The Evolution of a Medical Center—

with interpolations by the Dean

When Dr. W. C. Davison relinquishes the deanship of Duke University Medical School on July 1, he completes 33 years of service which began with supervising the building of the school and choosing its first faculty. A colleague has said, "No matter where he is or what he's doing, the Medical School holds first place in his thinking. It's his medical school."

By the terms of the indenture which created the Duke Endowment and by the terms of his will, both dated December 11, 1924, James B. Duke allocated \$10,000,000 for the building and equipping of a hospital, medical school and nurses' home at Duke University. Dr. Davison, then assistant dean of Johns Hopkins School of Medicine, was elected dean of Duke University Medical School by the university's Board of Trustees January 21, 1927. The medical school and hospital were built between 1927 and 1930.

An important change occurred in 1957: the adoption of the name "Duke University Medical Center" to include the medical school, outpatient department, hospital, school of nursing and other activities at our end of the campus.

As soon as building was well begun, selection of a faculty was undertaken. Should men of proven ability be approached or should men of comparative youth be sought?

This was resolved in favor of gambling on promising young men with a future.

The average age of the original medical faculty at Duke was 34 years. The first departmental chairmen were: Drs. W. A. Perlzweig, bio-



The staff of Duke Hospital and Duke University Schools of Medicine, Nursing and Dietetics July 19, 1930 (two days before the hospital opened). Left to right, first row: Dr. Roland Bellows, Mrs. Elsie W. Martin, Mrs. Carrie Sykes, Miss Bessie Baker, Miss Winifred Patrick, Miss Augusta Laxton, Dr. Frank H. Swett; second row: Dr. Watt W. Eagle, Dr. Edwin P. Alyea, Dr. Wiley D. Forbus, Miss Marion Batchelder, Miss Floyd, Miss Hulda G. Nelson, Mrs. Nancy L. Lawlor, Miss Mary H. Muller, Dr. Harold L. Amoss; third row: Dr. Keitt H. Smith, Dr. W. A. Perlzweig, Dr. Max O. Oates, Dr. Edith C. Robinson, Dr. Oscar C. Hansen-Prüss, Dr. Christopher Johnston; last two rows: Dr. Clarence E. Gardner, Jr., Dr. L. B. Ziv, Dr. Robert R. Jones, Jr., Dr. Frederic M. Reese, Dr. T. P. Magill, Dr. E. B. Craven, Jr., Dr. N. E. Ward, Jr., Dr. W. C. Davison, Dr. Haywood M. Taylor, Dr. Deryl Hart, Dr. Robert J. Reeves.

chemistry; Harold L. Amoss, medicine; Deryl Hart, surgery; Wiley D. Forbus, pathology; Fred M. Hanes, neurology, later medicine; Frank H. Swett, anatomy; David T. Smith, bacteriology; George S. Eadie, physiology and pharmacology; and Bayard Carter, obstetries and gynecology. Miss Bessie Baker was named Dean of the School of Nursing, and Mr. Marcellus E. Winston was appointed first superintendent of Duke Hospital. After the school was started a division of psychiatry under Dr. Raymond Crispell was set up within the department of medicine. In 1940 this

became the department of psychiatry headed by Dr. Richard S. Lyman. Miss Helen I. Stocksdale and Mrs. Mona S. Morgan were appointed to the administrative staff to handle student records and assist Dr. Davison with his rapidly growing correspondence.

Mary Trent Semans ought to be included in the original staff. She was at the dance her grandmother, Mrs. Benjamin Duke, gave at Hope Valley Club to celebrate the opening of the hospital. And don't forget Carl Rogers—after all, he was "assistant dean!"