## Ten join ranks of Phi Theta Kappa

The Iota Delta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa inducted ten new members into the national honor fraternity in a candlelight ceremony in Marks Hall in April.

Founded in 1918 as an honorary organization for junior colleges, Phi Theta Kappa recognizes academic excellence among twoyear college students. Students must have at least a 3.0 academic average and be recommended by faculty members to be selected for the fraternity.

Inducted into the Chowan chapter were: Christopher Aycock, Dennis Dean Dunlow, Tracey Lynn Francis, Mary Lou Lawlis, Frederick O'Neal Vinson, James George Fernandez, William Newton, Stephanie A. Smith, Amy Melissa Underwood, and Queen Esther Williams.

There are more than 700 chapters of Phi Theta Kappa in the United States, and approximately 2000 students are selected each year. Sponsors for the Iota Delta Chapter are Warren Sexton, professor of social science, and Dr. Kenneth Wolfskill, chairman of the department of language and literature.

New officers were elected for the chapter for next year, and they are: Frederick O'Neal Vinson, president, Gary Wade Robinson, vice president, Tracey Lynn Francis, secretary, and James George Fernandez, treasurer.

## Oh, Happy Day!



Jonathan Mark Wynns, Marnie Frey, Jennifer Towell, and Todd Smallwood were four happy graduates during Chowan's Commencement on May 13.

## On campus in brief

Over 500 people, including a 140-voice choir, filled Turner Auditorium for "Here's Hope," an evangelism rally on February 11. The choir represented many of the 60 churches in the West Chowan Baptist Association. The rally was prelude to the series of revival meetings held in area churches.

The Sixth Annual Typewriting Contest sponsored by the Chowan Department of Business attracted high school students from 14 area high schools in March compete at various levels of competition.

High school students competed in the Fourth Annual Math Contest sponsored by the Department of Mathematics in March.

The Department of Science also sponsored Math/Science Day for about 150 area students in March.

The Chowan Art Department sponsored the annual high school art competition this spring with 139 entries from high school art students.

Louis Goldstein, professor of music at Wake Forest University, was the guest pianist in a performance in Daniel Recital Hall in March.

Lisa Newsome, Director of College Relations, provided 'Stress Management' for the Phi Beta Lambda business students in April.

Sophomores were invited to a picnic at the Roberts-Vaughan Center in Murfreesboro sponsored by the Office of Development, Alumni Affairs in April. Students enjoyed barbequed chicken and listened to returning Chowan alumni reminisce about their times at Chowan College.

The Annual Braves Club Banquet and the Athletic Awards Banquet to honor Chowan athletes and the year's achievements in athletics were both held in April.

Spring Festival featured a day full of events for students with bands, ice cream, and 'mud wrestling,' during which challengers met Melvin "Bull" Crosby, this year's national wrestling champion, in some muddy competitions.

A community-wide worship service was held Sunday evening, April 22 in Turner Auditorium as the first in the series of inaugural events which took place that week.

Works by Chowan College art students were on display in the Chowan Art Gallery in Green Hall April 23 - May 5. A photography exhibit was displayed in Horner Graphic Communications building during the inaugural events.

## Awards Day honors students for service and academics

Chowan College students received awards for citizenship, service, academic and athletic achievement during Awards Day, May 2 in the Helms Center.

The 1990 Chowan Annual, CHOW-ANOKA, was dedicated and presented to Dr. Earl H. Parker, professor in the Department of Religion and Philosophy, for his care and concern for students and outstanding service to Chowan College.

Dr. Jerry F. Jackson, president of the college, presented the awards assisted by Dr. B. Franklin Lowe, Jr., vice president for academic affairs. Most all awards included a scholarship and engraved plaque or certificate.

Jennifer Louise Towell, from Springfield, Va., was named Best All Around Student and was also named to the Order of the Silver Feather, an honorary service fraternity.

Dana Goins, from Baltimore, Md., received the Superior Citizenship Award. She also was presented the Mary E. Wood Science Award and named to the Order of the Silver Feather.

Other students named to the Order of the Silver Feather were Linda Carol Moore, from Richmond, Va., Rebekah Scott Reasor, from Chilhowie, Va., and Jerrod James Rose, from Seaboard.

The Merit Award was presented to Janice Morgan Askew, from Elizabeth City. Wai-On-Ma, from Wayne, Pa., received the Highest Scholastic Average (Freshman) Award and the International Student Award. Chak Yan Tong, from Hong Kong, also captured the International Student Award.

Jonathan Harris Taylor, from Vanceboro, received the Mary E. Wood Science Award, and was recognized with the Highest Scholastic Average (Sophomore) Award.

The Marylou Jones Armstrong Business Award was presented to Janerose Wanjiku Kinyanjui, from Nairobi, Kenya. The Mathematics Award went to Jerrod James Rose, from Seaboard, and the Alpha Beta Gamma Award was presented to Whitney Leigh Cuthbertson, from Murfreesboro. The award for Most Outstanding Resident Assistant went to Frances Ann Rudd, from Kenbridge, Va.

The Fine Arts Department presented drama, music and art awards. Kenneth Richard Traino, from Marlton, N.J., won the Drama Award—Technical. The Drama Award—Artistic went to Michelle Dawn Turner, from Virginia Beach, Va.. Chieko Ukita, from Osaka, Japan, was named Outstanding Chorus Member. Junko Fujisawa, from Osaka, Japan, was named Outstanding Sophomore in Art.

The Department of Graphic Communications presented Most Outstanding Graduate awards to Caron Darlene Bailey, from Clayton, Delaware, in photography and Tyrone Leverne Joe, from Effingham, S.C., in printing technology. Julie Lynn Hottle from Fairfax, Va. was named Outstanding Freshman in English by the department of language and literature, division of English.

The Raymond Memorial Scholarship, a science award for deserving returning freshman, was presented to Benny Telford Copeland, Jr., from Suffolk, Va. The Alpha Mu Gamma Foreign Language Award went to two sophomores, Julie Anne Best, from

Rich Square, and Linda Carol Moore, from Richmond, Va.

Athletic awards included: the Joseph Lee
Parker Award for Physical Fitness to Ronald
Charles Brannan, from Chesapeake, Va.; the
Exchange Club Athletic Award to Daniel
Harris Lindsey, from Wilmington; Most
Outstanding Female Athlete—Susan Elaine
Straw, from Columbus; Most Outstanding
Male Athlete—Melvin Crosby, from Erie,
Pa.

The President's Cup for overall competition among the residence halls was won by Jenkins Hall for women. Intramural Team Championships were taken by Simons Hall for men and Jenkins Hall.

Commencement Marshalls, selected from freshmen having the highest academic averages, were named. They are Dennis Dean Dunlow, from Colerain, Gary Wade Robinson, from Aurora, Ahmad Yusuf Sheikh-Ahmad, from Palestine, Mary Helen Vance, from Lynchburg, Va., Queen Esther Williams, from Greenville, and Wai-On-Ma, from Wayne, Pa..

PAGE 2—Chowan Today — June, 1990