12 Named by Provost

New Faculty Titles Announced

Four promotions, four appointments and two faculty status changes within the medical center have been announced by University Provost Marcus E. Hobbs.

In addition, two new visiting professors were named for the coming year.

Promoted to professor of medical psychology was Dr. John C. Altrocchi. He retains his title as associate professor of psychology.

Dr. Altrocchi came to Duke after receiving his Ph. D. degree from the University of California in 1957. He is a graduate of Harvard University.

Promoted to the position of associate professor of medicine were Drs. J. Caulie Gunnells and Harold R. Silberman. Both were formerly assistant professors in the department.

Dr. Gunnells, who came to Duke as a research fellow in 1958, received his B. S. degree from Furman University in 1952 and his M. D. from the Medical College of South Carolina in 1956.

Dr. Silberman, who attended Harvard University, received his M. D. degree from Washington University in 1956. He came to Duke that year as an intern and later served as a research fellow, resident, instructor and associate in medicine.

Dr. Joanne Southworth has been promoted from her position as associate in immunology to assistant professor in the department. Dr. Southworth received an A. B. degree in biology from Randolph Macon Women's College and her Ph. D. in anatomy from the Medical College of Virginia in 1965.

Appointed associate professor of psychiatry was Dr. Charles W. Erwin, who was a research associate and instructor in psychiatry at Duke from 1964-66. He is a graduate of the University of Texas and received his M. D. degree from the medical branch of the same institution in 1960.

Three persons have been appointed to assistant professorships.

Dr. Thomas P. Graham, a fellow in pediatric cardiology at Duke since 1967, has been named assistant professor of pediatrics. Dr. Graham received both his B. A. and M. D. degrees at Duke.

Appointed assistant professor in the Department of Medicine was Dr. C. Craig Tisher. Dr. Tisher is a graduate of the University of South Dakota and received his M. D. degree from Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis in 1961.

Dr. Frances Ward, who has been at Duke in the division of immunology, has been appointed assistant professor in the department. She is a graduate of Clark University and received her Ph. D. degree from Brown University in 1965.

Dr. Donald S. Leventhal, assistant professor of medical psychology in the Department of Psychiatry, has been given the additional title of associate in pediatrics. Dr. Leventhal, who received his B. A. degree from Brooklyn College, was awarded his Ph. D. from Purdue University in 1965.

Dr. Charles F. Starmer, assistant professor of medicine (computer science), has been given the additional responsibility of assistant professor of community health sciences (biomathematics and computers). Dr. Starmer received his B. S. and M. S. in electrical engineering from Duke and was granted the Ph. D. degree in biomathematics from the University of North Carolina in 1968.

Dr. Nallanna Lakshminarayanaiah, associate professor of pharmacology at the University of Pennsylvania, will be visiting professor of pahrmacology for the fall semester. Dr. Lakshminarayanaiah received his Ph. D. degree in physical chemistry from Imperial College of the University of London in 1956.

Dr. Michael Schlesinger, senior lecturer in the Department of Experimental Medicine and Cancer Research at Hebrew University's Hadassah Medical School in Jerusalem, will be visiting professor of immunology at Duke this summer and the next academic year.

Dr. Schlesinger received his M. D. degree from Hadassah in 1958.

Dr. Eugene F. Van Epps President Of American Board of Radiology

A professor of radiology at the medical center was elected president of the American Board of Radiology at the group's annual meeting last month.

Dr. Eugene F. Van Epps, appointed to the Duke staff in 1968, had been a member of the organization's board of trustees for nine years, was treasurer from 1965 to 1967 and vice-president for the last two years.

The board is the examination and certification agency for physicians specializing in radiology. It checks the qualifications of more than 600 new radiologists each year.

Dr. Van Epps, a member of the Residency Review Committee for Radiology of the American Medical Association, is also presently chairman of the section on radiology of the AMA. In addition, he serves as chairman of the executive council of the American Roentgen Ray Society.

His other professional affiliations in radiology include fellowship in the American College of Radiology and membership in the Radiological Society of North America and the American Radium Society. Since 1968, he has also been a member of the Advisory Board of Medical Specialists.



DR. VAN EPPS

Dr. Van Epps received his M. D. degree from the University of Iowa College of Medicine in 1935 following his undergraduate work at the same university. He served his internship and residency at the University of Iowa Hospital.

The new president came to Duke following 12 years as professor and chairman of the Department of Radiology at lowa.