

1961 HOMECOMING QUEEN-Miss Marlene Moore (R) is pictured at the half-time of the basketball game. From left to right is Miss North Carolina's Escort; Miss North Carolina; Bill Corbett, Marlene's escort; and the Homecoming Queen herself, Marlene Moore.

Outstanding Sophomore To Get I. D. Moon Award

Frank Layne, President of the Sophomore Class, announced last week that the Sophomore Class will sponsor the founding of the new Isaac Deane Moon Sophomore Award to be given to a graduating sophomore with some specific qualifications.

"The purpose of this award," he said, "is to promote the need for more standing all through her two years well-rounded individuals on campus. We have scholastic awards, but we at Louisburg College. do not have any awards that promote school spirit or individual participation in extracurricular activities. In many respects, it is these areas that are more important than scholastic standing."

The Executive Council of the Sophomore Class announced that the name of the award is to honor Mr. Isaac Deane Moon, instructor at Louisburg since 1935. Now in his twenty-sixth year at Louisburg, Mr. Moon said, "It certainly is an honor to have the award named after me."

The Constitution for the award is as follows:

Faye Clayton Is New WSG Head

Faye Clayton was voted President of the Woman's Student Government on Wednesday night, January 25, 1961. Before being elected she had held the position of House President.

Faye is a business student and has maintained an excellent scholastic

Faye succeeded Carolyn Crews who was Vice-President until the marriage of ex-president Jane Trump Jeanette. After only a few short weeks of presidential duties, Carolyn moved home to commute as a day student. This situation left the W.S.G. without a president.

The W.S.G. met and nominated as candidates, Joyce Wynn and Faye ayton. A secret ballot ele ection wa held and the girls voted Faye as W.S.G. President. A vice-president had to be elected therefore, nominations were taken from the floor and Joyce Wynn was voted such. Because of the fact that Joyce had been Treasurer, a new Treasurer had to be elected to take her position. Nominations were made for Treasurer, and the girls elected Dianne Whitt. With the old officers working along with the new ones for the good of the college the spring semester seems more promising than ever before

Homecoming Day Observed; Marlene Moore Is Queen

Eight Students Make Honor Roll

Dean John B. York announced Monday that the following students made the Honor Roll for the first semester, 1960-61. To get on the list, Homecoming Queen. a student must make a quality point ratio of 2.5 or better, up to a 3.00. Following this list is the Honorable Mention list of students whose ratios were between a 2.00 and 2.50.

In rank, they are as follows:		
Carlton Ray West	.3.00	
John Harry Lange		
Milton Douglas Mitchell	.2.76	
Marla Manning Gupton	.2.73	
Phillip Sterling Perdue		
Andrew L. Romanet		
Henry Linsley Backus	.2.60	
Norman Wade Smith		
Honorable Mention		
(2.00 to 2.50)		

Gail Goodwin Howard Edwards, Jr. Dorothy Ray Blalock. Dan Reed Winslow... Raymond Joyner Jane Trump Jennette. Sandra Anne Featherstone. Daniel Wright Young James Lee D'Angelo Barbara Anne Pergerson. Doris Calvin Roberson... Brian Richard Young... Patricia Hicks Lane Wanda Lee Wells..... Betty Jane Wright. Charles Roberson Harward. Haney Allen Smith, Jr. Peggy Rogister Whitt. Carolyn Joyce Wynn..... Bobby Ray Ezzell..... Francis Fayette Falls. Maurice Edward Roebuck. Ronald Williams Sealey... Janet Marlene Moore. Gerald Martin Wynn... Hannah Parks Sykes..... John Franklin Koonce.... Patsy Jo Garrison..... Martha Ann Bradsher... Walter Nathaniel Dixon.

By DEAL WHITEHEAD

On February 4, 1961, Louisburg held its annual Homecoming Celebrating. An outstanding guest was Miss Ann Farrington Herring, Miss North Carolina for 1960, who was on hand to greet alumni, students, faculty, and friends, and to take part in the selection and crowning of the

Miss Herring is a rising Sophomore at Wake Forest College, where she plans to return next fall and major in sociology and psychology. At Wake Forest, she was a cheerleader, secretary of her class, and chaplain of the student legislature.

Ann is the daughter of Dr. and Mrs. Owen F. Herring of Winston-Salem and is one of four children. Her father, once a Baptist minister, is now a professor of religion at Wake 2.60 Forest College. Ann first won the 2.60 Miss Winston-Salem title on March 25, 1960, and on July 23, 1960, she was chosen Miss North Carolina from 2.43 a court of sixty-eight contestants.

Repeated observations were made 2.42 that Ann was very charming and 2.41 2.40 beautiful, and most of the male stu-2.36 dents greatly enjoyed her visit. An 2.31 interesting note is that at the age of .2.26 13 Ann was a pupil of Miss Ruth Merritt. Miss Merritt said that Ann 2.26 was an attractive girl at an early age 2 25 and was very bright. 2.21

The highlight of her visit came when Miss Herring crowned Miss 2.20 2.18 Marlene Moore the 1961 Home-.2.17 2.16 coming Queen of Louisburg College. 2.16 Miss Moore, sponsored by the Baptist Student Union, was chosen .2.12 .2.11 from a court which included some of the most attractive girls on campus: Miss Etta Barker, escorted by 2.06 Mr. Ernie Nylander; Miss Mary Bail-.2.06 kowski, escorted by Mr. Warren .2.05 Jones; Miss Betty Lou Cash, escorted by Mr. Frank Layne; Miss Sylvia .2.05 .2.05 Hart, escorted by Mr. Tom Pearse; .2.05 2.05 Miss Earlene Martin, escorted by Mr. 2.00 Gordan Edwards; Miss Becky Mat-2.00 thews, escorted by Mr. Jerry Milani; 2.00 Miss Gail McNeil, escorted by Mr. 2.00 Bobby Skinner; Miss Marlene Moore, 2.00 escorted by Mr. Bill Corbett: Miss

SELECTION FOR RECIPIENT OF THE ISAAC DEANE MOON SOPHOMORE AWARD

Article I

Section 1-The name of this award shall be the Isaac Deane Moon Sophomore Award.

Article II

Section 1—The recipient for receipt of the award is required to have attended Louisburg College for four consecutive semesters, maintaining a "C" average during these four semesters. The average is to include the mid-semester grades of the semester of the award.

Article IV

Section 1—The method and rules for the selection of the recipient and presentation of the award are as follows:

Section 2-The sophomore class sponsors will choose the recipient, taking into consideration all the activities and work for the school and students done by the prospective recipient consisting of leadership, citizenship, and scholastic ability.

Section 3-The recipient of the award will be chosen during the second quarter of the spring semester at the earliest convenience of the class sponsors.

Section 4—The name of the recipient will remain known only to the advisors of the sophomore class, contingent upon the respectful actions of the recipient until the day of presentation.

Section 5-The award will be presented by the class sponsors at commencement exercises.

Section 6—The selection of the Isaac Deane Moone Sophomore Award and the wording inscribed upon the award will be left to the decision of the sophomore class sponsors and the executive council of the class.

34 New Students Enrolled For **Second Semester**

At the beginning of the spring semester there were thirty-four new students enrolling at Louisburg College, according to Registrar John B York

This year there are only two new pupils from Louisburg: Anna Jean Hunt and Henry Lane. The out-of State students are: Lloyd Burkley, from York, Pennsylvania; William (Continued on page six)

IS	James Stewart Rackley	Wanda Wells, escorted by Mr. Don
		Matthews; and Miss Ann Woodard, escorted by Mr. Ralph Ferrell. (Continued on page six)

.2.07

SNOW FUN



SNOW FUN-Students gather to have fun in the snow by sliding on cafeteria trays down the hill beside Wright Dormitory.