## X-Ray Techs Attend Meet

The director of the Duke School of Radiologic Technology initiated the Reeves-Rousseau Memorial Lecture Series at the annual meeting of the North Carolina Society of Radiologic Technologists in Raleigh April 17-18.

At the same convention, two Duke representatives won awards for scientific presentations, and two other technologists were elected to state offices. Eric Porter, assistant chief technologist at the Medical Center, served as president of the organization during the two-day meeting.

John B. Cahoon, at Duke for more than 30 years, spoke on "New Horizons in the Technical and Educational System of Radiologic Technology" to institute the society's lecture series honoring two pioneer North Carolina radiologists.

Dr. Robert J. Reeves was named first chairman of the Duke Department of Radiology in 1930 and served in that position until he became a research professor in the department in 1965.

Dr. James P. Rousseau served as professor and chairman of the Department of Radiology at the Bowman Gray School of Medicine in Winston-Salem for many years. Both men were active in the organization of the state technologists' association.

Mrs. Cindi Kirby, supervisor of neuroradiography technology at Duke and a graduate of the RT school here, took first-place trophies for both scientific papers and exhibits offered by staff technologists at the meeting.

Miss Gayle Sutton senior RT student from LaGrange, North Carolina, won third prize in the student scientific paper competition with a presentation on stereotaxic surgery.

James A. Miller chief technologist at Duke and former treasurer of the state society, was elected second vice-president of the organization, and Miss Bobbie Holtzman, assistant director of the Duke School of Radiologic Technology, was chosen secretary and appointed chairman of the society's Education Committee.

Senior student John Dawson of Jacksonville, North Carolina, and juniors David Brown of Ahoskie and William Johnson of Conway also gave presentations at the convention.



FIRST DUKE NURSING CLASS—These six representatives of the first graduating class from Duke's School of Nursing in 1933 returned to the campus in April to attend the annual alumnae association meeting. From left to right are Mrs. Grace Tillet Temple, Mrs. Anne Norton Chambers, Mrs. Ethel Cotter Silver, Mrs. Helen Wilson Matthews, Mrs. Gladys Brinkley Stuckey, and Mrs. Emma Thrower Doolittle. (staff photo)



MISS ANN HENSHAW GARDINER

The Public Relations Office is looking into the possibility of forming a Toastmasters Club.

The purpose of such an organization would be to help members improve their abilities to communicate effectively and speak before groups while providing a recreational outlet through periodic luncheon or dinner meetings.

Those interested in participating should drop a note to the Public Relations Office, Box 3354, or call Ext. 4148.

## Nursing Alumnae Association Meets

The annual meeting of the Alumnae Association of the Duke University School of Nursing featured as special guest the first nursing instructor in the school.

Miss Ann Henshaw Gardiner came back to Duke in April to speak at the alumnae banquet and look over the growth of nursing here since she left in 1941. Her talk consisted of reminiscences of the early days of the Duke nursing school.

Miss Gardiner was on the original faculty of the school as an assistant professor when it opened in 1931 with the first 14 students. After she left Duke, she taught at Queens College in Charlotte and then at Shepherd College in Shepherdstown, West Virginia, before her retirement in 1968.

In addition to hearing Miss Gardiner's talk and participating in the annual Harriet Cook Carter lecture, the alumnae honored the graduating class of Duke nurses and elected officers for the coming year.

New president of the group is Mrs. Franklin P. Dalton (Jo Ann Baughan). Other officers include vice-president, Mrs. Robert H. Peter (Mary Ann Rohrhurst); secretary-treasurer, Mrs. M. Eugene Kendall (Elizabeth Kennedy); and councilors, Mrs. Bernard F. Fetter (Anna Hinton), Mrs. Robert O. Friedel (Susan Weber), Mrs. Paul W. Jacokes (Ruth Douglas), and Mrs. Joseph N. Moore (Russelene Craddock).

About 125 persons attended the two-day alumnae gathering.