Vol. XVIIl Winston-Salem State University May, 1982 Bond To Address Commencement Julian Bond The Honorable Julian Bond, renown ed Senator in the Georgia State legislature, will deliver the keynote ad dress for the 1982 WSSU Commence ment Exercises. Some 300 students will be receiving degrees in the commence ment services. The commencement ser vices will be held at Winston-Salem Memorial Coliseum May 16, at 3 p.m. The university will present Honorary Degrees to Bond and Mr. Edward A. Horrigan. Bond will be receiving a Doctor of Laws. He has been a Senator in the Georgia State legislature for eight years. He is also the first black to be nominated for the vice presidency of the United States during the 1968 Democratic Convention. Mr. Edward Horrigan, will be receiv ing a Doctor of Humane Letters degree. He is currently the executive vice president for R.J. Reynolds In dustries Inc. and is also the active General Chairman of the WSSU Enhancement Committee which has surpassed its goal by reaching the amount of 3.1 million dollars. See Page 10 Chris Wilson, SGA President By Diona McCants Christopher A. Wilson, SGA president-elect for 1982-83, plans to emphasize the importance of students using the Career Placement and Plann ing Office because of the recent cut backs in federal financial aid. Chris feels that students should become in volved with the placement office in their freshman and sophomore years. He wishes to help students find part- time jobs also. Chris’ major is business administra tion with a concentration in account- See Page 11 Debra Toone, a junior biology major from Columbus, Ohio, is the newly elected "Miss WSSU." Miss WSSU-Debra Toone ing. He is from Shelby, N.C. and comes from a family of five sisters and one brother. The latter is a student here at WSSU. He states that his qualifications for the job of SGA president are the fact that “he will represent the students and not the administration, and that he is not in office for personal gains.” Chris feels he is trustworthy because of the former positions he has held on campus and in town. He has worked at North Carolina National Bank and Food Town. He has held various of- By Diona McCants Miss WSSU for 1982-83, Debra Toone, felt that the position of Miss WSSU required a young lady to repre sent the campus by totally exhibiting qualities of a lady of leaderhship with inner beauty. She felt she possessed these qualities and could better develop them by becoming Miss WSSU. Debra is a member of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc. She is from Colum bus, Ohio and has a younger sister and brother. Debra came here because she felt it would be a good experience and to find out a little more about the school from which her mother graduated. Debra says her mother has been her greatest inspiration along with Dr. Nathan Sims, former director of the Division of Liberal Arts and Sciences. Debra wanted to become directly in volved with students and student ac tivities. She felt students needed someone that they could relate to and be proud of when representing the university at conferences, luncheons and other big events. Debra speaks up on how students feel at these events. She has attended some meetings and has found that she must be knowledgeable in several different areas of study. When asked about the importance of students joining sororities, fraternities and other special groups, she said that these are supposed to stress academic excellence above their activities, but the priority is not what it should be. She hopes those that are considering becoming a part of a Greek or social organization will put their academics first. Debra realizes that watchful eyes are critics will be on her and she does not See Page 10 Qasses “Write-In” Officers Christopher Wilson, a junior business administration major from Shelby, N.C. is the newly elected president of the S.G./l. (Photo by C. “Sport” Page). By Dwight Jones Write-in candidates dominated this year’s class elections. The senior class had only three of ficial candidates running for the eight vacated offices. Ennis Newell, Wade Riddick and Abigail Allen were these official candidates. They are president, vice president and Miss Senior, respec tively. The office of secretary, treasurer and student government representatives were all write-in can didates and winners. They are Gail Newton, secretary, Crystal Williams, treasurer, Maria Howell, Tracy Milburn, Chantay Miller and Travis Rivens, SGA representatives. The junior class also had numerous write-in candidates. Antonio Dove was the only official candidate for the of fice of president. He won the presiden cy over four other write-in candidates. Lorraine Coleman, the newly elected vice president, and Charles Smoot were the only official candidates for that of fice. The office of secretary was decid ed in much the same way. Carolyn “Cookey” Johnson, the secretarial winner, was the only true candidate; the others were write-in can didates. Lisa Henderson, the 1982-83 junior class secretary, had only two write-in candidates opposing her. There were six candidates running for the four offices of junior SGA representatives: Rebecca Holley, Terry Mitchell, Janice McLean and Simone Nichols were all victors. Nita Spikes, a native of Shelby, will represent her class as Miss Junior. See Page 11

Page Text

This is the computer-generated OCR text representation of this newspaper page. It may be empty, if no text could be automatically recognized. This data is also available in Plain Text and XML formats.

Return to page view