"The truth is out there..."

VOL. 10, NO. 13

North Carolina Wesleyan College, Rocky Mount, N.C.

THURSDAY, APRIL 13, 1995

Student first to take part in conference

By GREG PURCELL

A natural, intense, energetic, and charisma — these are just a few of the words that describe Clay Jackson while he is on stage and it took all of this plus more to become the first student in North Carolina Wesleyan College's history to attend the Southeastern Theatre Conference.

SETC is the largest theater conference in the nation. The states include Virginia, West Virginia, Kentucky, Tennessee, Louisiana, Florida, Georgia, South Carolina, and North Carolina. SETC is a large audition that is described as "a madhouse of stressed out people wondering if they have a summer job."

The audition is not only for a summer job but also shows the latest technology in the theater. Workshops on state combat, and play writing and set design also go on.

"There were about 850 people at SETC and I only talked to two people who got more call backs than me," Jackson said.

Jackson got 12 callbacks and from that he got a job in Galveston, Tex., at a theater called the Galveston Island Outdoor Musicals. Jackson has been cast in the musical Brigadoon and still has the possibility of being cast in The King and I, A Funny Thing Happened On the Way to the Forum, and Monkey Business.

To go to SETC, students must attend the auditions of North Carolina Theater Conference. NCTC only takes 150 people on a first come, first serve basis and of that only 10 males from the state move on to the SETC.

While speaking of SETC Jackson said, "it was the scariest place that I have ever been in in my life," but it was also "the most wonderful, hardest, and best thing that I have ever done."

Jackson said "that it was our job to get the producers and directors to listen to us. We not

(Continued on Page 2)



AWARD WINNERS — Curtis Johnson and Delinda Lee display their major awards received at the 1995 Honors Convocation. Jackson was awarded the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award and Lee received the President's Cup.

Terrell Adgers elected new SGA president

By KIM CURSEEN

Moses Terrell Adgers was elected as the president of the North Carolina Wesleyan Student Government Association for the 1995-96 academic year.

Also elected in the election were Marcy Stover for secretary, Andre Clanton for treasurer, Ellen Stanton for senior class president, Kelly Cameron for sophomore class president, and Alfred Regnery and Amy Braxton as senators at large. All candidates ran unopposed according to current SGA vice president Traci Dixon, who coordinated the election process.

The positions for vice president, junior class president, and

the third senator at large were not filled this year even after the petitions for offices were reopened and extended a week due to lack of participation.

One student said, "People just don't care; it is amazing, if government fails it's their own lazy fault." These open positions will be left to presidential appointment.

This year there was a push to get more commuters to vote in the elections. A voting booth was outside of the administration building on election day during lunch. Success was marginal. Only four commuters voted compared to 51 percent of resident students who cast ballots.

Convocation recognizes top students

Top students at North Carolina Wesleyan College were awarded in the 1995 Honors Convocation held recently.

Melvin Oliver Jr., professor of economics, was the keynote speaker for the ceremonies.

Top award winners were Curtis Jackson, recipient of the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award, and Delinda Lee, recipient of the President's Cup.

ent of the President's Cup.

To qualify for the Sullivan Award, a student must be a senior who demonstrates compassion and love for one's fellow humans, adheres to Christian ideals, has courteous and gentle behavior, and is an active participant in College or community affairs

The President's Cup is given to a senior who achieves high academic performance, leadership and service, and participates in the ideals and aims of the College.

Jackson, a mathematics major and computer information systems minor from Rocky Mount, is a kind, gentle, courteous young man in addition to being one who is very conscientious, dependable, and self-motivated, according to his faculty advisor, Gail Stafford. His leadership qualities are obvious to all who have worked with him. After his excellent Fall 1994 co-op with Spring/Carolina Telephone in Tarboro, Jackson became a full-time employee of the company.

A volunteer tutor/mentor in the Cities in Schools program for Nash-Rocky Mount Schools, Jackson has also served the College as a math and CIS tutor and worked with individuals preparing for the NTE. He has been a volunteer radio producer on

WESQ and helped plan the Black History Month and Martin Luther King Community Celebration on campus. While involved in so many activities, he was able to maintain grades that qualify him for the Dean's Honor List.

Lee, a justice studies major and psychology minor from Rocky Mount, is perpetual motion, said her advisor, Dr. Jerry Joplin. Not only is she a full-time student excelling in justice studies, she is an honors student who is involved in community and campus theatre productions. While maintaining a course load of 14 hours. Delinda has been involved in three theatre productions in the community theatre this school year. She had a principle role in Nunsense II, the stage manager for Wait Until Dark, and has a role in The Man Who Came to

No one sees her for very long, Joplin said, unless you have the good fortune to see her on the stage. She has set a worthy example for not only her peers but is an example of industry that all can admire. She has received numerous honors, including Who's Who Among American Colleges & Universities and membership in ODK and PGM, national honors fraternities.

Dr. Rexford F. Tucker, interim chairman of the humanities division, presented six awards.

Diane Defruscio, of Zebulon, and Michael Stewart, of Manorville, N.Y., received the Freshman Writing Award, based on an essay review; departmental, chairman, and outside faculty member recommendations; and overall academic record.

(Continued on Back Page)