

THE WINNERS—Jimmy Manley, left, holds his coach of the year trophy he won with the Duke Tech softball team last season. At right is James Bradsher, also a member of the team. (staff photo)



CHAMPIONSHIP TROPHY—Pete Hayes, right, presents the city championship award to Marvin Nunn, captain of the team. The awards were made at a victory banquet at the Durham Hotel. (staff photo)

## Duke Techs Take Durham Softball Title

The Medical Center's slo-pitch softball team captured the 1969 Bull City League title last month and carried home a total of four team and individual trophies.

The men, most of whom are laboratory technicians at Duke, took their Duke Tech team from last place in the league in 1968 to the top spot this year.

They won both the regular season trophy and the tournament championship in the eight-team league, and two members took most valuable player and coach of the year honors.

Pete Hayes, assistant athletic director of the City Recreation Department, congratulated the team on its excellent record and sportsmanship and presented the trophies at a victory banquet recently at the Durham Hotel.

Marvin Nunn, technician with Dr. Aaron P. Sanders in radiology, received the league trophy as player of the year.

Named coach of the year was Jimmie Manley, a technician with Dr. Andrew Wallace in medicine.

Plans are underway now to build a trophy case to display the Duke Tech awards and prizes other Medical Center athletic teams win. Tentative arrangements indicate the case will be located in the first-floor cafeteria.

At present, the Duke Techs are organizing a basketball team to enter the city league competition this fall. The men are also interested in helping a women's softball and basketball team get organized at the Medical Center.



CITY LEAGUE CHAMPIONS—The Duke Tech softball team poses with its city championship trophies at the Medical Center. In the foreground is Joe Burt, general manager of the team. First row, left to right: William Joyner, John Wardrick, Russell Steven, William McCauley, Raleigh Price, Jr., James Bradsher, and Wyman Hardy. Second row: Jimmy Manley, Marvin Nunn, Larry Best, William Jenkins, Robert McCall, and Herman Watson. Other team members not pictured include John Webb, Dr. Galen Wagner, David Lawrence, and Floyd Clayton. (photo by Bill Boyarsky)