PROFESSIONAL NEWS

Seaboard Speaker

Dr. R. Wayne Rundles, professor of medicine, presented a talk on "Recent Developments in Cancer Chemotherapy" at the 74th annual meeting of the Seaboard Medical Association of North Carolina and Virginia at Nags Head June 19-22.

Attend Meeting

Five members and the former director of physical therapy attended the 46th annual national conference of the American Physical Therapy Association in San Francisco June 29-July 4.

Making the trip were Miss Helen Kaiser, associate professor of physical therapy and former director of the program, Dr. Miriam Jacobs, director of physical therapy, Mrs. Jean Barr and Miss Judy Cantey, faculty members, and Miss Judy Schlegel and Miss Myra Cohen, staff physical therapists.

Following the meeting, Miss Kaiser traveled to Honolulu, Hawaii, for a postconference meeting on the management of Vietnam war casualties and leprosy.

Presents Paper

Dr. Ewald W. Busse, James B. Duke Professor of Psychiatry and chairman of the department, will present a paper on "Psychologic Changes and Sexual Expectations" in the section on physical fitness and aging at the annual convention 'of the American Medical Association in New York City July 14-17.

Attend Meeting

Cardiac Care Unit and Cardiology ward nurses attending the North Carolina Heart Association meetings in Charlotte May 29 included Mrs. Sue Foster, who presented a paper, and Sharon Primm, Billie Walker, Barbara Adams, Connie Self, Celestine Tate, Jo Ann Rogul and Ann Miller.

Named

Dr. Max A. Woodbury, head of the division of biomathematics and computers, has been selected as a member of the executive committee of the Longitudinal Studies Forum.

Elected

Several members of the Duke physical therapy staff were elected to posts in the North Carolina chapter of the Ameri-

(continued from page two)

can Physical Therapy Association May 2-3 in Durham.

Miss Helen Kaiser, associate professor, is now a director. Mrs. Faith Gehweiler was elected corresponding secretary of the group.

Appointed chairman of the Education Committee was Mrs. Jean Barr while Mrs. Genet Hutcheson will continue as editor of the *Tar Heel Journal*, the official publication of the state chapter.

Gets Certificate

Dr. Daniel T. Gianturco, chief of the section on computer sciences in the Department of Psychiatry, received a certificate for completion of a course in Mental Health Statistics conducted by the Applied Statistics Training Institute at the Research Triangle.

Duke Trustees Establish Dr. Bayard Carter Chair

The founder and first chairman of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology has been honored with the endowment of a chair in his honor.

The University's Board of Trustees recently gave its authorization for the F. Bayard Carter Chair of Obstetrics and Gynecology.

Dr. Carter has been engaged in private practice in Durham since retiring from Duke on his seventieth birthday last year. He was chairman of the department here until 1964.

The Bayard Carter Society of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, formerly called the Nick Carter Travel Club, made the first gifts toward the establishment of such a chair several years ago. The society is made up of nearly 70 former house staffers who have worked and studied under Dr. Carter.

When the idea was first proposed, retiring Duke President Douglas M. Knight said, "I can think of no one who more clearly deserves to have a professorship established in his honor."

A native of Wilmington, Del., Dr. Carter earned his A. B. degree at the University of Delaware and was granted two additional degrees at Oxford University

Public Relations Office Box 3354 Duke University Medical Center Durham, North Carolina 27706



DR. CARTER

as a Rhodes Scholar. He received his M. D. degree from Johns Hopkins University in 1925.

A member and officer in many state, national and international professional organizations, Dr. Carter received the Algernon Sidney Sullivan Award for distinguished service to the South in 1955. The Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists in England last year elected him to a life-time membership, an honor extended to only seven other Americans in the history of the society.