The Compass, April 2011

STUDENT LIFE

New Student Government Association Officers Elected For 2011-2012



PRESIDENT RUDY MACEDON



VICE PRESIDENT OF Internal Affairs DeVon McNair

VICE PRESIDENT OF Finance Bernard Bazemore



Recording Secretary Tynesha Jackson



Pictured above, Ijeoma Agbara (left) and Brittanee Exum (right) holding the Greek Cup awarded to the Delta Chi chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. for having the highest gpa among sororities and fraternities.

Class Officers Elected

Sophomore Class Officers: President Gabrielle Thorne Vice President- Jhoi Ebron Miss Sophomore-Raven Wright MR. Sophomore-Michael Duck

Junior Class Officers: President- Kimberly Cole Vice President- Akeem McAllister Treasurer-Channell Wills Miss Junior-Brittany Whidbee Mr. Junior-Tremaine WIlliams Senator Jamie Morrison

Senior Class Officers: President- Taneshia Moore Vice President- Corey Kellam Miss Senior-Shaleeka RIchardson Mr. Senior-Tederal Burwell Senator Husni Agri Senator Lia Scott

Elite Students Honored at Annual Convocation Ceremony

BY BARBARA MILLER

Every year students prove their dedication and show powerful determination to succeed. These students are honored by Elizabeth City State University at the Convocation Honors and the following evening banquet. Over 60 different awards were handed out to over 300 students and eight Scholars' Blazers were handed out during the afternoon presentation.

The evening banquet held in the K.E. White Graduate Center was for all students on the Honor Roll, Dean's List or the Chancellor's List. A student qualifies for the Honor Roll by maintaining a gpa of 3.0 to 3.49. The Dean's List demands a 3.50 to 3.74 gpa and the Chancellor's List requires a 3.75 to 4.0 gpa. During her speech at the banquet,

Dr. Velma Blackmon, announced that this was the largest group of honorees in quite some time. Dr. Blackmon, head of the Honors Program, and her assistant, Edith Jennings, were responsible for planning the event.

Mr. Vincent Beamon, the Registrar, tallied up the honor students for The Compass. ECSU has around 3,300 students enrolled this year. There were 505 students listed on the Honor Roll this spring. The Dean's list had 172 students and the Chancellor's List boasted 302 students that made the grade. With the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) visit, this large group of overachievers boosted ECSU's image. Every student has the chance to be included in these lists, and it is beneficial for any student continuing to graduate school.





MR. ELIZABETH CITY State University Dwayne Brooks

MISS ELIZABETH CITY State University Heather Smith



NEWLY INDUCTED SIGMA TAU DELTA MEMBERS SPRING 2011

Cortney Barnes Tammy Burley Elizabeth Byrne* Kristen Cochran Ebony Etheridge Tiana Ford Vandana Gavaskar* Colin Griffin **Princess Harrell** Jenna Miller* Larry Peterman Antonio Squire Brittnei Teasley Jerrika Waller Karen Wilkerson *LLC Faculty Member

