

Sybil Dodson, center, and Dean Clara Wood, right, congratulate the recipients of the new Mary Elizabeth and G. Scott Francis Community Service Scholarship for freshmen. At left, Thomas Smith was runnerup, and Burney Mack, second from left, was the \$500 winner.

President Greer congratulates Eric Daniel Chason for receiving the Freshman Scholar Award (along with Russell Edward Knights, absent at the time of picture).

idents cited at Honors Day

Fish and Sports Editor John Wellenhofer. All four also received the le new Higgins Scholarships, made g possible this year by a grant from Tom Higgins, long-time Charlotte Observer motorsports writer and former Clarion reporter from the '50s.

The Commuter Student Association, represented by Burney Mack and Edward Jones, cited their advisor Dr. Bob Glesener, for his support.

The Tornado Club's annual citation for school spirit went to devoted BC fan John Kennedy.

The Admissions Office named new officers for the Student Ambassadors. The are: President, Derrick Briggs; Vice President, Ben Hudson; Sophomore Representative, Dino Locklear; and Secretary-Treasurer, Lori Babb.

The Richard Adams Memorial Award for the most outstanding student ambassadors for this year went to Ben Hudson and Kristi Davis.

Faculty Awards

Dean of the College Dr. Clara Wood also announced a host of new awards for faculty.

The Evelyn Bunch Award for last year went to Dr. Charles Teague. This year's award went to Virginia Tillotson. Bunch, a former BC Trustee, was interested in faculty who paid particular attention to the "average" student.

Dr. Larry Whatley received the es citation as the College's first-ever Composer-in-Residence in recognition of his long work at composing, and in particular several pieces for the BC Concert Band. Most recently, Whatley has been involved in high-tech computerized composing.

Ŋ.

al

n-

31

d

8

Anita Bryant received the Mary J. and Henry C. Sprinkle Award for Faculty

Development which will enable her to attend a major national conference in her field of microchemistry.

In addition, Steve Martin and Patricia Swafford received \$2,000 Presidential Awards in recognition of their excellence in innovations in teaching. The award will enable them to redesign their particular courses.

And finally, students participating in Project Winners, this year and last, were cited. Also, the Who's Who students were recognized. And the Honor Roll and Dean's List were listed. Also, this year's RAs were recognized and received certificates of appreciation.



Steve Kelly right, makes Fine Arts Division awards, to 1-r, Andrew Rogelberg, Anita Cocks, P.L. Malcolm, Gray Hawks and Danny Fogle.



the students are Virginia Peavey, Joyea Warren, Loke Kue and Dale Wicker. The new Trustees are Richard Williams of Shelby and Dyeann Jordan of Winston-Salem.