The Skirl

A STUDENT PUBLICATION OF FLORA MACDONALD COLLEGE

Volume No. 6

Flora Macdonald College, March 1958

Number 2



JEANNE FLOURNOY



JEAN McRAE



SUSAN CURRIE

Flournoy, McRae And Currie Head Council

Jeanne Flournoy, a rising senior from EMzabethtown, N. C., was elected president of the student body of FMC for 1958-1959 in an election on March 6. President of the Christian Association for 1958-1959 was chosen March 4. She is Jean McRae, a rising senior from Maxton, North Carolina. Rising senior Susan Currie was elected president of the Athletic Association for 1958-1959 on March 5. Susan is from Jackson Springs, North Carolina.

President of her freshman class, Jeanne was also the secretary of the student body her junior year. Jeanne is a mathematics major and plans to teach.

Jean McRae's junior year activities include serving as Outreach Chairman

on the Christian Association Cabinet and as a Marshall. She was a Prayer Band Leader and also on the May Court her sophomore year. Jean is a primary education major.

Susan Currie was elected to the Moncgram Club this year and also received her varsity letter in basketball and volleyball. Having served as treasurer her junior year on the AA Board, Susan should feel very much at home. Also, she has been vice president of the Home Ec. Club this year. She has been a Prayer Band Leader, too, Susan is majoring in Home Economics and plans to teach.

Also elected for 1958-1959 to lead the Student Body are: Adeline Brady of Cerro Gordo, N. C., editor of the WHITE HEATHER; Elizabeth Ann Clark of Jackson Springs, N. C., Vice-President of the Student Body; Sally Day of Washington, N. C., Secretary of the Student Body; Martha Currie of Jackson Springs, N. C., Treasurer of the Student Body.

Presidents of the Classes are as follows: Rising Senior Class, Betty Jo Trent of Reidsville, N. C.; Rising Junior Class, Sandra Abbott of Vinton, Valand rising sophomore Class, Joan Carter of Wilmington, N. C.

Sue Harris of Laurinburg, N. C., was elected President of the Day Students. Boots Pridgen of Wilson, N. C. is the new President of Zetesian and Lynda Hill of Mayesville, S. C. is the new President of Epsilon Chi.