnette Riddick has been named a 1984 United States National Award winner in Physical Education.

Riddick will appear in the United States Achievement Academy Official Yearbook, published nationally.

The Academy selects USAA

interest and aptitude, leadership qualities, responsiblity, eathusiasm, motivation to learn and improve, citizenship, attitude and cooperative spirit, dependability and recom-