

DR. DERYL HART, Duke's new President Pro-Tem. The Medical Center takes pride in the selection of a distinguished member of its faculty to head the University. Dr. Hart takes office July 1 and will serve until a permanent successor to Dr. A. Hollis Edens is named. Norman A. Cocke of Charlotte, chairman of the University's Board of Trustees, states that Dr. Hart will have "all the authority of the president during his term of service,"



DR. THOMAS D. KINNEY has been named professor and chairman of the pathology department at the Duke University Medical Center, effective September 1. Dr. Kinney is currently a professor of pathology at the Western Reserve University Medical School, Cleveland, Ohio, and director of pathology at Cleveland Metropolitan General Hospital. He will succeed Dr. Wiley D. Forbus to the pathology department chairmanship. Dr. Forbus will continue to serve on the Medical Center faculty as a professor of pathology until his retirement in 1963.

Postgraduate Course Scheduled

Dr. William M. Nicholson, assistant dean in charge of postgraduate education, has announced a summer course designed to enable doctors to



DR. BARNES WOODHALL has been named dean of the Duke University School of Medicine effective July 1. A member of the surgical faculty at Duke for 23 years, Dr. Woodhall came here from Johns Hopkins in 1937 as assistant professor with the responsibility of organizing the neurosurgical service.

combine postgraduate study with travel and recreation. The course will be held in Morehead City, July 18-23. Expected to attract some 75 physicians from North Carolina and other states, the course will be centered around lectures in pediatrics and medicine.

Duke faculty members who will teach the course are: Drs. W. C. Davison, William Nicholson, William F. Barry, William J. A. DeMaria, Walter L. Floyd, Doris A. Howell, Herbert O. Sieker, Madison S. Spach, and John V. Verner. The course is accredited by the American Academy of General Practice.

Student Lounge Dedicated

A student lounge honoring the memory of two former Duke University students was dedicated June 7 in the School of Medicine. The lounge is named for the late Dr. Sidney I. LeBauer, Jr., of Greensboro and for the late Dr. Richard T. Pillsbury, Jr., of Salisbury, Maryland. Both were members of the Duke Medical School Class of 1957.

Located on the second floor of the Medical School, the lounge is furnished with rose and beige furniture. It was made possible by contributions of relatives and friends of both students.

Class of '50 Holds Reunion

The Duke University Medical School class of 1950 held its tenth reunion in Durham May 6-8. Elected as officers were: Dr. Thomas Kerns, Jr., Durham, president; Dr. John Bridges, Philadelphia, vice-president; and Dr. Rufus Hambright, Greensboro, secretary-treasurer.

Alumni from eight states and Washington, D. C., assembled 50 strong. The Tenth Year Class Gift Committee reported that to date 47 members of the class of 1950 had contributed \$2,093 as a gift to the Medical School Annual Giving Program. The gift was presented in honor of retiring dean, W. C. Davison, "with much appreciation for

\$100,000 Gift for Cancer Laboratory

the fine service he had rendered.'

Duke University has received a gift of \$100,000 for construction of a new cancer research facility to be named the Myrtle Bell Lane Cancer Research Laboratory in memory of the late Mrs. Lane of Altavista, Virginia. Mrs. Lane and her husband, E. H. Lane, made arrangements for the gift several weeks before Mrs. Lane's death from cancer March 23 in Duke hospital. Purpose of the gift, as expressed by the Lanes, is to further research in cancer chemotherapy which has been in progress at Duke some 12 years under the direction of Dr. R. Wayne Rundles, professor of medicine.

Matching funds for the gift are now being sought from the National Institutes of Health. The laboratory will occupy one floor of the new clinical research unit to be begun in late summer.

Dr. Davison Honored

The American Academy of General Practice has honored Dr. W. C. Davison with its Certificate of Meritorious Service. Dean Davison is the third recipient of this award. The certificate was given in "recognition and appreciation" of Dr. Davison's "distinguished contributions toward the advancement of the general practice of medicine and surgery."