# THE LANCE OFFICIAL PUBLICATION OF THE STUDENT BODY OF ST ANDREWS PRESBYTERIAN COLLEGE.

St. Andrews Presbyterian College

#### Laurinburg, N. C., Thursday, April 4, 1968.

## **Dorm Leaders** For 1969 Elected

Dormitory elections are in and counted. The elections were held yesterday for next year's positions.

From Albermarle Dorm: A run-off between Sara Abernathy and Julia Wilson for the position as president. Elected to women's residence court was Amy Davis. Newly elected senators are: Ann Bottoms, Nina Dougherty and Linda Hill, Nancy Abbitt was elected social chairman.

Anne Ward from Winter Park, Florida was elected president to Concord Dorm. Becky Sudderth is the representative to women's residence court from Concord. Senators are: Carol Dugger, Graye Ann Heider and Mary Prince.

From Granville; Joyce Lowdermilk is the new president. Dixie Fulton will represent Granville on women's residence court. Senators are: Linda Leslie, Julie Morris and Jean Templeton.

A run-off for positions as president exists between Linda Susong and Ellen Clarke from Wilmington Dorm. Janet Dalton went un-opposed as representative to women's residence court. Phyllis Dieth was elected social chairman. Senators elected are: Mary Lou Kruthoffer, Elliott MacKethan, Hollace Laws and elected joint senator from Wilmington and Mecklenberg is Diane Davis.

Dean Leake was elected as president to Mecklenberg Dorm. Write in candidate, Herb Prizer was elected as representative to men's residence court. Mac Crosswell and John McAllister were elected as senators.

Jimmy Wright was elected as president to Orange Dorm.

#### **Sophs Honored**

St. Andrews newest honorary, the Sophomore Honor Society, was officially announced at a "Sophomore Symposium" in late in March during which 24 members of the class were announced as charter members by President Ansley C. Moore. Charter membership in the new group was awarded to 24 members of the class who have maintained a cumulative average of B or better during their year and a half here. At the same ceremony Susan Cotton, Martha Sue Henley, Lydia Johnson, and Barbara Moore were announced as first Sophomore Scholars and winners of \$500 merit scholarships. The 20 other charter members of the Sophomore Honor Society are Joan Bardin, Dianne Davis, Michael Ferrell, Sandra Gaddis, John M. Geer, Jr., Martha Goodman, Kemp Gregory, David E. Guy, Marianna Hardison, Glendy Higgins, Martha Ann Holland, Jane Johns, Mary Lou Kruthoffer, Catherine McKinnon, Dianne McLean, Sandra McQueen, Patricia Snipes, Blair Turner, Katherine Van Sciver, and Judy White.

Linda Peel and Charles Stahlberger were elected as representatives to the women's and men's residency courts respectively. Senators elected are: Glendy Higgins, Terry Jaywork and Henri Johnson. Tibby Bryce was elected social chairman.

Pete Peery from Tazewell, Va. was elected president to Winston-Salem Dorm. Jeff Mc-Kechnie was elected as representative to residence court. Senators are: Banks Garrison, Chris Heppe, Ron Tingle and elected joint senator with Concord was Henry Hall. Fred Faulkner was elected social chairman.

Kings Mt. Dorm elected Dan Beerman to the presidency. Ted Wendel is the representative to the residence court. Senators are: John Royall. Eddie Porter and Harry Kraly'.



TOP SOPHOMORES - Named as the first Sophomore Scholars are these four St. Andrews coeds. As tangible recognition of outstanding scholastic achievement St. Andrews awarded each of the four Scholars a merit scholarship of \$500. From the left, Dean Robert F. Davidson, President Ansley C. Moore, Barbara Moore, Lydia Johnson, Martha Sue Henley, and Susan Cotton. At the Sophomore Symposium in late March 20 other members of the class also were selected as charter members of the newly-created Sophomore Honor Society.

## **Editors Named For '69 Publications**

The "Quill and Scroll' Club has announced next year's publications staffs. The staffs were nominated by their respective organizations and were approved by the "Quill and Scroll".

Ray Riddle, junior from Charleston, S. C., will be editor-in-chief of the 1969 "Lamp and Shield". He has worked as layout and organization editor of the yearbook, is a member of the Human Relations Club, the "Quill and Scroll"

and tutors in the Peace Corps. He is Chairman of the Board of Circle K and is social chairman of Kings Mt. Dorm. He was recently elected to the Student Faculty Appellate Board. Ellen Richardson, a sopho-

more from Ocala, Florida, is the 1969 associate editor of the "Lamp and Shield". She is a co-ordinator for the Peace Corps and plays on the intramural sports teams.

George Shaffer, a junior from



Woodstock, Va., will assume the position as business manager for the "Lamp and Shield". He was the editorial-assistant for the yearbook last year. He has been in the college choir three years and was president of Kings Mt. Dorm this year. He is a member of the Highland Players.

Joe Junod, a junior from Pelham Manor, New York, will be "The Lance" editor next year. He has been sports editor for two years on the paper and was a reporter his freshman year. He has been a varsity bowler for three years and was on the soccer team his sophomore year. He is an English major.

Linda Susong, a junior from Middlesboro, Ky. will resume her position as associate editor of "The Lance". She was a social chairman for Wilmington Dorm this year. She has served on her sophomore and junior class executive councils and is secretary of the "Quill and Scroll" Literary Club. She is also an English major.

### "Xochipilli " **To Highlight** Wind Ensemble

The St. Andrews College Wind Ensemble will present a program of ensemble and chamber music Monday, April 8, at 8 p.m. in the LAA. The program will be marked by the variety of instrumental groups performing and the range of compositions presented, climaxing in an unusual piece, "Xochipilli," by the Mexican composer Carlos Chavez.

Conducting will be Marion J. Rogers, regular conductor of the organization; Joyce Bryant, also of the St. Andrews music faculty, as guest conductor; and John Kinlaw, student conductor.

Miss Bryant will conduct the opening numbers on the program, three by the Brass Easemble and two by the Flute Ensemble.



Joe Junod will be editor for "The Lance"

Linda Susong, associate editor for The Lance.

Ray Riddle, new editor-in-chief for "Lamp and Shield"

David Wagner, better known as "Dudley," will be an associate editor for "The Lance". He is a math major from Baltimore, Maryland. He was a feature writer this year for "The Lance". He was recently appointed entertainment chairpointed entertainment chairman of the Student Center Board.

Scott McCrea junior from San Francisco, Calif., is sports editor for "The Lance" and copy editor of the "Lamp and Shield". He was vice-president of his sophomore and junior classes. He has played on the tennis team at SA for three years. He is also an English major.

New positions on the "Lance" are: layout manager, Pete Cook; and news editor, Sara Lee.

After intermission the Percussion Sextet will play "Six Little Indians" by Firth and "Latin Ostanato" by Faberman. Concluding will be the performance of several instrumental pieces by Handel and the Chavez piece which he has socred to reporduce his conception of the tones of ancient Aztec instruments.

#### **Highland Players**

The Highland Players elected new officers for next year and announced new members for this semester at a meeting held April 2.

A club quorum approved the slate of officers that the Players executive committee drew up. The new officers are: Joe Mitchell, president; Carol Fetter, vice-president; Julia Wilson, secretary; Sally Syphrit, treasurer; Mary Key and George Shafer, members-atlarge.

Jean Bolinger, Kay Comer, Ruste Righton, and Sissy Underdown are the new members.

Scott McCrea sports editor for Lance and copy editor for annual.