Now Is The Time For All Good Men

The Clarion

To Come To The Aid Of Their Unused Books!

BREVARD COLLEGE, BREVARD, N. C., MAY 19, 1967

Number 27

Bishop Hunt Dedicates Library And Jones' Portico

Officers. Installed

The last Chapel program of the year is the installation of officers of the various clubs on

SGA officers led the way with "Beaver" Hall, president, Roger Jones, vice - president; Kay Welsh, sec.; and Diane Ritchie, social chairman.

The president of Christian Council, a group composed of the leaders of the religious organizations, is Lynn Horry.
WESMINSTER

Jeannie Selleck, president, and Cindy Robinson, vice-president, were chosen as leaders for next year. The purpose of this religiously orientated group for Presbyterians is to strengthen the fellowship among stud-

KAPPA CHI

Kappa Chi, a group of people planning to go into church work, will be led by Jane Kim-

The president of MSM is Lynn Hurley. The other officers are vice-pres., Brenda Rollins, and sec., Sue Pilarski. This Methodist group is open to all students.

NEWMAN

A new club, the Newman Club for Catholic students, will be under the leadership of Mark Hatchett.

HOUSE COUNCILS

The House Councils also installed their presidents at the chapel service.

Beam Hall officers are as follows: President a- Cathy Wayart, V.P. - Scarlett Estridge, sec. - Jackie Lawing, parlimentarian, Minnie Loyd, and fire marshal - Dathy Davis.

Danny Denton was elected to lead Green Hall in the coming year. The other officers are secretary.

The president of Jones Hall is to be Jeannie Selleck. Anne Sessions as v.p., Helen Lewis as secretary, Pat McCorkle as socia chairman, Anne Mizelle as parlimentarian, and Linda Vanderzeit as fire marshal will aid her in the coming year.

Taylor Hall will be led by David Mullis assisted by Tony Felthouse, vice-president, and

Phil Harris, secretary PHI THETA KAPPA

Johnny Tinsley, president; Dennis Carrick, v.p.; Sharon Harris, secretary, and Susan Carel historian were elected as officers of PTK.

DAY STUDENTS

Officers were also elected by the Day Students. Jimmy Alderman, president, and Janice Oates, v.p., will lead this group, whose purpose is to make it easier for town students to become an integral part of the

BUSINESS CLUB This club, which prepares

Zumstein Wins Scholarship

Nathaniel Zumstein, a Brevard College music major, was awarded a six and one - half week full scholarship to the Brevard Music Center starting on July

The scholarship given by J. P. Stevens, Inc., is not the first for Nathaniel since he attended the Center in 1965 and 1966 under various scholarships. thaniel, who played with the Asheville Symphony this past winter, won the scholarship over thirteen others for his performance in piano and violin at the East Henderson High

SGA Leaders For '67-'68 Are Elected

On Wednesday, May 11, the Student Government Association elections were held. Quality, not quantity was presented on the ballot, which had only five nominees to fill four offices. The only office with opposing candidates was that of secretary - treasurer.

The results of the elections assures Brevard College of a fine slate of student leadership for the coming year. The SGA officers for next year are President, Steve "Beaver" Hall; Vice - President, Roger Jones; Secretary - Treasurer, Kay Welsh; and Social Chairman, Diane Richie.

Also, on the same ballot, the students voted to retain the school mascot name, the Tor-Dave Cook, veep, and Dave Fus- nadoes. A recent campus movement of opposition to the school name had hoped to overthrow the reigning Tornadoes and substitute another name. On the ballot were such names as Bruins, Badgers, Trojans, Cougar,s and Lobos. However, according to student opinion, the tradition of the "unbeatable Tornadoes" was upheld.

> students to enter the business world, will be headed by Susan Collins. Working with her will be Becky Miller, v.p., and Jackie Moore, secretary

SOCIAL CLUBS

The president of the CLIOS is Mike Fagan, the EUTERPS is Holly Williams, the DEL-PHIANS, Fred Nesson, and the NEMOS, Brenda Wyke. These clubs band together to provide some of the social life on cam-

Other club presidents are ALPHA BETA GAMMA - Malcom Carsten, BIG SISTERS—Turn to Page Three



MR. HENRY McDONALD, college architect, presents library keys to Mrs. Craig, representative of the Library Committee of the Trustees.

Big Sisters Tapped

The Big Sisters for 1967-68 were tapped Wednesday, May 10, preceding the chapel service. They are as follows:

Sandra Atkins Susan Cazel Scarlett Estridge Sharon Harris Joy Hopper Lynn Horrey Pat Hough Jackie Lawing

Helen Lewis Becky Miller anis Moore Jane Morton Linda Offutt Jo Ann Pace Patti Page Sharon Parker Diane Ritchie Debbi Robinson Jeannie Selleck

-Turn to Page Two

Architect Presents Keys To Mrs. Craig

new James Addison Jones Library, designed by Mr. Henry C. McDonald, was dedicated, May 11, during the annual two - day Trustee meeting. At the same time, the portico of the Annabel Jones Dormitory was also dedicated.

The ensemble, directed by Miss Virginia Tillotson, began the program by playing "Second Suite in F for Military Band." Mr. C. Edward Roy, College Chaplain, gave the invocation and the glee club sany "Lord, Thou Art Mighty."

The chairman of the Library Committee, Mr. Louis Miles, gave the prayer after which the ensemble played "America, the Beautiful."

Bishop Earl G. Hunt, Jr., Bishop in the Charlotte area, dedicated the new facilities.

Mr. McDonald then presented the keys to the library to Miss Marion Craig, representatives of the Library Committee of the Board of Trustees.

A tribute was paid to the Jones family by Dr. James W. Fowler, Jr., Executive Director of the Western North Carolina Conference College Coordinating Council. He gave a short biography of the family starting with the honoree and going on to his son and daughter-in-law, Edwin and Annabel Jones.

The last official duty of the 1966 - 67 marshals was to usher at this ceremony. Linda Davis, chief, Wendy Sheridan, Janet New, Cindy Senn, and Jenny Munro did so while Julie Rut--Turn to Page Two



"BEAVER" HALL campaigned for the presidential election, and it paid off. He will lead SGA and Brevard College 1967-68.