

Musical tribute to Waller

'Ain't Misbehavin' opens with vibrant sounds

By Tammy L. Capehart

The Thomas "Fats" Waller musical tribute, "Ain't Misbehavin," opened with vibrant sounds in the first act and moved to a classy, energetic sequence, highlighted with humor and spirit.

The thrilling musical was the fifth event sponsored by NCCU's Lyceum Program. The drama kicked off at 8:15 p.m. on Thursday night, April 4, in B.N. Duke Auditorium.

The six-person cast dramatized the music, personality, and luxurious living style of one of the 20th Century's most celebrated jazzmen and comedians, Thomas "Fats" Waller.

Act One, set in a Harlem nightclub of the 1930s and '40s, was strengthened by soft, velvet-blue colors—giving a jazzy, roman-

Ronald Metcalf, the piano man and musical director, sat at the piano, dressed in black from head-to-toe, and leaned from side-to-side as he moved to the groove of his music. He began the show with "Ain't Misbehavin."

Kevin Neil Cheatham, who sang "T Ain't Nobody's Biz-ness If I Do," played a hard-nosed, pushover lover.

LeLand Gantt portrayed a spunky, Sammy Davis Jr.-type, dancing all around the stage and singing his heart out.

Gammy Grant did memorable piece titled "When the Nylons Bloom Again." She added a lot of humor to the show when she sang about stockings blooming after being washed in an audiion for a part in Kevin and LeLand's band.

Charonne Cox was your Jennifer Holiday-type, memorable for her soft, serious songs.

Kimberly Harris was the "hot stuff" in the club. She matched the character of Gantt, the pick-up-the-pace person naturally fit for a musical.

In Act Two, the costumes became livlier with added pizzazz, color, and class. The ladies wore furs and minks to accent their pink, lavender, and purple dresses. They also jazzed the outfits of Durham. up with matching hats, veils and glitter.

The cast was terrific at "milking" the audience, calling for championship women's team responses to songs and asking the audience to join in.

Other cast members included Robert Durkin, director and choreographer; Bernard L. Tansey, producer and set designer; Eiko Yamaguchi, costume designer; Kim Hanson, lighting designer; Joy Vandervort, stage manager; and Ken Nixon, company manager.

Ron's Words

Excellence: A continuous cycle for NCCU's future

By Ronnie Hopkins

If you've seen the cover of the 1985 GTE telephone directory, I'm sure you recognized the Jordan House, B. N. Duke Auditorium, and the word "Excellence" inscribed on the marquis reading North Carolina Central University.

The fall setting certainly represents N.C. Central's 75th Diamond Anniversary. The picture captures trees and shrubs from the "sloping hills" that express the 75 years of N.C. Central's existance.

The picture also depicts the cycle of N.C. Central University. Imagine the trees and shrubs forming new blossoms; there is a cycle. New blossoms come, they grow, they diminish. the deep blue sky in the background expresses the limit of the "Eagle"—the distance is infinite. The light brown shrubs repesent the life in the past. The "Eagle" that has tenured on the "sloping hills" will never diminish.

As the 1984-1985 academic year and the celebration of the 75 years of exsistence come to a close, many of us may wonder what will become of N.C. Central in the next 75

I hope that the theme "Excellence Without Excuse: A Shared Responsibility," will guide us as we define the goals of our lives educationally, socially, mentally, and physically, and that this same theme will guide those after us.

"Excellence Without Excuse" is merely the beginning of reality at N.C. Central. The torch burns on as the challenge of excellence continues.

47 inducted into hall of fame

NCCU News Bureau

University inducted 47 former Durham; Priscilla Herring of sports stars and patrons of its Durham; Jacqueline Pinnix of athletic programs at its second Burlington; Francis Barnhill annual Athletic Hall of Fame of Durham; and Sheryl Cohen banquet Saturday, April 20, at of Durham. the W.G.Pearson Cafeteria.

Included in the inductees were two groups of women; nine classified as pioneers, who competed in the 1930s and 1940s, and the 11 members and coach of the university's first CIAA championship basketball team, the 1983-84 team.

Women pioneers included Marian T. Alston of Hampton, Va; William Mae Bailey, of Durham; Clarissa A Bryant of Beverly, N.J.; Annette L. Bryant of Durham; Mary Jerman Boyd of Norlina; Maggie L. Lee, of Hillsborough; Willie Moore, of Philadelphia, Pa; Louise M. Shipman of Durham; and Thelma Smith

Inductees from the 1983-84 are Coach Yvonne Edwards, Wanda Bullock of Durham; Mona McLaurin of Durham; Sharon Wheeler of Burlington; Robin Brooks of Durham; Linda Nicholson, of

Durham; Diedra Solomon of North Caroina Central Durham; Terri Abel of

> Also honored were former track men Richard Hearn; Walter Johnson, Donald Leak, Charles A. McCullough and Vance Robinson.

Former tennis stars Kenneth Alan Townsend were also in-

were also inducted.

George K. Lipscomb, William Springfiedl, and Andrew

Williams. W.D. Peerman was honored posthumously.

Honored as contributors were Ernie Barnes of Hollywood Cal., the internationally-celebrated artist who was an NCCU football star, and Durham'a Edward Boyd.

Honored as pioneers will be William Burgess, Earl Lambeth, and Charles White.

Ted Manning and Carlton Handy, Eli Singleton, and Bell(pothumously) were inducted for men's basketball.

Members of a post World Football stand outs Louis War II team which revived Breeden, William Hall, Jeffer- brieflty intercolleigiate son Inmon, Clarence baseball competition at what Lightner, and James Williams; was then North Carolina College were also honored. They J. Edmonds, Herman Hines, were Wille Bradshaw, Harry

The brothers of the Gamma Gamma chapter of Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc. won the state step competition in Raleigh

Ten fraternities were originally scheduled, but six actually participated. The competition was held at "The Rink" where fraternities from all over North Carolina participated.

"I've never seen anything like that," said one of the judges, referring to the eight Sigmamen: Aubrey Williams, Derrick "Lollipop" Bryant, Tyrone Johnson, Kevin Holt, Dave Flood, John Wall, Darryl Hopkins, and C.S. Keys.