THE NEWS ARGUS

SEPTEMBER, 1974

Freshmen Reynolds Scholars Chosen

selected at Winston-Salem State University for the 1974-75 academic year according to Mr. Warren C. Oldham, the director of the university's Scholastic Achievement Program.

They are Eva Alston, L'Tanya J. Bailey, Faiger M. Blackwell, Cheryl L. Brandon, Karen A. Coleman, Denise D. Crews, Deborah T. Daniels, Sterling L. Eggleston, Mrs. Patricia Eubanks, Marsha Graddy, Phyllis Jones, Carl C. Morrison, Brenda K. Richardson, Tony M. Scott, Sabrina R. Taylor, and Sheryll D. Woods

Miss Alston is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Nathaniel Alston of Siler City. A graduate of Jordan Matthews High School she plans to major in biology and become a pharmacist.

Miss Bailey is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Beaufort Bailey of 112 N.E. 27th Street. Her father is media specialist at WSSU. She plans to major in biology and become a doctor.

Blackwell is the son of Mr. and Mrs.

Sixteen Reynolds Scholars have been Roy Blackwell of Elon College. A graduate of Bartlett-Yancey High School, Blackwell plans to major in sociology and become a social worker.

Miss Brandon is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Theodore Brandon of 3044 Bainbridge Drive. A graduate of East Forsyth High School she plans to major in biology and become a teacher.

Miss Coleman is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Alfred Coleman of Norlina. A graduate of Norlina High School, Miss Coleman plans to major in math.

Miss Crews is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Arthur Crews of 1630 Pritchard Street, Greensboro. A graduate of Dudley High School she plans to become a teacher.

Miss Daniels is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Daniels of 3020 Bainbridge Drive

Miss Daniels' mother is secretary to Chancellor Williams and her father is the Director of Recruitment at WSSU. Miss Daniels, who is a graduate of the

Salem Academy, plans to major in psy-

chology or sociology.

Eggleston is the son of Mr. and Mrs. James L. Eggleston of Route 1 Cascade, Va. A graduate of Trunstall High School in Dry Fork, Virginia, he plans to major in business administration

Mrs. Eubanks, the daughter of Mrs. Minnie Stutts of Jamestown Road, is a former student in the university's Continuing Education Program. A graduate of Hanes High School she plans to major in English and become a lawyer.

Miss Graddy is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Clarence Graddy of Charlotte. A graduate of South Mecklenburg High School Miss Graddy plans to major in elementary education and become a teacher

Miss Jones is the daughter of Mrs. Sara Jones of Salisbury, N. C. A graduate of North Rowan High School Miss Jones plans to become a criminal lawver.

Morrison is the son of Mr. and Mrs. Ben Morrison of 1318 E. First Street He is a graduate of North Forsyth High

School.

Miss Richardson is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Henry Richardson of Madison. A graduate of Madison/Mayodan High School Miss Richardson plans to major in sociology and become a social worker.

Scott is the son of Mr. and Mrs. O. B. Scott of Statesville. He is a graduate of Statesville Senior High School.

Miss Taylor is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Herbert Taylor of Goldsboro. A graduate of Goldsboro East High School, she plans to major in biology and go into biomedical research.

Miss Woods is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Floyd Woods of Goldsboro. A graduate of Goldsboro East High School, she plans to major in nursing and become a registered nurse

Under the R. J. Reynolds Scholarship awards students who have demonstrated ability in leadership and scholarship at the high school level are awarded grants that finance four years of education at WSSU. The program is in its sixth year.

Class Elections Held

Elections for various class officers were held on Thursday, September 12 from 9-5 in the Student Union Ballroom.

Results of the election in the Freshman class are as follows:

President—Eric Holiday V. President-Reggie Bennett Secretary—Sharon Dixon Treasurer-Frazier Blackwell Representatives—James Davis Stanley Ward **Butch Everett** Fred Gibson

Miss Freshman–Vickie Johnson

Attendants-Sharon Brooks and Debra Gibbs

Sophomore class officers for the 1974-75 school year are:

President-Sam Robinson V. President–Marsha Hayes Secretary-Serena McElrath Treasurer—Montez Bates Representatives—Shelia Bynum Joann Glen Gwen Taylor Sharon Eberhardt Miss Sophomore—Dorothy McLeod Secretary—Mary Blue Treasurer-Saundra Curry Representatives—Phyllis Totten Evelyn Thomas Carol Everett Mary Blackwell Miss Senior—Carolyn Smith

Architects Chosen in Summer Meeting

During the summer meeting of the Board of Trustees of Winston-Salem State University, plans for campus expansion that the university was contemplating were discussed.

The board was presented with the proposed plans for the new Communications Building. Richard Messenger, chairman of the building and grounds committee of the board recommended that the architects for the structure be Grant and Huberman Associates. The proposed structure is to be constructed at a cost of 2 million 200 thousand dollars. An additional fuel storage tank is to be constructed at a cost of 60 thousand dollars.



MARCHING RAMS AT PRACTICE.

MARCHING RAMS PARTICIPATE IN PARADE

The WSSU Marching Rams were par- of science, medicine, music, sports, histicipants in the Sixth Annual Africantory, and education. The theme of this year's parade was American Day parade in New York City on Sunday, September 15. The purpose "March with Dignity and Pride". The one hundred twenty Rams, under the dirof the parade which is the largest Black ection of Mr. Robert Shepard did just parade in the United States, is to salute that! Ms. Sondra Melvin, Miss WSSU, Black people throughout the world for escorted by Ray Williams, President of the many contributions made in the fields the SGA also participated in the parade.

Attendants-Gwen Wilson and Tarba Martin

Results of the election in the Junior Class are:

President—Clayton Scott V. President–Darryl King Secretary—Pattie Saunders Treasurer—Grace Justice Representatives—Rubie Gibson Mike Murrell Vanessa Pharr Vinis McDaniel Miss Junior-Josie Bullard Attendant—Cynthia Wilkins

Senior class officers as elected for the current school year are:

President—Cecil Sharrock V. President—Beverly Dixon

Trustee members during the 1973-74 academic year were Rodney Austin, a member of the Personnel Department of Reynolds Industries; Cooper D. Cass, a local businessman; Roland Hayes, an alumnus and local attorney; James F. Mack, an alumnus and member of B & C Associated, a public relations firm in High Point; Richard D. Messenger, a businessman from Salisbury; Jack O'Kelly, an alumnus from Burlington: Mrs. Barbara Phillips, an alumna and principal of Lowrance School in the city; Dr. M. C. Robinson of Forest City; C. C. Ross, a local businessman and chairman of the board; Miss Laura D. Sawyer, a local attorney; and Charles Zollicoffer, president of the campus Student Government Association,

JOIN THE

NEWS ARGUS STAFF