Several Teachers Have Served More Than Ten Years

When classes began on October 1, 1907, at Gardner-Webb College, then Boiling Springs High School, there were four instructors; Professor J. D. Huggins, Principal; Miss Alma Smith, Miss Lula McKee, Miss Mary Pitts, and Miss Annie Hamrick. These teachers served a student body of one hundred and thirty-five. Professor Huggins served the institution in an administrative capacity until 1928, being principal for all but four years when he was acting principal,

Boiling Springs High School became Boiling Springs Junior College in 1928. Mr. James Blaine Davis was chosen to be the President of the College and Mr. J. D. Huggins was chosen to be the Dean. Fifteen faculty members served sixty-one college students and 173 high school and special students. There were twenty-three faculty members the following year with an enrollment of two hundred and fourteen-one hundred and nine were college students and one hundred and five were high school students.

Dr. Zeno Wall became president of the college in 1930 and served in this capacity until 1932 when Mr. J. L. Jenkins became president and served until 1935.

Mr. A. C. Lovelace served as president of the institution from September 3, 1935, until May 19, 1933, and was succeeded by Mr. George J. Burnett. Mr. Burnett was succeeded by Mr. J. R. Cantrell who remained president of the college until 1943.

In 1942 the trustees changed the name of the institution to Gardner-Webb College in honor of two prominent Carolina families.

Dr. P. L. Elliott became president in 1943, and under his capable leadership Gardner-Webb has grown to be one of the best Junior Colleges in the State.

The number, as well as the training, of faculty members has continued to increase along with the growth of the school. At present there are thirty faculty members:

P. L. Elliott, President-English

James Orville Terrell, Dean of Instruction-Social Science

Frances Austine Cuthbertson, Dean of Women-

Robert Allen Dyer, Director of Guidance-Psychology, Religion

Leonard Ancel Allen, Business Manager

Clyde Furman McAlister, Bursar

Carolyn Lamar Wray, Librarian-Library Science Hubert Conrad Dixon, Registar-Mathematics

Willard Wyan Washbürn, College Physician

Mrs. James Dwyre Huggins, Counselor for Girls-

Mrs. Joe Suttle Wray, Counselor for Boys-Latin Mrs. Dorothy Washburn Hamrick, Secretary to the

Mrs. Clyde Furman McAlister, Secretary to the

Mrs. Thomas L. Reece, Secretary to the Registrar Charles Wayne Bradburn, Physical Education, Football Coach

Noel Cleveland Carr, Mathematics-Physics

Benjamin Coleman Fisher, English

Revis Frye, Physical Education-Baseball Coach Emmalyn Gamble, Voice

W. Kays Gary, Journalism

James Young Hamrick, English

Evelyn Lytton, Home Economics

Abbie Catherine Miller, Piano

James Stephen Morrisett, Religion

Mrs. Ema Estelle Harper Pollock, Romance Languages

Thomas L. Reece, Religious Education

Mrs. Carrol Raines, Physical Education

Paul John Stacy, Natural Science

22 years,

Shannon Otis Trentham, Natural Science

Mrs. Ina Rankin Trentham, Social Science Lilla Ermine Watkins, Commerce

There are four ex-Faculty members who have served the institution for more than twenty years. These are: Mrs. Lillian Ritch, 29 years; Miss Etta L. Curtis, 27 years; Mr. J. D. Huggins, 24 years; Mr. O. P. Hamrick,

There are ten members of our present Faculty who have served more than ten years. These are: Mrs. J. D. Huggins, 15 years; Mr. Hubert C. Dixon, 13 years; Mrs. Elma Harper Pollock, 12 years; Miss Abbie Catherine Miller, 11 years.

All of these have served the institution that is dear to their hearts with true loyalty, love, devotion, and capability,

-J. Y. Hamrick