Volume XIV-R7

HEVILLE, NORTH CAROLINA, MAY, 1961

NUMBER 7

#### ASHEVILLE-BILTMORE COLLEGE

#### A-B COLLEGE COMMENCEMENT TO BE JUNE 4

Asheville-Biltmore College will observe its 33rd Commencement in Seely Hall, Sunday, June 4, at 3:00 p.m.

The principal speaker will be Mr. J. Gerald Cowan who recently retired from Wachovia Bank & Trust Company as Senior Vice-President. He also served on the State Board of Education for several years and was recently elected to the A-B College Board of Trustees.

Student Speaker this year will be

Miss Nelda Clodfelter.

Thirty-one students will receive diplomas. Charles Robert Cosgrove and Robert Lee Evans completed requirements for graduation January 26. Students completing requirements before June 4 are: Ralph Bartlett, Michael F. Brown, Nelda Clodfelter, George England, Nancy Kennedy, Richard Lamb, Mrs. Catherine Libby, Mary M. McCall, Phil McKinney, Robert Martin, Jane Pinkerton, James Reagan, William Rogers, Ralph William Russell, Joyce Sandlin, Judy Scruggs, William F. Sentelle, Rachel Smathers, Carol Stradley, Francis Wilson, Jim Woody, and Charles H. Wright, Jr.

Those completing requirements August 25 are: Glenda Andrews, David Bryson, Chester Clark, Aksel Kask, Ernie Miller,

Perry Tomlin, and Pat Wooten.

One Year Secretarial Science Certificates will be presented to Phyllis Puchanan, Judy Cathcart, and Brenda Pacione.

Marshalls this year will be Allen Wight, Chief, Phyllis Hampton, Charles W. Smith, John Rhinehardt, Howard Williams, Ann Winters, and Nancy Jolly.

The Commencement Committee is in charge of all the arrangements. Mr. Owen is Chairman and committee members are Miss Miller, Mrs. Serota and Col. McMillin.

# PHI THETTA KAPPA ELECTS OFFICERS

Wanda Parkhurst was elected to succeed Richard Lamb as President of Phi Thetta Kappa in a meeting held on May 17 at Bailey's Cafeteria. Phyllis Hampton was elected Vice-President and Mickey Schandler was elected Secretary-Treasurer.

Plans were discussed for the induction of new members next year. Mrs. Emily Eustis is faculty advisor for the A-B Chapter of Phi Thetta Kappa.

## NOTICE TO SOPHOMORES

There will be two rehearsals for Commencement Exercises, one on June 2 at 1:00 p.m. and one on June 3 at 1:00 p.m. All who expect to participate in the graduation must attend both rehearsals.

### A-B RECEIVES TWO NEW STAFF MEMBERS

In September, Asheville-Biltmore will welcome two new members to the staff. Mrs. Marguerite Vaillancourt, 18 Pheasant Drive, will join the staff as a French instructor, and Dr. Peggy W. Alley, 177 Chiles Avenue will become head of the Science Department.

Now an American citizen, Mrs. Vaillancourt was born in Foix, France and lived in France and French Morocco until 1946 when she came to the U.S. She pursued undergraduate and graduate

br. Peggy Alley will do instructional

work in the field of chemistry.

She is a native of Tennessee and attended the University of Georgia where she was awarded the B. S. degree with a major in chemistry in 1953. In 1957, the University of Tennessee conferred upon her the Doctor of Philosophy degree with a major in organic chemistry.

While at the University of Tennessee, Dr. Alley served as graduate assistant and as instructor in chemistry. From September, 1955 to August, 1957, she held the Eli Lilly Fellowship in organic chemistry. From January, 1958, to June, 1959, Dr. Alley was a Post-doctoral

Fellow at the University of Tennessee.
We are happy to have these additions to the staff here at A-B and we hope they will enjoy teaching at A-B.

### MASQUERS HOLDS ANNUAL INITIATION

For those people who have taken part in any dramatic presentation this year, the Masquers organization held its annual initiation and dinner Saturday night, May 20, in the parrish hall of St. Mary's Episcopal Church. Initiation for those students eligible for Delta Psi Omega, on grounds of outstanding achievement in drama were: Nancy Jolly, Howard Williams, John Rhinehardt, Margaret Eskridge, Charles Wright, and Pat Alexander. Those persons initiated into Masquers were: David Ellis, Judy Scruggs, Mrs. Catherine Libby, and Ernie Miller.

The formal part of the initiation was conducted by Miss Flora McGhee, drama Director, and Jane and Steve Pinkerton, club officers. Mrs. Emily Eustis was given an honorary membership in Delta Psi Omega in appreciation for her work with the Drama Department. Special guests included several alumni, and Dean and Mrs. Parsons.

A complete supper was served, after which the initiates presented several (Continued on Page 2)