Senators Meet: **Duties Defined**

The officers and senators for the '74-'75 school year have been elected and are ready to take on the responsibility of representing their fellow students. The officers and senators for the upper three classes were elected in April of last year, but the Freshman elected their officers and senators at the beginning of this school year.

The SGA Executive Officers for this year are: President—Bill Barkley, Vice-President—Rick Trexler, Secretary—Bidgie Bucha-Treasurer - Russ nan. Horne, and Student Center Board Chairman-Mark Walker.

The senators - at - large elected to serve in the 1974-75 Senate are: Jack King, Andy Ingram, and Charlotte Meyer. Steve Fischer was also elected, but was re-placed by Rick Hill since Fischer did not return to

Do you have any gripes?

How about viewing you opinion by writing a letter to the Editor, Box 163.

Gardner-Webb. These were voted on by the Student Body as a whole.

Class officers and class senators for the 1974-75 academic year are as follows: FRESHMAN: President-

Chris Goethe, Vice-President-Robert Pettyjohn, dent-Robert Pettyjohn, Secretary-Elaine Moseley, Treasurer-Jo Ann Raley and Senators-Jim Edmunds, Sherwin Johnson, Joy Suther, and Tom San taniello

SOPHOMORE: dent-Danny Cook, Vice-President-Jim Burleson Secretary—Sherry Setzer,

Secretary—Jan Barkley, Treasurer—Jan Barkley, and Senators—Sabra Clod-felter, Renee Warren, Diane Crumpton, and Jerome

JUNIOR: President-Burt Brimberry, Vice President-Rick Hill, Secre-tary-Julia Lee Hanna, Treasurer-Susan Prichard, and Senators-Bart Ben-nett, Randy Bynum, Tim McSwain, and Steve Lewis.

SENIOR. Provident. Doug Byers, Vice-President—Benjie Holland, Secretary-Martha Williams, Treasurer-Doug Turner. and Senators-Rick Chapman, Leonard Houston, Charlie Dyke, and Otis Hol-

The Day Student Senators elected by the day students are Melissa Jolley, John Wall, Libby Wash burn, and Virginia Hedrick.

The Residence Hall Sena tors elected by their fellow resident students are as fol-Nanney-Linda McAnulty, Stroup-Kathy Hapy-Nancy Dobbins, Barlowe. Decker-Jill Haney, Lutz-Yelton-David Laws, Mauney-Scott Mauney, Myers-David Blan-ton, Spangler-Chuck Scoville, Campus House-Debbie Frans, Trailers (Men)— Joel Lineberger, and Por-table Housing (Women)— Karen Troutman.



@ FRANKLY SPEAKING / BOX 1523 / E. LANSING, MICH.



SGA Officers: Left to right President-Bill Barkley, Secretary-Bidgie Buchanan, and Vice-President-Rick Trexler. Absent from picture are Russ Horne and Mark Walker

Letter To The Editor

for discussion on this campus is that of rules, especially those for females.

The basic point of contention is the curfew rules. It is common knowledge that male students have no curfew, and that female students have a complicated system of sign-in times. This is inherently unfair. Female students in essence, are dis-criminated against. This entire argument can be summed up in one state-ment: If the females have a curfew, then the male students should also have one If the male students have no curfew, then the female students should not have one.

The recommendation is

not being made to remove all curfews, but now that a criticism has been offered let a suggestion be given. Why couldn't a campus-wide cur few of 12:00 p.m. be insti-tuted? First-semester freshmen females should be given a curfew of 11:00 p.m., and the rest of the boarding stu-dents, male and female, should have a curfew of midnight.

campus-wide curfew would make security patrolling much simpler, and per haps raise the academic levels of certain students.

a concerned female

Letters from both sides of the issue (male and female) are welcome.

The Pilot

..... Wofford Caughman . Charlotte Meyer Crela Landreth, Becky Bost, Andra Wood, Kay Snyder, Sherwin Johnson Photographer Chappie Chapman

Advisor. Mr. Bill Boyd
Published by students of Gardner-Webb College, Boiling Springs,
North Carolina 28017. The office of the PILOT is located in the
Charles I. Dover Student Center, Room 112. Advertising rate is
\$2.00 per column inch. Telephone 343-2361.

The opinions expressed in this student newspaper do not necessarily represent the views of the GWC faculty, administration, or student body. Responsible comments to issues presented in the Pilot are possible by writing. Editor—the PilOT, Box 163.

SGA Prepares For New Session

The SGA Senate held its first meeting of the year of September 3, 1974 at 8:00 p.m. The main purpose of this meeting was an introduction to the Senate. Rick Trexler, SGA Vice-Presi-dent, presided over the meeting.

The meeting began when Chairman Trexler called the meeting to order. The invocation was given by Tim McSwain, a Junior Class Senator. The roll was then called by Bidgie Buchanan,

SGA Secretary. The faculty advisors to the Senate were recognized. Mr. Joe Hoyle, who is serving his second year as faculadvisor, spoke to the senators on the importance of getting involved in work outside the Senate meetings. Mr. Melvin Lutz, who is serving his first year as faculty advisor, was recog-nized. Both Mr. Hovle and Mr. Lutz extended their serArthur Nuhrah, who is the Senate Parliamentarian, was

Mr. Bill Briggs, Coordinator of Student Personnel Services, addressed the senators on their responsibility as senators. He also spoke on the value of a Senate and the maturity the senators should have in carrying out their duties.

Senate folders were ssed out to all senators. Chairman Trexler went over the folders, explaining different parts of it. These folders contain the responsibilities of the senators, instructions on how to write up a bill, and the rules of Parliamentary Procedure. Mr. Tom Poston, Director of Student Activities, also urged all senators to read the SGA Constitution in the Student Handbook

Bill Barkley, SGA President was then recognized. President Barkley stressed the importance of the senators to attend all Senate meetings. He also pointed out that the senators should be ready to work hard this years.

Russ Horne, SGA Treasurer, gave the treasury re-port. He stated that the budget for this year is \$52,000. Mark Walker, Student Center Board Chairman, also gave a report on the en tertainment for this year.

The members of the Faculty-Student Committees and the College Judicial Board were then announced to the Senate. Nominations were also made for a replacement for Steve Fischer, and Rick Hill was chosen.

The last item of business was the appointing of the Food Committee. After the Food Committee was appointed, the meeting was adiourned